Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars103
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2013
Don't anticipate lamps flying across rooms or spinning heads. Anticipate being scared though, even if your not the suspense will make the movie more fun for you :) cant argue with that!
It's a quiet movie from the point of view of one character throughout the movie. She investigates a house in search of her suddenly missing sister. There are some creepy moments but it will seem slow moving at first. Perservere with it because it gets flipping awesome. Then it just gets really strange and creepy and you cant look away even though you want to. Wait I forgot there is one scene when an object flys across the room and it may actually make you jump right off your seat!
It's not super scary and its not paranormal but I love it and its become one of my Top 5!
Give it a go, you'll be pleasantly surprised! Just don't expect super paranormal activities!

Hope this helps :)
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
I originally caught The Pact in the cinemas, going in with very little knowledge about the film. Needless to say, I was blown away by it! This is an incredible ghost film that has a plot which twists and turns constantly, leaving you always on the edge of your seat. It makes a refreshing change to watch a horror/thriller that doesn't rely on gore and unnecessary jump scares to freak you out.

If you like films like The Others, What Lies Beneath, The Sixth Sense or even Insidious - then this is for you!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
The story begins after their mother passes away, sisters Nicole (Bruckner) and Annie (Lotz) reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallen picture of an unknown woman posed next to their mother. Annie begins experiencing a series of intense and disturbing dreams visions that lead her to uncover something terrible about her mothers past that is finally revealing itself.

I mean i cannot understand how this has got so many negative reviews this movie in my opinion was one of the best horror movies of the the last 3 years! had great tension and suspense and a nice little twist at the end i mean what more could you want?! great film thoroughly entertaining from start to finish and would defiantly recommend it to others!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Thriller or horror? Both of them. The PAct is a nightmarish journey through some family secrets and it's conducted with rare and strong talent, both visual and narrative. It's a creepy movie, where you can't tell if you'd better expect what's going on is supernatural rather than real and realistic. A real surprise!
in fact, it has the rare quality not to be what it seems (or to be much more than that).
A touch of Lynch Lost Highway, where horror hides in the dark corners of the house and you can almost sense a physical terror while watching it.
Definitely superior to most of the horror films from the last years, that have been too much and too soon considered cult movies.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 February 2016
In this 2012 supernatural horror, Nicole Barlow goes missing while trying to finalise preparations for her mother's funeral at her childhood home. Sister Annie arrives and finds Nicole's phone dropped on the floor. Later that night she awakens from a bad dream and finds the fridge door open and various other peculiar occurances. Exactly what is going on?
This is one of those ‘old style’ ‘things that go bump in the night’ psychological movies that I really love, but sadly this somehow didn’t ‘click’ for me at the start and I never got involved with the plot [lose a *]. It’s only halfway through that things actually become interesting and the scary bits really come into effect. Is it actually necessary to show a woman sitting on a toilet?
The single disc opens to 3 trailers before going to main menu offering play, scene selection, extras [cast, director, location, original short] and set up [5.1 or 2.0, English hard of hearing/off].
With a scattering of jumpy moments, this could have got top marks by slashing 20 minutes from the slow, meandering start and much of the scrip lacked tension becoming an ordinary detective yarn in places, with an ending that also seemed too long, losing that lingering horror feeling [lose a *] but for a low $400,000 production it’s a very good attempt as a 15, stopping this from sliding further.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
The film opens with a close up of a green iris. The eye blinks and then it becomes blue. We then move onto a film that is seeming unrelated to the eye or the title.

Nicole (Agnes Bruckner) is at her mother's house. The camera angles give us the feeling Nicole is being watched. Agnes Bruckner gives us a good performance as someone who is feeling creepy. Her mother has passed on and Nicole is making the arrangements. We discover this family was not very tight and has every member has numerous issues.

Nicole disappears the night before her biker/waitress sister Annie (Caity Lotz) shows up. Annie occupies her mother's house and also cares for Nicole's daughter (Dakota Bright) who she has met for the first time. Weird things start to happen in the house until Annie seeks refuge at the police station.

At this point an unkempt Bill Creek (Casper Van Dien) shows up. The ghost starts to leave Annie clues. The suspense/thriller/ horror aspect was good. Once you find out what is going on, it takes the film down a peg.

I wasn't sure what they were trying to accomplish with the very end. It took a certain "seriousness" out of the production.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs, no sex, no nudity. Caity Lotz legs and cleavage.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Something that goes bump in the night, shadows, the belief that you are not alone........the film embraces many's worst fears.
'Annie' returning to her family home after the death of her mother has to face the demons and unanswered questions of the past.
This film, which will bring tension onto your screen and maybe the occasional ''shock'' moment.
This is probably a movie to have 'hired' at your local rental shop, watch once, then almost certainly forget.
44 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this and if you have liked any of these you will too, Ti West's "House of the Devil" or "The Innkeepers","Lovely Molly" or "Apartment 143".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
'The Pact' is a mystery-horror film that premiered at the 2012 Sundance Film Festival and had a limited theatrical release. The film has gained mostly positive reviews. However, the box-office returns have been poor.

The movie centers around Annie (Caity Lotz) who tries to get to the bottom of her sister's disappearance as she struggles with strange incidents in her home.

I'll begin with the minor negative points, the general premise is clichéd. Further to that, the start is quite slow and tests the patience as the story takes a long time to get going.

The fim starts off slow but, if given time it eventually creates enough curiosity to keep the audience engaged. The latter half of the feature is excellent with a lot of suspense, a number of scary moments and so many twists. The film really peaks in the ending stages.

The performances of all actors are just about average, no one really stands out.

Nicholas McCarthy's direction is of high quality as he successfully alternates a basic plot in different directions leaving a solid impression in the end.

In conclusion, I thoroughly enjoyed the mystery of 'The Pact'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
This film is brilliant! It keeps you on the edge of your seat guessing what this is all about and why 2 people have gone missing and what happened in that room!? Keeps you thinking what is going to happen next. Very creepy looking house where the girls mother lived. I definitely recommend this dvd. It will keep you in suspense and guessing all the time. Had me hooked anyway. Great creepy story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)