Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Lego game to rule them all
Once you have put the disc in and got things underway you will be treated to the opening of Fellowship of the ring, narrated by Cate Blanchett. Then its on to the last stand of men and Elves against the all powerful Sauron which you actively take part in. Needless to say that this game is incredibly faithful to the Peter Jackson movies and all audio, save that of minor...
Published 24 months ago by Mark Andrew

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
Poor game. Story is hard to follow, the game is boring, the graphics are bad. If you want LEGO games, check out LEGO Marvel or LEGO Hobbit as this game is terrible
Published 1 month ago by Mrs Tracy Goldman


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Lego game to rule them all, 24 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Once you have put the disc in and got things underway you will be treated to the opening of Fellowship of the ring, narrated by Cate Blanchett. Then its on to the last stand of men and Elves against the all powerful Sauron which you actively take part in. Needless to say that this game is incredibly faithful to the Peter Jackson movies and all audio, save that of minor characters, is taken directly from the films.
The story of the one ring is explained and then you are put in charge of Frodo and Sam in the Shire.

With the film soundtrack playing and the Shire to explore at your leisure, you will suddenly wonder if the rest of the game can live up to such an epic opening. The answer is yes. While some, like me, will quite happily wander about Hobbiton collecting Studs and hunting down special Mithril Blocks...others will be determined to see just how big this Lego themed Middle-Earth is.

Of course this is no Skyrim. But such freedom and detailed environments will gain your attention. And if you are a fan of the movies you are going to be very impressed. You can have a walk along to Bree if you wish but the first mission will stand in your way and its hard to ignore it, when you know that it details Frodos' flight from the Shire and his first encounter with the Nazgul. The whole of this Lego condensed Middle-Earth is open for exploration. Take a walk to Mount Doom.

If you have played any previous Lego games then this is the best. The controls are responsive, the animations incredible and the graphics lush and colourful. Middle-Earth looks absolutely stunning and I'm always surprised at how much more the developers can get out of these little plastic figures. Characters are easily recognisable and the cutscenes prefectly represent the movies, with added Lego humour of course.

You can fast travel between the locations you have visited but its enjoyable to walk it, or ride it even. Try taking a goat out of the Shire. Going past the Town of Bree and unlocking Weathertop will allow you to see a large part of the map. The thing is whatever you see is available to visit. Your map will highlight useful locations, quest locations and items of interest. You can even set a coin trail to any objectives or locations you want to visit. Hobbit GPS.

Any Mithril blocks you collect (these replace the gold blocks), along with recipes allows you to craft new weapons, items and armor. These can be accessed through the characters inventory wheel with ease. The thing is if you take a quest on it usually means visiting a past mission in free-play mode and finding the required items etc etc.

Is Lego Lord of the rings a role-play game then? Very litely. You can tackle quests, hunt down hidden caves and so on but the game is very friendly and there is no grinding of any kind. Simply wandering around with the Fellowship is awesome and each character has his/her special abilities. Samwise can grow flowers from patches of soil and light fires with his tinderbox. Merry has a fishing rod and can tackle (get it) a little mini-game when above certain bodies of water.

The missions are more of the same from previous Lego games. Collect the maximum amount of studs per level, find treasure chests and unlock kit pieces. Free-play mode is required to visit older levels with new characters and their special abilities to unlock additional areas and kit. Replay value on this game is very high indeed.

You'll wander from Rivendell to Rohan, buying new characters as you go and taking in the lovely sights of Middle-Earth in all of its Lego glory. The you'll decide to go back to the Shire and unlock some more bits of Mithril that you missed earlier in the game to forge a new powerful weapon...

Yes it gets repetetive but not in a bad way. You are glad to experience Lord of the rings and plod through the game and get them all important achievements.

The best Lego game ever and best use of a film license.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Lord of the Rings: Trilogy, 24 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the Lego games since they released Lego Star Wars. Admittedly I've not played them all, only the ones that have interested me (Star Wars, Harry Potter, and not this one). One of the first thing that always stands out in these games is the simple humor that they use in the cut scenes. With this having dialogue from the film I though it may have an effect on the comedy in the scenes as I always felt it's what wasn't said that made them funnier than they probably were. That however isn't the case. Even though the scenes that they have that use the Dialogue don't include the whole dialogue it all fits together really nicely.
Now onto the game-play. As all the other Lego games I've played it feels no different and is as solid as ever. The right analogue stick turn the camera allowing you to get a better view of the scene you're in, this comes in very handy in some of the balance parts of the levels. My only criticism of it however is for me it turns too slowly sometimes. Would have been nice to have an option to change the speed but it doesn't deter from the game-play whatsoever as I've never needed to change the angle in any fight scene so far. The combat flows really nicely with good animations and it's really easy to pick up and play. There are different weapons for each character, mainly what they use in the film, but you can smith items which you can call in for certain characters also to bolster their item attire.
The open wold map is a very nice idea, and you can fast travel to anywhere that you have been previously and access levels from the main map too. In between the story scenes you are roaming through Middle Earth taking in Non Lego scenery that fits really well into the game. I found some scenes to be a bit short (Lothlórien being one of them), and some of the travelling in between areas (The Shire and Bree, although this does allow for a better flowing world in the free roam).
There are also quest in the game. They are both a nice idea and not so nice at the same time. There is no way to track quests once you have spoken to the person who initiates it, and you have to remember what it is they asked you or revisit them if you forget after progressing with the story. The area summary does however let you know how many quests there are in that area and how many you have completed.

The graphics are what you would expect from a Lego game with some really nice scenery to look at. Mordor is somewhere I think has been made to look fantastic in the game, as has many other areas.

The soundtrack is that of the Film, does anything else need to be said about it. Both the Soundtrack and dialogue are very well implemented and I think of a good audio quality.

In summary there is good solid game-play, a very respectable length campaign with good replay value. I'd highly recommend it to any Lord of the Rings or Lego game fan. My favorite Lego game to date.

Audio: 10/10
Gameplay: 9/10
Graphics: 8/10
Controls: 9/10
Overall: 9/10

Hope I haven't missed anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the LEGO series., 25 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'll keep this brief. I have played almost all the LEGO games and this for me is head and shoulders above anything they have done before! I would implore anyone who is undecided to buy this. Let's put it this way, I'm enjoying this far more than HALO 4! 'Nuff said really! Don't hesitate, BUY WITH CONFIDENCE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS FUN, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs T (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My son saved up his birthday money to get this game when it was released, so had it on pre-order. He is 11 and an avid gamer in his spare time, he loves the LEGO games, and has many others also such as LEGO Harry Potter etc, so he knows how his way round these games and knows how much fun they are both as single and multi-player. He spent as much time as we would allow on this over the weekend, and even his 14 year old sister commented on how cool it was and said what a good game it was. Would make a great present for all LEGO Gamers out there, children to adult alike, as I know my 30 plus year brother plays these too when time allows. Great fun and enough going on that it will certainly be good value for money. Great characters as usual on these games. My son is thrilled with it, and said it was worth every penny !!! and it was his choice and his money ! As a parent who cares about what the children play on, it is so nice to have a game he can play with sister/ dad/uncle and is family friendly and great fun for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Lego game ever, 11 April 2013
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have played a few of the Lego games (star wars, Harry potter) and this is by far the best, and is just in a different league. In co-op mode the split screen to full screen system works really well, and it prevents that feeling i had in other lego games that my character's movement was restricted unless the other player happened to be travelling in the same direction as I was. Thankfully the game doesn't operate completely in split screen mode as once you share the same general area again it reverts back to full screen. This is a big step forward for the Lego games and I think it was first introduced in Lego Harry potter.

The graphics in Lord of the Rings are the best seen in a Lego game thus far, with some great effects and attention to detail, but without losing that Lego charm. Also, because the screen is less busy and the graphics clearer than in previous lego games, it is easier to see what is happening on screen. All of the cut scenes are awesome and the game has a great sense of humour.

The sound is fantastic with all of the music from the films. This time the developers have used the actual dialogue from the films which is a genius move that really helps to bring the game to life and is a massive improvement over the various grunts and groans used in previous games. This means that for the first time in a lego game you can actually follow the story!

The level design, puzzles and overall gameplay is, for me, way better than anything seen in a Lego game before and I was completely absorbed.

Even though it probably won't take you too long to finish the game I think it's the perfect length and great for both kids and adults. My only real criticism of the game is that the side quests are very confusing and I just didn't feel they worked at all and I had no interest in trying to complete them. If your idea of fun is running around trying to find things and getting involved in 'fetch and carry' tasks then you might like this part of the game but I found it a waste of time.

This game really does make the most of the source material and whether you choose to play solo or in co-op mode this game delivers an enormous amount of fun. Not only do I think this is the best Lego game ever I also think it's one of the most fun games on the 360. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late LOTR, 3 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is great. I have only played a level or two and the quality of sound and picture and playability are as good as I have seen on any of the lego games.
It looks, feels and sounds like you are in the films, but in Lego!
Unfortunatly for me, I chose to have it delivered free, perhaps my mistake, but it arrived three days after I was told it should arrive!!!So, it took eight days to arrive via the great British Postal Service. I wasn't impressed, and will consider this when ordering 'stuff' for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Its an Awesome XBOX 360 game", 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i love Lego video games because that is one of my favorite things that i grew up with. I already had or played before playing Lego The Lord of the Ring quite a few Lego video game that consist of Lego 'Star Wars' The Video game and II; The Original Trilogy', Lego 'Indiana Jones', Lego 'Batman' and also Lego 'Harry Potters' Years 1-4 and 5-7. I wanted to play this game since its announcement because i just love the 'Lord of the Rings' films. They are my favorite films. On the outside the game looks awesome for any Lego video game fan. Furthermore when I started playing the game I found that it is much more better than i ever expected and i had high expectations.

Although I've only played through 'The Fellowship of the Ring' part of the game, which i admit its a third of the story mode levels. I've got to grips with the control system and new features that appear in this game. Also by myself playing through 'The Two Towers' and 'The Return of the King' parts of the game I will get a better and expanded scope of how great the game is. However I already think that its an awesome game. I like everything about the game that I've experienced and everything that i'm yet to experience. Their is no current nor future part of the game that i dislike nor will dislike.

This is why I've given this game five out of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much the same as the other Lego games, 6 July 2013
By 
P. J. Ruffell (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
You have to admire the people at Traveller's Tales for sticking to the original film scripts. Watching the Star wars films, or Indiana Jones you can't help but visualise the little Lego characters as they follow the plot through the games.
This one is much like the others but with one or two new touches to get over the frustration of moving around the hub to find the levels you want. Some levels are too easy and yet others too damn hard and it can get annoying having to keep going back to start points when you fail a level. One glitch that frustrates the hell out of me is when you try to use a vehicle, press 'Y' and more often than not, you'll change character instead of getting onto whatever you want to ride.
However, despite that, there are hours of great fun to be had here and well worth spending the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100%, 19 Sep 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm in 30's, get bored easily but no chance with this. Its not hard but gets your head busy working out, seeing the story unfold, testing things and exploring. The images are really beautiful and true to film. I played this before I watched the film. I actually spent time just wandering around the scenery being nosey. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best game in the world,everybody should get it, 29 Dec 2012
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best game in the world,everybody should get it.A great game that tells the story of Lord of the Rings.(Lawrence,aged 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360)
LEGO Lord of the Rings (Xbox 360) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Xbox 360)
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews