Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted but I liked it better...?...!
Don't anticipate lamps flying across rooms or spinning heads. Anticipate being scared though, even if your not the suspense will make the movie more fun for you :) cant argue with that!
It's a quiet movie from the point of view of one character throughout the movie. She investigates a house in search of her suddenly missing sister. There are some creepy moments but...
Published 22 months ago by Oh My Gaskarth!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable haunted house horror
Watched The Pact primarily off the back of the recent TV ad promotion; it certainly gave the impression of an indie-horror which would offer something out-of-the-ordinary. In hindsight, the marketing men had done their homework splicing-up the film's best bits which only flattered to decieve.

Where the film does work is the palpable sense of dread and...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Mr. J. Ryden


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted but I liked it better...?...!, 26 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Pact [DVD] (DVD)
Don't anticipate lamps flying across rooms or spinning heads. Anticipate being scared though, even if your not the suspense will make the movie more fun for you :) cant argue with that!
It's a quiet movie from the point of view of one character throughout the movie. She investigates a house in search of her suddenly missing sister. There are some creepy moments but it will seem slow moving at first. Perservere with it because it gets flipping awesome. Then it just gets really strange and creepy and you cant look away even though you want to. Wait I forgot there is one scene when an object flys across the room and it may actually make you jump right off your seat!
It's not super scary and its not paranormal but I love it and its become one of my Top 5!
Give it a go, you'll be pleasantly surprised! Just don't expect super paranormal activities!

Hope this helps :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MOMMY, WHO IS THAT BEHIND YOU?, 17 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Pact [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with a close up of a green iris. The eye blinks and then it becomes blue. We then move onto a film that is seeming unrelated to the eye or the title.

Nicole (Agnes Bruckner) is at her mother's house. The camera angles give us the feeling Nicole is being watched. Agnes Bruckner gives us a good performance as someone who is feeling creepy. Her mother has passed on and Nicole is making the arrangements. We discover this family was not very tight and has every member has numerous issues.

Nicole disappears the night before her biker/waitress sister Annie (Caity Lotz) shows up. Annie occupies her mother's house and also cares for Nicole's daughter (Dakota Bright) who she has met for the first time. Weird things start to happen in the house until Annie seeks refuge at the police station.

At this point an unkempt Bill Creek (Casper Van Dien) shows up. The ghost starts to leave Annie clues. The suspense/thriller/ horror aspect was good. Once you find out what is going on, it takes the film down a peg.

I wasn't sure what they were trying to accomplish with the very end. It took a certain "seriousness" out of the production.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs, no sex, no nudity. Caity Lotz legs and cleavage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must-See Ghostly Thriller!, 13 Sept. 2012
By 
K. Daniels "Kyle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pact [DVD] (DVD)
I originally caught The Pact in the cinemas, going in with very little knowledge about the film. Needless to say, I was blown away by it! This is an incredible ghost film that has a plot which twists and turns constantly, leaving you always on the edge of your seat. It makes a refreshing change to watch a horror/thriller that doesn't rely on gore and unnecessary jump scares to freak you out.

If you like films like The Others, What Lies Beneath, The Sixth Sense or even Insidious - then this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pact review, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pact [DVD] (DVD)
After ordering this dvd, I became quite dubious whether I had done the right thing, but after viewing it I was pleasantly surprised I do like a good suspenseful film but this one was very frightening in places and certainly made one think alot about the psychic Ithings about us whether we think they exist or not.Anyway I would say watch it if you dare and enjoy. D Bowen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great slasher/ghost thriller!, 11 April 2014
This review is from: The Pact [DVD] (DVD)
The story begins after their mother passes away, sisters Nicole (Bruckner) and Annie (Lotz) reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallen picture of an unknown woman posed next to their mother. Annie begins experiencing a series of intense and disturbing dreams visions that lead her to uncover something terrible about her mothers past that is finally revealing itself.

I mean i cannot understand how this has got so many negative reviews this movie in my opinion was one of the best horror movies of the the last 3 years! had great tension and suspense and a nice little twist at the end i mean what more could you want?! great film thoroughly entertaining from start to finish and would defiantly recommend it to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable haunted house horror, 23 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pact [DVD] (DVD)
Watched The Pact primarily off the back of the recent TV ad promotion; it certainly gave the impression of an indie-horror which would offer something out-of-the-ordinary. In hindsight, the marketing men had done their homework splicing-up the film's best bits which only flattered to decieve.

Where the film does work is the palpable sense of dread and foreboding as the camera pans around the tight confines of the deceased mother's house; even where nothing goes 'bump in the night'. A simple, lingering shot of a pitch black closet did far more to induce fear than when the scares proper occur. With this in mind, the first ten/fifteen minutes of the film were by far the most effective. There was a lovely scene involving web-cams near the start, reminiscent of another US horror film, which set the tone nicely.

The cast are all solid in their roles though I thought insufficient screen-time was given to a couple of key characters which felt like the script writer had simply written them off as inconvenient to the plot progression. On the other hand, it was good to see Starship Troopers heart-throb Casper van Dein making a reappearance as the skeptical detective.

Where it doesn't work so well is that the overall plot felt a little disjointed. The biggest bug-bear for me was the reveal near the end; once they introduced that angle I really lost interest as I then began to think of the implications; 'What, you mean to tell me that for all that time....?'. Equally, the aforementioned characters getting wiped from the script; take the young girl, she's introduced to the film for all of ten minutes then she's never heard about again. Really? I'd like to know what happened to her. It smacked of sloppy script-writing.

However, the supernatural whodunnit element did work for me as the spirit seeks to communicate. Similarly, the Entity-esque special effects were done very well. Again though, not enough focus was given on this thread as the film tried gamely to juggle too many balls which only served to undermine the sum of its parts. What was the mother's part in all this, for instance? Was she complicit?

Not a bad film by any stretch of the imagination but could have been a lot more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'HAS IT'S MOMENTS', 16 Nov. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pact [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Something that goes bump in the night, shadows, the belief that you are not alone........the film embraces many's worst fears.
'Annie' returning to her family home after the death of her mother has to face the demons and unanswered questions of the past.
This film, which will bring tension onto your screen and maybe the occasional ''shock'' moment.
This is probably a movie to have 'hired' at your local rental shop, watch once, then almost certainly forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pact [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best thriller ever made, but not a bad effort. The story is about a girls past, discovering hidden secrets in the house she has returned to since leaving as a child. In particular a room that she has no memory of. She also soon learns that she isn’t alone in the house. Quite creepy with a good twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Whose that standing behind you?", 2 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Pact [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I saw this at the cinema and first didn't take much of a liking. I am nor
sure what the title of the movie means but in a nutshell it is about a daughter
who moves to her late mothers bungalow after her death. There is some "implied"
abuse and some bad family blood but it is never given detail.

However, when the daughter, Annie has settled in she senses a supernatural
presence, not sent to harm her but sent to warn her about the stranger living
below the floorboards!

I don't wanna give too much away but I will warn don't watch on your own...
The ending is disturbing and there is room for a sequel. Also watch if you own one
on a soundbar! I was not keen the first time I saw it but the second time it seemed more
frightening.

For those who don't know the sequel is being released this year but not heard good things!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great film plenty of twist and jumpy scenes, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pact [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
great film plenty of twist and jumpy scenes,good value for money excellent service delivered on time, would recommend the film and the seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pact [Blu-ray]
The Pact [Blu-ray] by Nicholas McCarthy (Blu-ray - 2012)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews