Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEEKING A FRIEND FOR THE END OF THE WORLD
I wasn't sure what to expect when I began watching this film recently. Steve Carrel from the American Office and Date Night etc starring so I figured a comedic element of sorts and the very versatile and so demure Miss Knightley together with a splash of the ever excellent Martin Sheen and William Petersen albeit very briefly combine to make one of the best and hugely...
Published 18 months ago by Lexibear65

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film until the ( end)
I really enjoyed the two leads interaction and the overall pace of film is good with some dark touches but for me the ending just didnt work . I think for me it ended with an 'Oh' or maybe 'really'?. One could argue that the film is being brave and i guess it depends where it wanted to pitch itself but as a rom com it would have added one more fan if it had ended...
Published 20 months ago by homerh


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEEKING A FRIEND FOR THE END OF THE WORLD, 27 Mar 2013
This review is from: Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't sure what to expect when I began watching this film recently. Steve Carrel from the American Office and Date Night etc starring so I figured a comedic element of sorts and the very versatile and so demure Miss Knightley together with a splash of the ever excellent Martin Sheen and William Petersen albeit very briefly combine to make one of the best and hugely enjoyable bitter-sweet, black-comedy, tear-jerkers of all time. I honestly haven't had that "lump in my throat" sensation since Ghost (1990) and as other commenters have posted that this film cleverly steers away for the most part from the science and technical aspect of an end-of-the-world, asteroid-on-a-collision-path-with-earth scenario we feel we are amongst real people who we could all know and like who are themselves absolutely helpless in their potential doom and facing an impossible situation with no escape and the decisions good or bad for their final days on earth which they make we can only draw smiles and tears from. The fantastic soundtrack in this film really completes the package. If you don't watch another film in 2013 please see this one! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem and reveals a lot about human nature, 16 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. T. Solley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I originally thought that this was a comedy. There are one or two scenes which contain black comedy, but it's more about human feelings and the way we deal with other people in times of crisis.

The plot is that life as we known it is coming to an end. There is no escape, we are all going to die. How would you deal with it?

I won't spoil what is a brillant peice of cinema and by the end you truly relate to the characters as doom approaches.

Wonderful film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully different end of the world tale., 28 July 2014
Was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this film. Steve Carell and Keira Knightley seem a very unlikely pairing but it works. Carell's portrait of Dodge's shift from melancholia to the purest joy is understated and believable. Knightley is clearly comfortable in her role as Penny and she sparkles all the way through the film.

Other films which have dealt with this particular type of apocalyptic event always seem to focus on the scientists and the military actions, or on the individual who made the discovery. I like how this film id so different, it's not the Hollywood "let's save the planet from annihilation" pony... we don't see actors bouncing around pretending to be on asteroids or space ships. Those characters have already been killed off in the first scene. This film is all about the people on the ground, the people who are watching, the people who are waiting.

But then I'm the kind of person who got to the end of watching "Independence Day" and thought "Now who's going to clean all those crashed space ships up..?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "IS IT A BAD TIME?", 23 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World [DVD] (DVD)
Steve Carell revives his dead pan character and teams up with Keira Knightley who creates a character with emotional baggage. They are Dodge and Penny who live in the same apartment complex but who have never met...until they both experience break ups. A meteor named Matilda is headed toward earth, one that even Bruce Willis can not destroy. It will be the end of the world. As the countdown continues, people react differently. There are suicides and hedonism...kids drinking, people doing drugs, and riots. There are those that still live simply.

Much of the film is consumed by Dodge and Penny traveling to Delaware so he can visit his high school sweetheart one last time. The film is basically a romantic comedy with some hit and miss moments. More enkoyable than many of the other end of the world films that have come out over the last few years.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, implied sex, no nudity. Drug use. Underage drinking encouraged by adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Film, 19 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a comedy/drama about the road trip taken by an insurance agent and his much younger neighbour to reunite him with his first love before the world ends (the Armageddon/Deep Impact heroics haven't succeeded and that asteroid is going to hit us). He takes the dog that had recently been dumped on him, and she takes her favourite l.p's and off they go, getting into scrapes and adventures on the way. The l.p's are a very important part of the story as they provide the soundtrack to their journey, to be honest they made the film. The scene where Herb Alpert's This Guys In Love With You plays in the background brought as lump to my throat.
It has some great funny moments as well, the dinner party scene especially is hilarious.
I must admit I've never been a huge fan of either Steve Carrell or Keira Knightley but both are excellent in this enchanting story.
When we first saw the trailer we thought this would be worth a watch, it was a great feeling to come out of the cinema totally surprised by how much we loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 4 May 2014
this is a must see movie a real heart jerker up to the end i was hoping for a happy ending ,,,,get the tissues ready
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'SMILE' ''THE END IS NIGH'', 28 Feb 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
a 70 mile wide astroid is hurtling toward earth,attempts to alter it's
course has failed......just a few short weeks remain.
'dodge' and 'penny' who had only known each other a short time escape a
riot.
the two set out on a road trip to fulfil a need to be with someone important
to them as time runs out.
the mission for 'dodge' to meet up again with the love he'd lost when still
a young man.
'penny's' quest, to reunite with her parents and share her last moments with
them.
maybe the unlikely couple have allready found all they really need.
there are many moments that will allmost certainly bring a smile to your face.
there are also some poignant as time runs out.
(it's fair to say we survived many prophets of doom that read disaster into
the end of the 'mayan' calender,thankfully the day has past, and most of us
are still here )
an apocalyptic movie worthy of viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so, so sweet!, 18 Feb 2013
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
You have got to admit it, a Romantic Comedy set during a time of an imminent apocalypse is an interesting concept and perhaps one of the best mediums to explore the human condition. What we have in Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is a wonderfully sweet story about two people that are brought together by the circumstances of the end of days.

For such a bleak subject matter the film feels surprisingly light hearted and almost optimistic. Keira Knightly plays no small part in this with her sunny English charm and keep calm and carry on attitude. Steve Carrel plays his part as the straight man as well as ever. I think Carrel is one of the best straight men when he wants to be, second only to Jason Bateman.

The script is superb taking very little time with the set up of an asteroid hitting earth and getting straight on with some surprisingly dark comedy, but even when bodies are flying past the windows as people jump to their deaths rather than face their impending doom, the tone of the film is still kept pretty light. The script explores Carrels' characters quiet insecurities and humble misery with such a light breezy touch it all seems extremely endearing.

The cinematography is also light and sunny and breezy it seems very much like the town in The Truman Show, or Pleasantville after the residents become colourful. This really does act to give you a sense of optimism, a sense that the annihilation that the characters face isn't really that real, that something will happen at the last minute to save every ones lives. Whether that does happen or not is not for me to say as I do try and keep these reviews as spoiler free as possible.

What is interesting to me is that all other disaster movies (not that this is a disaster movie, it is just a movie with an impending disaster) spend all of their time trying to portray to the viewer how utterly hopeless the situation is, where as this film doesn't even bother, the focus is all on life and how wonderful it is, if you just let it be.

This is one of those humble films that don't really go anywhere at all, but you don't really care because you are just happy to be along for the ride. The characters make this film and it is just so utterly sweet that it doesn't even occur to you that you have just wasted one hundred minutes of your life by watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film until the ( end), 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the two leads interaction and the overall pace of film is good with some dark touches but for me the ending just didnt work . I think for me it ended with an 'Oh' or maybe 'really'?. One could argue that the film is being brave and i guess it depends where it wanted to pitch itself but as a rom com it would have added one more fan if it had ended differently (maybe i'm being just too romantic!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very different and very, very enjoyable., 12 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World [DVD] (DVD)
At last a part that really suits Keira Knightly - flaky home-counties girl abroad. Steve Carrell is superb playing the part he always plays - confused male: he may be a somewhat limited actor but what he can do he does well.

I just love the premise that nobody really knows what to do as the end of the world approaches: thus, the film gives the whole range from aggressive mayhem and kindness, murder and sacrifice , suicide and optimism, orgies of sex/drugs and sensible selfless behaviour, humanity and evil etc, etc. There are those whom just give up and those who carry on as usual as if nothing will happen and every range in between. I wonder if my lawn will be neatly mown when Armageddon strikes?

It is, however, a film that will have its detractors and will be intensely disliked by those who judge their films solely on violence and action. This is expected and not a criticism of the film and it is not an action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World [DVD]
Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World [DVD] by Lorene Scafaria (DVD - 2012)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews