Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant
No point in over analysing it and indeed, the BBC review is dubiously wide of the mark. Either the reviewer doesn't 'get it', or they didn't listen to it properly.

I don't know of another band that has managed to be both a pantomime act (and a pant wettingly funny one at that), AND a brilliant rock band too. This album has even more smutty and self-deprecating...
Published on 21 Aug 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Not
Look, this is a hard one to write. One can't review it based on previous glories as many others seem to have done. One has to take it as a standalone album and review it as such. And....it's ok. Nothing more, nothing less. The production it has to be said is shoddy and the whole sound is muddy as opposed to clear and crisp. The lyrics, with the exception of opener Every...
Published on 14 Dec 2012 by Pazza


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
No point in over analysing it and indeed, the BBC review is dubiously wide of the mark. Either the reviewer doesn't 'get it', or they didn't listen to it properly.

I don't know of another band that has managed to be both a pantomime act (and a pant wettingly funny one at that), AND a brilliant rock band too. This album has even more smutty and self-deprecating humour in it than the previous two albums combined yet still manages to be a very good rock album in its own right.

You could strip away the pantomime element and you'd have a classic rock album that sounds.... brilliant!

Ignore all the 'blah, blah derivative this and that' whinging. If you like your rock that sounds cool and bounces along very nicely you'll love this. I bought into The Darkness as an act AND a rock band when they were playing live before 'Permission to Land' was released and this reaffirms why I did with a slap around the face and a cheeky grope for good measure to remind me why.

Just buy it. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rejoice, The Darkness are back!!, 23 Aug 2012
By 
T. Farwell "jatfar" (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of The Darkness since Permission to land and was massively dissapointed when they parted ways. The Stone Gods and Hot Leg were all well and good, but neither could hold a torch to The Darkness.

But now, after 7 long years, The Darkness are back to bring proper old school rock back into our lives! The album is everything I hoped it would be. More akin to Permission to land than One way ticket, with a mixture of balls out rock anthems like Everybody have a good time, Concrete and With a woman and epic power ballads like Living each day blind, Forbidden love and Love is not the answer. The whole album is laced with Queen like harmonies, fantastic guitar solos and of course Justin's trademark falsetto.

On that note, I have to re-iterate what other reviewers have said and that is that the BBC bloke clearly has no idea what rock music should sound like!! Justin's falsetto is as on form as ever and certainly not "a horrendous noise", as he puts it! Yes, The Darkness take influences from other bands like Queen and AC/DC, but then if no-one took any influences from anyone else, where would we be!?

If you were ever a fan of The Darkness before, or you are a newcomer who longs for a blast of proper rock in this age of naff pop music, then this is an essential purchase. I'd also urge anyone to go for the deluxe version with 4 extra tracks. The standout being I can't believe it's not love. The Darkness are back and long may they reign! Long live Rock and Roll!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Not, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
Look, this is a hard one to write. One can't review it based on previous glories as many others seem to have done. One has to take it as a standalone album and review it as such. And....it's ok. Nothing more, nothing less. The production it has to be said is shoddy and the whole sound is muddy as opposed to clear and crisp. The lyrics, with the exception of opener Every Inch Of You, are safe but non-amusing. Some songs could also do with a guitar solo as you would expect with this type of band. The Hawkins bros are bona fide guitar players but rarely get to show off their talents here. On the plus side there some great tracks on here such as She A Girl Eddie, Concrete and closer Love Is Not The Answer. Justin's singing is great and not as grating as some reviews would make you believe. So overall, a fair album all told. It just that....well, I'll get roasted for this.....it's just that Steel Panther do it ( killer hooks, great guitar solos, mind blowingly offensive but hilarious lyrics, indeed the WHOLE WHOLE parody thing) so much better nowadays. There, I've said it. Still worth a look-in though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comeback., 21 Aug 2012
By 
Mr Funt (Nantymoel, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Cakes [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
Do you like rock music? do you have a sense of humour? If you can answer yes to either of these questions buy this album it's awesome! As the other reviewer said please ignore the BBC review it's pathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different again - The Darkness recover?, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. D. M. Edwards "Dave" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
To give this review context, I bought this on sight without reading a single review, as I loved the previous two albums and was very sad that they split up (until I heard Steel Panther...). Yes, One Way Ticket was overblown and very short, but it was still fun, and I think that counts for a lot, as so much music sounds generic and dull in the charts now.

My hopes were that this was more of the same old Darkness, and I was surprised to find quite a different album than a continuation from where they left off. Gone is the silly overproduced nonsense, and this actually sounds more stripped back to its rock roots than Permission to Land. There are a few cracking tracks on the album, and it has some really funny lyrics. On a whole, the album is very listenable, but not as catchy and radio-ready as Permission to Land. My personal favourite tracks are 4-10 and 14, which is pretty much the whole album, but track 9 'Concrete' is just excellent. The deluxe edition give quite a few extra songs, but just spend that extra pound so as you get their cover of Radiohead's 'Street Spirit' (track 10) - I did, and I wasn't disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
Highly underrated band ,so talented .An album of greatness .i suggest you get it now,your ears will love you for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sets a high bar for rock in general, 3 Dec 2014
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
Far surpassing the theatrics and comedy of "Permission to Land" which dogged The Darkness on "One Way Ticket" this is easily the band's best work and, more importantly, a truly fine rock album. The theatrics and tongue-in -cheek are still present, but these are tempered with maturity and a sensitivity missing from their previous work. Justin's high pitched vocals are much more well rounded and later tracks, such as Concrete and Love is Not the Answer, prove that there is far more depth to the band than their theatrics implies.

The BBC review is well well well off the mark in respect of this album. If you like "the Darkness" this is a must have. If you want a good, solid, rock album that hits all the marks without missing a beat, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having a good time is even better if it annoys the odd gimp, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
So glad the bbc review slags it off, I mean come on let's not forget [...] these aren't people whose endorsement is anything to crave!

This album is an excellent piece of rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the BBC Reviewer.!., 22 Aug 2012
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
If you liked the other albums youll indeed find something to love here. Blends of Queen/AcDc/Hot Leg/Thin Lizzy riffage,

A welcome return to honest music compared to the vile XFactor isms like Olly Murrs and Marcus thingy.

If you never have enjoyed anything by The Darkness what the hell are you reading a review for said album for??

Standout tracks include Concrete and Every inch of you and forbidden love. The deluxe version includes 4 extra tracks and 2 videos, i cant believe its not love being an excellent track.

Highly recommended follow up to the criminally under rated (and underplayed during the recent tour) One way ticket to hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Are Definitely Back, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: Hot Cakes (Audio CD)
Darkness are back! First listening, hmmm, second, third can't stop listening to it- brilliant. Re-wound to when i first discovered 'Permission to Land' - what a great band: energy, drive,lyrical, outrageous, funny, tongue in cheek, don't take themslves seriously - just great to listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Cakes
Hot Cakes by The Darkness (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews