Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough but where's the beginning?
As a WW2 plane lover and war film fan in general, Red Tails gets an awful lot right. It feels like a 60s-70s WW2 film in the same vein as Battle Of The Bulge, Bridge Too Far, Where Eagles Dare etc. Not classic, as none of those were, but a good, old fashioned action romp. Don't expect Band Of Brothers levels of character depth and dialogue and it won't disappoint as much...
Published 14 months ago by A. Taylor

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This would by fine if it TV or straight to DVD movie.
Overall I was disappointed by this movie. I expected a whole lot more. The special effects look ok, bit nothing outstanding. The acting was competent but nothing more. Would be fine for an early evening TV movie. Knowing a bit about he Tuskegee Airmen, I feel this movie glossed over a lot of facts. The level of bigotry and racism these men had to face from their OWN side...
Published 21 months ago by iMatt


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 11 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Red Tails [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I must say I didnt think it would be as good as it is if you like a war film you got too watch this one I thought it was a great watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliiant memorial to the Tucksegee airmen - the first black US airforce squadrons, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Roger Allton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tails [DVD] (DVD)
Tells the story well, and the flying shots of P 51's are superb.
A worthy addition to the TV documentary some years ago.
RogerA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Tails DVD, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tails [DVD] (DVD)
We had friends and family round to watch it, six people in all and without exception everyone loved it. The story is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, fast-flying fun!!, 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Red Tails (Blu-ray)
This film hits the road running with a fast-paced action sequence of a dogfight, which I loved apart from some close-ups of men being killed in gruesome ways like being set on fire and having bullets through them - uurgh!

The rest of the film had believable characters and a side plot of a love story, which was nice and gave some respite from the action. The scenes of racism in the officer's club were handled very well, with excellent performances by all the African American actors, especially Cuba Gooding Jnr and Denzel Washington.

All in all, a very good, well-paced, high action movie which will please all ages, except maybe some 12 yr olds may find the opening sequence a bit too gory, although the explosions later in the film were great as shot from a distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lucas should retire..., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tails [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Awful cheesy dialogue, soap-opera acting, and a cliched tale (no pun intended) from start to finish.
Had hoped for so much more given the source material - and it undoubtedly deserves much more - but given that this is from George Lucas I should have probably expected the rather immature feel to it that this film has. Given his involvement, it surprisingly comes across as having a fairly low budget.

That said, it passes the time on a rainy Sunday afternoon. But it is instantly forgettable (once you get past the disappointment of it) and you'll be wondering why you bought it, and why you didn't just watch the repeat of Battle of Britain, or A Bridge Too Far that was on the telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Red Tails, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tails [DVD] (DVD)
The very well told story of how the pilots, known as the 'Tuskegee Airmen' fought not only the German's, but ignorance and oppression, to become one of the best escort fighter groups of World War Two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a missed opportunity - what a shame, 26 Oct. 2012
By 
K. R. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Tails [DVD] (DVD)
This movie makes a mockery of the true story of the Tuskegee Airmen and for that reason alone deserves your contempt because it will stop other film makers from making better movies about the subject for at least another 10 years. The 1995 Laurence Fishburne movie is better. If you're interested in the subject then do yourself a favour, stop reading this now and go and watch that instead.

If you're interested in a vacuum-headed movie that plays out like "Pearl Harbor" though, then read on.

You'd think that with such a rich and heroic story to work from that even George Lucas couldn't mess this one up. He's done the same, however, to the story of the Tuskegee Airman that he did to his own "Star Wars" by creating a movie that is almost entirely free of memorable characters and packed to the nines with ridiculous computer effects.

So the plot sucks, but maybe it's worth watching for the action? Nope. I'm afraid the computer visuals all looks kinda fake and crappy so you're entirely detached from the action. CG always suffers from this anyway, I suppose it's cheap compared to actually filming real aircraft though so we're force-fed warm spoons of it in everything these days. The CG in "Red Tails" is especially nasty though because it has a kind of dull flatness to it that screams FAKE at you in 100 foot tall flashing letters. On top of that the movement of the aircraft has that fake "spaceship" style CG look and also depicts stunts that the aircraft can't physically do. The idea of having a P-51 do a backflip to take out a bad guy may seem cool to the scriptwriter and is probably cool to most brain-dead movie goers these days, but if you know anything about air combat it ruins the scene. Do some research before writing drivel like this, please.

Don't even get me started on the whole idea of doing a movie which is ostensibly about racism while at the same time having possibly the most shallow and stereotypical German baddie I think I've ever seen. He even has a scar on his face. Where is the true story of air combat in WW2? The too-young men who are thrown into the fray day upon day, tired and terrified for their lives but not showing it out of bravado, on both sides - Allied and German? Read "The Big Show" by Pierre Clostermann and tell me again how "Red Tails" even vaguely reflects true air combat in WW2.

I LOVE the story of the Tuskegee Airmen. I love the irony that by being small-minded racists the US Army accidentally created an elite fighter squadron. This message is NOT conveyed in this movie and I think that's probably the biggest travesty of all.

In summary - don't expect much from this otherwise you'll be disappointed. "Saving Private Ryan" this ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adrenaline fuelled., 3 Sept. 2014
By 
alley kat (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tails [DVD] (DVD)
This was excellent, dog fights as good as any film I've ever seen, true story about a squadron of black pilots known as the Tuskegee Airmen, Italy 1944, the lads are given the chancer to prove themselves, featuring literally jaw dropping special effects from George Lucas the Starwars man, you cannot go wrong with this film if you enjoy WW2 in the air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Red Tails ????, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Tails [DVD] (DVD)
The original version was a much better film. and thank goodness I have the original for comparison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the movie very much, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
James R Cain (Portage, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The item came a day earlier than the intended delivery date. I enjoyed the movie very much. But the real reason for the purchase was for the art work on the steel book which is not available in the USA. That is to bad that not more of these steelbooks are not popular in the states. This a good company to deal with, and I will buy from them again. Thank you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Tails [DVD]
Red Tails [DVD] by Anthony Hemingway (DVD - 2012)
£4.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews