Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Laptop
I purchased this laptop at a perhaps promotional price from Amazon and as such it was a simply stunning buy, but even at around 400 GBP this machine is still a 5 stars, although the version based on the AMD A8 chip may be an even better buy in the 400-500 pounds price range.

Built and look
The laptop feels very solid and extremely stylish thanks to a very...
Published 23 months ago by Alvis

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars NICE BUT SCREEN BROKE EASILY
This is a powerful medium level laptop and at a good price too. I am however disappointed that the screen broke very easily witnout much pressure. I expected a more sturdy product. Samsung needs to look into this as he repair cost of the screen was more than half of the cost of the product. 2 stars
Published 15 months ago by Soji A.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Laptop, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this laptop at a perhaps promotional price from Amazon and as such it was a simply stunning buy, but even at around 400 GBP this machine is still a 5 stars, although the version based on the AMD A8 chip may be an even better buy in the 400-500 pounds price range.

Built and look
The laptop feels very solid and extremely stylish thanks to a very well made construction and an impeccable metal cladding finish. I am not particularly keen on many such laptops but this is very nice looking. There is very minimal or no flexing for neither the chassis nor screen. It is quite thin for a DVD equipped laptop and it is fairly light for a non ultra-portable machine.

Features
It has all the right features for a modern work and media laptop, except I would have preferred a higher resolution webcam. However it include HDMI and VGA video ports, 4 USB ports (two of which are very fast) Ethernet and WiFi, the latest bluetooth which is fast and supports all recent services, a card reader slot and the analog audio IN/OUT plugs. I used it with my iMac bluetooth mouse running both Windows and Linux with identical results in operation to the iMac.

Screen
It is excellent especially for a budget/mid-market machine. It is anti-reflective (a very good thing), bright and with good resolution. Colours are vibrant and with a good fidelity (I am a keen photographer). However the angle of view does affect greatly the contrast (which in turns affects the perceived colours) especially for vertical angles.

Keyboard
The keyboard feels solid and not cheap (although not top quality either). I found it easy and responsive to use. The touchpad looks and feels nice, although the buttons do feel a touch loose. I operation though it is not a real limitation.

Sound
Sound is a little bright and thin but basically it is on par or better than Beats Audio machines which is not a bad thing.

CPU and graphics processors
It is based on the latest AMD 64 bit APU architecture. A single chip includes a dual integer-core (with a single floating point core) and a Radeon HD 7520G Graphics Processor. Basically the latter is on par to the Intel HD 4000 graphics, whilst the CPU matches the best i3 and some of the i5 Intel processors. Extensive benchmarking exists for comparison on the web. Samsung fitted 6 GB of RAM in this unit which is very professional, as modern laptop with embedded graphics chips do share RAM between GPU and CPU and 4 GB is not that much these days.

Performance
Windows benchmarks (range from 1 to 7.9)
CPU 5.5, RAM 7.2, Graphics 6.6 Gaming 6.6 HD transfer 5.9 - Overall 5.5

Linux (in bracket the relative performance compared to an AMD E-450 based machine)
Blowfish 8.64 (160%), Cryptoash 198.46 (257%) Fibonacci 3.15 (142%) QUEENS 7.88 (315%) FFT 3.8 (178%) Raytracing 5.10 (329%)

Performance experience is excellent especially in Linux for day to day work.
I ran Mathcad 2000 in Linux using Wine virtual machine and it runs extremely fast. Big spreadsheets or large presentations load and perform very quikly.

However the graphics driver used by Ubuntu are not the latest (as often the case with AMD chips) and the graphics performance is impacted in some applications. VLC runs less smoothly than in Windows, whilst BBC HD iPlayer ran in Chromium (or Chrome in Windows) is equally fluid on both OSs.

Overall this feels as a very balanced machine, especially in Windows.

Battery and power
The chipset is energy efficient and the battery life is very good. I used it for more than 4 hours on heavy duty work in Windows and it showed still some 20% of battery charge. I believe that the 8 h claim is only doable on a extremely light use, although 5-6 hours will be typical. This is not bad.

Finally the sleep mode in Windows is worth noticing. The unit takes about three seconds to turn OFF and ON from sleep. I haven't tested how long the machine can stay in sleep mode running on battery.

All in all I am extremely pleased with this laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value !, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
Screen- OK, it's only 1366x768 but the matte finish is pure win. Unlike most cheap laptops with high gloss screens this one can actually be seen in bright lighting with no annoying reflections. If you use your laptop on the move this alone is worth the asking price.

Build quality- For a <300 laptop it's on par with stuff costing far more. Feels reasonably solid with little flex or wobble. Although made entirely of plastic it doesn't look or feel 'cheap'. I would call it an understated design, but in a good way.

Connections- With USB3, HDMI, VGA, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, webcam/mic, DVD burner, audio in/out, bluetooth and a multi-card reader it has all the options one could expect from a modern laptop.

In use- Plenty fast enough for everyday use, surfing, watching movies, writing stuff etc. It can even play older/less taxing games quite nicely. Battery life is probably close to 5 hours when not doing intensive stuff. Keyboard and trackpad are average, but it's an average priced laptop so that's expected. Nothing 'wrong' with them as such, but the trackpad buttons do feel a bit flimsy, work well enough though.

Overall- For the price it's a steal. I haven't seen anybody other than Amazon offering them for 279 so I'm guessing they must have some sort of deal going on ? Whatever the reason, if you want a sub 300 laptop for 'general use' you should give it serious consideration.

(As true as all that ^ is, it's not why I bought it. I bought it because I suspected the A6-4400m and A10-4600m APU's were interchangable. They both use the same M-PGA zif socket and have 35 watt TDP. So I took a chance and fitted one. Along with a 128GB SSD and 8GB of low latency DDR3 1600. The end result is a machine that can hold it's own against almost any laptop you care to mention. It plays WoW, Skyrim, Dirt3 and Sleeping Dogs very nicely. And the total cost if I sell the parts I removed should be about 430. If you fancy doing your own 'DIY Ultra' laptop it is a great place to start. However, DOING THIS *WILL* INVALIDATE YOUR WARRANTY, so don't even think about it unless you are willing to take the risk. I also can't guarantee that later models won't have soldered-in APU's to stop people doing this. So please be aware of that. Anyway, that said, if you want to see how the A10 upgraded version works just search for my name on youtube, ie- Haawser. Peace )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent computer,, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this computer from Amazon, It was advertised at such a special price, and even though I was given a 2-3 week wait for delivery< I decided I couldn't go wrong. I am so glad that I did, it was ordered, on the 10th September and delivered on the 16th, I saw this model being sold by a famous computer store for 300 more than I paid for it.

It was well packaged, the computer box was within an outer box, when I opened the computer box I was amazed, it had a dust sleeve over the screen, The computer was also in a dust bag, the leads have small velcro straps attached.

The whole look and feel of it is quality.I use this as my home computer, I have down loaded and played music, you can finetune the sound quality, to get a better pitch, it comes with Windows 7> 2 months free security Norton360. I downloaded Windows Security Essentials, It also has 3 versions of Internet Explorer 9. (32bit,64bit, IE no addons).

After using Windows XP for many years,on my old notebook. To see and use windows 7 on such a stunning computer is a whole new experience,
One quirky thing, the delete button works by holding down the shift key and then pressing delete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little laptop, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
For the price, this is a great little lap top. It's got good quality graphics, fast start up speed & processing, plus it looks great. Would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAMSUNG 355V5C SERIES LAPTOP, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
Fabulous laptop and so easy to use and set up. Includes word and excel as standard. Would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars samsung:), 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
great value for the price. samsung is a lot better than my one year old compaq I have had.runs nice and fast on the internet despite only 54kbs on router,always connects to the internet in seconds(compaq was loosing connection).can handle most games:):):) purchased my for nearly 290 on amazon few monts ago and I'm really satisfied:):):)would recommend it for everyone who needs good laptop for everyday use:):):)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NICE BUT SCREEN BROKE EASILY, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
This is a powerful medium level laptop and at a good price too. I am however disappointed that the screen broke very easily witnout much pressure. I expected a more sturdy product. Samsung needs to look into this as he repair cost of the screen was more than half of the cost of the product. 2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars samsung does it again, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
as i work from home, i need to have full confidence with the technology which i am using. I purchased the Samsung 355 v5c series 3 laptop after much deliberation. i have found the laptop to be reliable in every sense... i can't recommend it highly enough; the worst thing is i now have no excuse not to do my work......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job at a reasonable cost, 17 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
I bought the lap top because it had windows 7 as I have read bad reports about windows 8. So far it has been fine. It is difficult to compare because I have nothing t compare it with. The sreen isn't as clear as my other lap tops but not too much of a problem. It is a lot faster than my other lap tops which run XP and Vista.
Overall I am happy with my purchase and feel it was good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AAA+ Laptop, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Samsung 355V5C Series 3 15.6-inch Laptop (Silver) (AMD A6 4400M 2.7GHz, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integretaed Graphics, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
Have only had this laptop a few days but am really pleased with it. It is fast with a great keyboard and screen. Easy to set up and use. no problem working out how to set up multiple users and enjoyed customising our setups. Windows 7 is much better than Windows 8.I don't like Windows 8 like most people don't like.If you are looking for a laptop replacement, which is what I wanted, this is definitely worth to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews