Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but useful
Not radio controlled but then was not advertised as such so I was a little surprised to see this comment on other reviews. It's basic but then what do you expect for this price? It was very easy to fit and calibrate...you don't need a master's degree to set it up. No written instructions but again a 10 year old could follow the diagramatic instructions. All in all it...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by P. Varley

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described
The 5 function version does NOT do average speed. About the only saving grace is that it cheap enough not to be worth bothering to send it back. Which is presumably what Amazon are counting on. Grrr.
Published on 31 July 2009 by Mark Ayliffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but useful, 7 Sep 2009
By 
P. Varley "Phil" (Cirencester Glos UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not radio controlled but then was not advertised as such so I was a little surprised to see this comment on other reviews. It's basic but then what do you expect for this price? It was very easy to fit and calibrate...you don't need a master's degree to set it up. No written instructions but again a 10 year old could follow the diagramatic instructions. All in all it gives me the basic functions i.e. speed, distance and time in the saddle which is all I need to know. If you want some 'space age' multi-purpose device be prepared to pay for it! I'm very happy with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raleigh 5 function, 12 Oct 2009
By 
D. Outar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful for telling journey time, current speed, distance covered. If I want to work out average speed for the journey the calculation is Distance/Time.

It has a cadence display to indicate acceleration and decelration which is useful if you use the bike for cardio training such as a fartlek routine.

The computer is easy to strap to the handle bars this is done using cable ties. Cable ties are also used to secure the sensor to the forks and the magnet simply screws on. The cable length supplied is ample for large frame racing cycles with long forks.

The actual programming of the computer is also easy and is explained. All you do is select wheel diameter then tyre width and press the corresponding buttons to set and save.

As with all cycle computers it can be removed when the cycle is parked up. It comfortably fits in the palm of your hand. The display is larg and very easy to read and operate.

The only function I would find as an improvment on this is as a backlight to use at night when I perfrom my cardio training on the way home from the gym, however for most users I don't think the lack of a backlight would be a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars functional display, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Once you've decided which wheel (front or back) and which side (left or right) attaching the cable to the frame in a neat way is the greatest challenge. That said, mine works fine. Although there are options, I leave my display on trip to see distance covered, current speed and whether or not this is faster than the trip average. After the ride, I can check time elapsed and reset ready to go again. I've no experience of other devices but this one was inexpensive and tells me what I need to know when I am riding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not wireless!, 22 May 2009
By 
S. Towell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this product after being told in the product description that it was wireless. Unfortunately it isn't. Nevertheless rather than complain i decided to install, which took a little while due too poor instructions. After all this though it is still a very good little computer, and tells me what i need too know; distance and speed. So if it hadn't been for the niggles it would have got 5.

It is value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think, 17 July 2009
By 
CA Wemyss (Buckingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I don't disagree with the other two reviews it is one of the lowest cost units. Wireless would not be available at this cost.

Additionally, it has more than 5 functions. It also has a pair of arrows indicating whether you are speeding up or slowing down and a representation of a little man on a bicycle whose wheels flash depending on cadence.

Raleigh website is most unhelpful/uninformative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 31 July 2009
By 
Mark Ayliffe (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 5 function version does NOT do average speed. About the only saving grace is that it cheap enough not to be worth bothering to send it back. Which is presumably what Amazon are counting on. Grrr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working in 3weeks, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Yes, I had done a total of 26miles ......and now it doesn't work. Total waste of money - buy a better one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job., 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Straight forward and easy fit,very simplistic basic instructions but seems accurate.For the money one of the best out there.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE BARGAIN, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this bike computer & wow what a bargain.
I've used it in all of the wet windy weather that the south west (uk) can throw at me.
The unit that I got was black & it matches the colour sceme of my bike.
I would recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bicycle computer, 21 Feb 2013
Disappointed with the screen when looking at your speed or mileage you have to look at it at a certain angle or the numbers are very faint, it looks as if the battery is getting low, I think I would look at a different brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews