Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Lego game to rule them all
Once you have put the disc in and got things underway you will be treated to the opening of Fellowship of the ring, narrated by Cate Blanchett. Then its on to the last stand of men and Elves against the all powerful Sauron which you actively take part in. Needless to say that this game is incredibly faithful to the Peter Jackson movies and all audio, save that of minor...
Published 23 months ago by Mark Andrew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars packaging broken
When the game arrived, the package for the game was broken, and seeing as it was a gift, I wasn't happy. However the game itself is brilliant.
Published 9 months ago by Rosie McPhail


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Lego game to rule them all, 24 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Once you have put the disc in and got things underway you will be treated to the opening of Fellowship of the ring, narrated by Cate Blanchett. Then its on to the last stand of men and Elves against the all powerful Sauron which you actively take part in. Needless to say that this game is incredibly faithful to the Peter Jackson movies and all audio, save that of minor characters, is taken directly from the films.
The story of the one ring is explained and then you are put in charge of Frodo and Sam in the Shire.

With the film soundtrack playing and the Shire to explore at your leisure, you will suddenly wonder if the rest of the game can live up to such an epic opening. The answer is yes. While some, like me, will quite happily wander about Hobbiton collecting Studs and hunting down special Mithril Blocks...others will be determined to see just how big this Lego themed Middle-Earth is.

Of course this is no Skyrim. But such freedom and detailed environments will gain your attention. And if you are a fan of the movies you are going to be very impressed. You can have a walk along to Bree if you wish but the first mission will stand in your way and its hard to ignore it, when you know that it details Frodos' flight from the Shire and his first encounter with the Nazgul. The whole of this Lego condensed Middle-Earth is open for exploration. Take a walk to Mount Doom.

If you have played any previous Lego games then this is the best. The controls are responsive, the animations incredible and the graphics lush and colourful. Middle-Earth looks absolutely stunning and I'm always surprised at how much more the developers can get out of these little plastic figures. Characters are easily recognisable and the cutscenes prefectly represent the movies, with added Lego humour of course.

You can fast travel between the locations you have visited but its enjoyable to walk it, or ride it even. Try taking a goat out of the Shire. Going past the Town of Bree and unlocking Weathertop will allow you to see a large part of the map. The thing is whatever you see is available to visit. Your map will highlight useful locations, quest locations and items of interest. You can even set a coin trail to any objectives or locations you want to visit. Hobbit GPS.

Any Mithril blocks you collect (these replace the gold blocks), along with recipes allows you to craft new weapons, items and armor. These can be accessed through the characters inventory wheel with ease. The thing is if you take a quest on it usually means visiting a past mission in free-play mode and finding the required items etc etc.

Is Lego Lord of the rings a role-play game then? Very litely. You can tackle quests, hunt down hidden caves and so on but the game is very friendly and there is no grinding of any kind. Simply wandering around with the Fellowship is awesome and each character has his/her special abilities. Samwise can grow flowers from patches of soil and light fires with his tinderbox. Merry has a fishing rod and can tackle (get it) a little mini-game when above certain bodies of water.

The missions are more of the same from previous Lego games. Collect the maximum amount of studs per level, find treasure chests and unlock kit pieces. Free-play mode is required to visit older levels with new characters and their special abilities to unlock additional areas and kit. Replay value on this game is very high indeed.

You'll wander from Rivendell to Rohan, buying new characters as you go and taking in the lovely sights of Middle-Earth in all of its Lego glory. The you'll decide to go back to the Shire and unlock some more bits of Mithril that you missed earlier in the game to forge a new powerful weapon...

Yes it gets repetetive but not in a bad way. You are glad to experience Lord of the rings and plod through the game and get them all important achievements.

The best Lego game ever and best use of a film license.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Lord of the Rings: Trilogy, 24 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the Lego games since they released Lego Star Wars. Admittedly I've not played them all, only the ones that have interested me (Star Wars, Harry Potter, and not this one). One of the first thing that always stands out in these games is the simple humor that they use in the cut scenes. With this having dialogue from the film I though it may have an effect on the comedy in the scenes as I always felt it's what wasn't said that made them funnier than they probably were. That however isn't the case. Even though the scenes that they have that use the Dialogue don't include the whole dialogue it all fits together really nicely.
Now onto the game-play. As all the other Lego games I've played it feels no different and is as solid as ever. The right analogue stick turn the camera allowing you to get a better view of the scene you're in, this comes in very handy in some of the balance parts of the levels. My only criticism of it however is for me it turns too slowly sometimes. Would have been nice to have an option to change the speed but it doesn't deter from the game-play whatsoever as I've never needed to change the angle in any fight scene so far. The combat flows really nicely with good animations and it's really easy to pick up and play. There are different weapons for each character, mainly what they use in the film, but you can smith items which you can call in for certain characters also to bolster their item attire.
The open wold map is a very nice idea, and you can fast travel to anywhere that you have been previously and access levels from the main map too. In between the story scenes you are roaming through Middle Earth taking in Non Lego scenery that fits really well into the game. I found some scenes to be a bit short (Lothlórien being one of them), and some of the travelling in between areas (The Shire and Bree, although this does allow for a better flowing world in the free roam).
There are also quest in the game. They are both a nice idea and not so nice at the same time. There is no way to track quests once you have spoken to the person who initiates it, and you have to remember what it is they asked you or revisit them if you forget after progressing with the story. The area summary does however let you know how many quests there are in that area and how many you have completed.

The graphics are what you would expect from a Lego game with some really nice scenery to look at. Mordor is somewhere I think has been made to look fantastic in the game, as has many other areas.

The soundtrack is that of the Film, does anything else need to be said about it. Both the Soundtrack and dialogue are very well implemented and I think of a good audio quality.

In summary there is good solid game-play, a very respectable length campaign with good replay value. I'd highly recommend it to any Lord of the Rings or Lego game fan. My favorite Lego game to date.

Audio: 10/10
Gameplay: 9/10
Graphics: 8/10
Controls: 9/10
Overall: 9/10

Hope I haven't missed anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the LEGO series., 25 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'll keep this brief. I have played almost all the LEGO games and this for me is head and shoulders above anything they have done before! I would implore anyone who is undecided to buy this. Let's put it this way, I'm enjoying this far more than HALO 4! 'Nuff said really! Don't hesitate, BUY WITH CONFIDENCE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS FUN, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs T (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My son saved up his birthday money to get this game when it was released, so had it on pre-order. He is 11 and an avid gamer in his spare time, he loves the LEGO games, and has many others also such as LEGO Harry Potter etc, so he knows how his way round these games and knows how much fun they are both as single and multi-player. He spent as much time as we would allow on this over the weekend, and even his 14 year old sister commented on how cool it was and said what a good game it was. Would make a great present for all LEGO Gamers out there, children to adult alike, as I know my 30 plus year brother plays these too when time allows. Great fun and enough going on that it will certainly be good value for money. Great characters as usual on these games. My son is thrilled with it, and said it was worth every penny !!! and it was his choice and his money ! As a parent who cares about what the children play on, it is so nice to have a game he can play with sister/ dad/uncle and is family friendly and great fun for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late LOTR, 3 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is great. I have only played a level or two and the quality of sound and picture and playability are as good as I have seen on any of the lego games.
It looks, feels and sounds like you are in the films, but in Lego!
Unfortunatly for me, I chose to have it delivered free, perhaps my mistake, but it arrived three days after I was told it should arrive!!!So, it took eight days to arrive via the great British Postal Service. I wasn't impressed, and will consider this when ordering 'stuff' for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best game in the world,everybody should get it, 29 Dec 2012
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best game in the world,everybody should get it.A great game that tells the story of Lord of the Rings.(Lawrence,aged 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After Lego Batman 2 I wondered whether Lego and TT had lost the magic, as my boys (and my husband!) found the levels too quick and navigating Gotham a chore. However, Lego LOTR is simply brilliant - it looks stunning, plays nicely and is well paced. Having the original voices from the films is a masterstroke, but is balanced with the Lego humour to keep it light enough for little ones. The levels are challenging without being impossible and the stage between levels (the whole of Middle Earth!) is great fun with little side quests. My boys are all under 10 and love it, but I imagine that older children will still enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego: Lord of the Rings Review!, 30 Nov 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly, if you've ever played a Lego game in the past then you will feel right at home as this has the same basic layout and way of playing with similar puzzles. The game covers all three films from start to finish in a very accurate way albeit some areas happen quicker than others. All the Lego characters resemble the characters from the movie although visually it can be hard at time to decipher between Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin, simply because their small on screen. Graphics are as good as any other LEGO game I've played but the real bonus of this game is all the voices are ported directly from the films which gives a better sense of realism. Cut-scenes are an absolute laugh and give their Lego variation of certain aspect of the saga.. as an example SPOILER ALERT (skip to end of paragraph if you don't want to know): The part where Boromir gets hit by lurtz near the end of the first film instead in the lego version boromir gets hit with a brush and then killed by a banana which certainly got me laughing and i'm a seasoned LEGO player.

Rather than a direct linear path from which you can't deviate, in this there are larger open areas that you can explore and even side quests if you want to help people out like find objects for a guy in the village and as usual there are a whole host of items to find in different hidden places that will require at least a second play-through as you need different characters abilities to access certain areas, it's all fun and levels can be replayed from the menu with ease although a word of caution as with all LEGO games, if you wish to 100% complete the game it will take longer than you first think and you will require patience as some puzzles require extra effort.

PROS: As usual this is an epic laugh and sticks to the LOTR storyline in a perfect way, cut scenes are some of the best I've seen, best looking lego game to date dare i say?

CONS: i have come across the odd glitch here and there but nothing to worry about, you can get confused every now and then regarding what to do next!

VERDICT: This is probably the best LEGO game to date in my personal opinion, i love lord of the rings and coupled to lego this makes for an epic game with lots of laughs along the way. It sticks to the proper storyline and there's lots of replay value in it because of all the items you need to collect.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED GAME ... both as a lord of the rings tie-in and as a Lego game on it's own, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, 13 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is without a shadow of a doubt, the best lego game ever! I am addicted and have completed it twice now! Huge lotr fan and this game does it justice. Suits fans of the films and the books, and I fall under both cateories. The perfect game for anyone! Not a dull moment to be had.

One does not simply get too old for lego games!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100%, 19 Sep 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm in 30's, get bored easily but no chance with this. Its not hard but gets your head busy working out, seeing the story unfold, testing things and exploring. The images are really beautiful and true to film. I played this before I watched the film. I actually spent time just wandering around the scenery being nosey. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360)
LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Xbox 360)
£14.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews