Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .....and release the dogs of war!
This for me was a must read book. Given the press speculation, repeated Government denials in the UK media and the personalities involved you had to read Simon Mann's first hand and exceptionally personal account of the events to get to the truth of what happened during this failed coup. Given the circumstances of his recording of the facts you just have to roll with...
Published on 26 Dec 2011 by Zuluwarrior

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How much more vivid it could have been, dammit.
This is an extraordinary story. But the writing is dreadful - which is a great pity because Simon Mann is undoubtedly one of Britain's foremost military entrepreneurs, greater even than Mike Hoare of Congo fame.

There is a penchant for lots of short, sharp sentences bundled together. Like this. Tap-tap. All staccato. In a single paragraph. To give a sense of...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Greg Waggett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How much more vivid it could have been, dammit., 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Hardcover)
This is an extraordinary story. But the writing is dreadful - which is a great pity because Simon Mann is undoubtedly one of Britain's foremost military entrepreneurs, greater even than Mike Hoare of Congo fame.

There is a penchant for lots of short, sharp sentences bundled together. Like this. Tap-tap. All staccato. In a single paragraph. To give a sense of pace. Obviously. This is OK but it needs leavening with a copywriter's artifice to make the passages flow. It is odd that his literary agent and publisher didn't do something about this. And the chronology is muddled. Thus the book is robbed of both clarity and impact. How much more vivid it could have been, dammit.

But if you like the genre, stick with it because the content saves the book. Just about. I am filled with admiration for his sense of high-risk adventure. A buccaneer on the side of the angels - more or less. I am still not completely clear as to why he didn't abort the effort on Equatorial Guinea but I guess that when you perceive that you have powerful organs of state - or states in this case - backing you, albeit implicitly, and a project gathers momentum, you pass the tipping point so there's no turning back.

Moreover, the book provides a lot of history; it is about rather more than the Equatorial Guinea debacle and some successes add a positive note to the concluding disaster.

I found his description of his time in captivity quite harrowing. Interestingly, it seems his spell in E Guinean jails was less awful than that in Zimbabwean hell-holes. Ghastly. One salutes him for coping with five and a half years' incarceration with considerable resourcefulness as well as mental resilience. And he writes movingly about his release.

Two small asides. I was amused that he mentioned how bad Khyber safety matches, made in Pakistan, performed when he was in clink in Zim. I have a box in front of me that I bought at Gandamak Lodge, a hotel in Kabul run by a friend of mine. Well, if you drag the match-head across the striker bar gently at thirty degrees, then they are sure-fire. Secondly, to suggest that Aegis is the most successful private military company is less than impartial. But I understand why he said it.

Anyway, it is easy to judge. What we do means more about us than what we say. And as Sir Winston Churchill said, `When the eagles are silent, the parrots begin to jabber.' Britain is better with people like Simon Mann than without him. I mean, real Britain - whatever there is left of it.

I wonder what he will do next? Bon chance!

Lastly, in case anyone rushes away with the thought that joining a private security company must be a great idea they should bear in mind that although there are undoubtedly outstanding people in the business, these days there is also more than a sprinkling of self-regarding braggarts bloated with a grossly inflated sense of their own abilities. The latter's world is one where loyalty is a rare commodity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .....and release the dogs of war!, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Hardcover)
This for me was a must read book. Given the press speculation, repeated Government denials in the UK media and the personalities involved you had to read Simon Mann's first hand and exceptionally personal account of the events to get to the truth of what happened during this failed coup. Given the circumstances of his recording of the facts you just have to roll with the punches as it jumps from location to location, times and events. It provides the reader with a real insight as to what Simon Mann was going through personally at every stage of the mission planning, execution and his evential capture and internment. Cut away the fact that you may not agree with his politics or his thirst for financial gain through what he hoped would be the successful execution of the mission it is a rivetting read and a true personal account. There is much more that is not said in the book but it will keep you enthraled. It captures his moods as they happen, his survivors instinct while in captivity, his mental strength and discipline all combined to develop strategies to keep one step ahead of the prison staff, while throughout there is the constant threat of deportation and execution. The narrative provides the reader with a microspope with which to examine Simon Mann who is truly a remarkable character. Thoroughly enjoyable and strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a very disappointing book, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Paperback)
I was very interested in the underlying story re the EG coup and the various characters associated with it and their motivations. Frankly if you share these goals keep your money in your pocket as you will be none the wiser at the end.

Frankly this is the worst book I have read in the last decade. The prose is dispiriting and the style jumping from one topic to another reflects what I think is the reality of a greedy, intellectually challenged fool trying to string out a story to construct a book.

Strong recommendation, this book is appalling and life is too short to read this rubbish when there are millions of great books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Hardcover)
I had been waiting for Simon Manns story for some time. As other reviewers have said - this is impossible to read it is so badly written. I would suggest he finds an editor to describe his life story which should be fascinating. Cry Havoc went into the charity box. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PAPPI KAK, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Hardcover)
Warning! To all readers who have waited for this side to be told be prepared to be disappointed.
First, not sure why so many names, places, and simple facts had to be changed when many parts of this story has been told in detail before by Eeben Barlow, Jim Hooper and Al J. Venter. A specific example is the misrepresentation of the Battle of Soyo, Angola. This altering just adds to the confusion and is only compounded by the exclusion of an index.
Second, this book reads like Tom Clancy fiction with one character being at the center of all the important decisions and events. When compared to other sources some events appeared manufactured just to inject the author into the fight.
Please to all that read this book as a single source take the time to read the titles linked below. When that is done decide for yourself if this book is fact or fiction. This is not an attack just an attempt for the truth to be flushed out and passed on to others.

Bloodsong!
Executive Outcomes: Against All Odds
WAR DOG: Fighting Other People's Wars -The Modern Mercenary in Combat
My Friend the Mercenary
Shadow Company [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More about PMC's, 3 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Hardcover)
I was somewhat perturbed at the beginning of the book with written shorthand commentary. Does that make sense? The story improved chapter by chapter and I became engrossed. It was an interesting comparison to the WONGA COUP which I had read previously. Talk about two sides of a coin! As in Blood Diamonds reviewed above I knew of or had met some of the characters within. This made the book even more interesting to me. Once again I am confused as to why the SAS cap badge is used on the cover. The author served but his experiences within the Regiment are not a part of the script. I find the use of the cap badge somewhat misleading and only there to sell copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Paperback)
Confusing and badly written. I gave up after a couple chapters. For an ex-officer I'd expected better, perhaps his time behind bars has caused him problems. I certainly didn't expect to hear him keep on referring to 'daddy & mummy' - Jeez, he used to be in the SAS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing story, 1 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Paperback)
... doesn't always make an amazing book. It feels a bit hard criticising someone of Simon Mann's exceptional calibre, but while he is a true adventurer, he certainly isn't a great writer. Should have enlisted a co-writer who could have brought to this story the structure, rhythm, and impact that it deserves. It's also clear that Simon has kept a lot - too much - out of the book: his past, his real motivations, some explanations on the deal that set him free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comment, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Paperback)
This read together with My Friend the Mercenary started to provide an insight towards what really happened with regadrs rto the attempted coup in Equatorial Guinea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy? Terrible writing style, 13 April 2013
This review is from: Cry Havoc (Paperback)
Is this man a fantasist? I think so, just look at the cover!

Only part of the book I enjoyed was when Mann was in prison, it seems as though this part was written by someone else?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews