Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lego game to rule them all..
Lego Lord Of The Rings, is quite simply the stand out of all Lego games to date. Not just for the fact that, they've chosen a huge name 'Lord Of The Rings' which in its own right, is a huge success through books and the films.. But it expands everything Lego has done so far to another level. Not just the open world aspect which they implemented into the 'Lego Batman' but...
Published 20 months ago by S. A. Rutter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The one ring
I've played other lego games, this one wasn't my favourite. The character changing wheel really annoyed me. But other than that it's a very long game. If you like getting trophies this is a good game for you.
Published 3 months ago by Sophie


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lego game to rule them all.., 25 Nov 2012
By 
S. A. Rutter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
Lego Lord Of The Rings, is quite simply the stand out of all Lego games to date. Not just for the fact that, they've chosen a huge name 'Lord Of The Rings' which in its own right, is a huge success through books and the films.. But it expands everything Lego has done so far to another level. Not just the open world aspect which they implemented into the 'Lego Batman' but they've also added RPG elements that fit perfectly well with the Lord Of The Rings story. It's not 'Skyrim' or any other game that focuses soley on this, but it adds that extra something for the perfectionist to get his/her teeth into.. Here's the breakdown of the game :

Story - Well quite simply it's the original trilogy of the films put into Lego form. That in itself is a winner straight from the off, but the most amazing part of it is... The original voice acting is there to be heard, which really adds a lot of depth to the game instead of mumbo jumbo that most Lego games have. I think they did this not only to sharpen the overall quality of the game, but to also bind all age groups to it, no longer is it fixed on just the younger players, it also grips the adults too. 10/10

Game play - It's pretty much everything you'd expect from a Lego game. It's not technical or difficult. There's an attack button which will take your characters to swing weapons to defeat enemies, knocking their Lego bodies all over the place. The level designs are fun, some are killing hordes of Lego orcs, some need you to sneak past enemies and use distractions, others require teamwork and use of all characters to get through a level, it's not just mindless side screen action. Most of it is fine and enjoyable bar a few glitches, for example the ending level to the fellowship (Borimirs death) the boss got stuck and i had to re-do the level.. A little annoying but didn't ruin the experience, just a minor glitch. 8/10

Audio - This is a huge stand out as you would expect in a Lord Of The Rings game. The music is as stunning as it is in the movies, crisp sound. Added of course to the voices of the cast from the film, it is simply faultless. 10/10

New features - There's a crafting system that will wet your appetite to perfect the game, and have the best weapon / armor. It's all about collecting mithril lego blocks, and also recipes to craft them at a blacksmith. It's a nice touch. Also there are side quests to do in most towns, but unfortunately it's usually based around doing a level you've already done, but finding a specific item in that level to bring back. Which can be a little repetitive.

Overall this is a fantastic story telling game of the Lord Of The Rings. Any fan of the genre buy it, any Lego fans buy it. A real gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be addictive, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
This game must be addictive. My wife is the one who plays it and she spends more time doing so than consumating our marriage. Hence, do I give it one star or five stars. I suppose five stars as it keeps her quiet for hours, - no, days-, on end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LEGO GAME FRANCHISE GOES FROM STRENGTH TO STRENGTH!, 13 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
The latest LEGO title in the long-running franchise, THE LORD OF THE RINGS maintains the successful gameplay and humour which made all the previous ones so popular.

Here the action beings with the Last Alliance of Men and Elves attempting to defeat the Dark Lord Sauron before switching to Frodo Baggins and his epic quest to destroy the ring of power at Mount Doom where it was forged.

As with the others in the franchise, having seen the films is perhaps not essential but certainly does help!

What of the gameplay? Well, fans of the previous LEGO titles will know what to expect here. Players are presented with an immensely fun but challenging game featuring varied elements of running, jumping, shooting, combat and problem solving.

Each level gives us different characters from the films, each with unique attributes. Legolas has a bow for long range shots, Gimli can smash objects with his axe (even when being tossed for those out of the way areas) while Sam uses a trowel to plant things. Such interaction with objects is crucial to completing levels so it is worth knowing the equipment each character is carrying!

During levels collecting LEGO studs, both littered around and dispensed by destroying objects and enemies, will finally achieve True Adventurer status, while Mini Kits and Mithril Blocks can be found to gain an ancient Middle Earth artefact and forging new items accordingly. In addition, characters littered around the landscape will give quests which typically involve finding lost items for them.

Once a level has been completed, it can be replayed in Free Mode using all the characters who have so far been unlocked. Their special skills are often necessary to find all the Blocks and Mini Kit pieces.

Fans of THE LORD OF THE RINGS Trilogy will certainly love this game! The LEGO characters are superb, nicely voiced and animated, while the humour is sure to regularly raise a laugh. In addition there are 49 Trophies to gain while playing the game as well.

Some would argue that these LEGO games all follow a familiar pattern. Still, why change a winning formula?

While there have been many computer games based on TOLKIENS classic novel Trilogy in the past, there is always room for another one - especially one as good as this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 7 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
Any LORT fan must have this game, and if you weren't a fan of the franchise before, you will be after playing this. Super detailed in every way, fab graphics, great single or co-op gameplay makes this a 5 star game. The cut scences are straight out of the film, but with a comical twist bringing the humerous LEGO element to LOTR. People may be put off by the fact that this is LEGO... DON'T BE! This is a top, top game and the LEGO aspect makes it so fun and addictive. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever Lego game? certainly, 23 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
Just received this today and it's now being tested out by my junior gamester. Initial reaction, is that it's really captured the style and content of the films, with some great sound tracks, effects and dialogue. The game play looks up to the very best standard set by HP Yr5-7, and although its still early days it really does look to be very good.

Update: Two weeks in and it's still proving to be great fun, with so many characters, including 3 DLC packs there appears to be 91 possible (personal favourites are the Uruk-Hai and the Witch King), multiple mini-quests (a little like Assassins Creed), treasure/weapons to collect and areas to explore via a map. I'm assured it only took about ~6 hours play to run through the core of the game before free play was unlocked (which then allows many of the challenges to be tackled), at that point it looked like the game was about 15% completed (from recollection).

As others have said the sound track and dialogue are directly copied from the 3 films, which gives the game a depth and quality not normally heard from Lego games, certainly some of the screams/squarks are really quite realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One does not simply buy this game, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
If you loved The Lord of The Ring and you want to dive in its story but adding some random smiles, the you should play this game! Like every LEGO game it has some bugs, but it's still a lot of fun to play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lego Lord of the rings, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
This is another excellent lego PS3 game. I have not watched the Lord of the rings films so it took a while to get used to all the characters. I was able to get a few hints on line when I got stuck but have now completed the whole game (100%) Some things were a bit frustrating like not realizing how to go from night to day, but all in all a really good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fun, fun!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
My kids bought this for me for christmas (ok, I asked for it!) and we've all played it almost every day since. We all love the Lego games on the PS3, they're great for all ages to play whether you do the bare minimum (them) or go all out to do absolutely everything (me). The LEgo games are all high quality, high fun and high value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
We've got all the Lego games for Wii and this is our first for PS3. They just get better and better. Amazing graphics, fantastic storyline from the films with real voice-overs and gameplay that provides hours of enjoyment and team-work between middle-aged dad and 7-year old son. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is This The First Bad Lego Game? No Chance!, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Matt (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) (Video Game)
If you have played any of the Lego games before they you will immediately be familiar with certain aspects of Lego Lord of the Rings. The main difference this time (well, from my point of view, I don't know if they've done it before as I've not played Pirates of the Carribean or the Indiana Jones games) is the Lego characters actually have dialogue instead of just mumbling. And it's not just any dialogue, it's taken straight from the films so you can expect to hear Sir Ian McKellan, Elijah Wood, Christopher Lee and everyone else. Also present is Howard Shore's excellent score (I don't think they'd be able to make the game without it) so apart from the fact that the characters are Lego men and the story is greatly chopped down (as it has to be, to make it a workable game) you really are immersed in Peter Jackson's visualisation of the franchise.

Each film is broken down into six chapters, the difference this time being (again, compared to the other Lego games I have played) that between quests, instead of returning to the same base all the time (the Bat Cave or Hogwarts, for example) you get to roam around the entirety of Middle Earth. While I suppose this is a similar principle to previous games, here it just seems a lot bigger. All around Middle Earth you can complete side quests to unlock the all important red brick power ups and as usual there are plenty of hidden things to find. As always with Lego games, you complete the story and there's still loads of extra stuff to do. I completed The Two Towers this morning and my progress showed at 19% finished.

If you aren't familiar with Lego games, here's a quick summary: Don't expect amazing graphics. They are good but at the end of the day, they are just drawing Lego men. The beauty is in how they interpret the story, adding in all their jokes which can sometimes (though not always) distract you momentarily from the story line).

There is no way to complete the game 100% without playing every chapter twice. There are certain tasks that can only be completed by certain characters who you probably won't have on the first playthough. For example, Sam has a spade so he can dig or grow plants, only Gollum can climb certain walls, sometimes you need an archer (Legolas, Faramir etc) to shoot a certain target.

The game does not have different difficulty settings and it is not very hard. There are certain aspects that are tricky (jumping from one place to another) and sometimes there are puzzles that you really need to think about for a while but on the whole, it's a simple game to play.

You can only save at certain points; in the case of this game, when you come across a "save statue". If you turn it off without saving, don't expect to be where you were when you turn it back on (although there is an obvious warning about this when you try to exit the game).

I find these games so enjoyable I tend to race through them but this time I am trying to slow down a bit. I'm really enjoying it so far and I want to drag it out for a good few weeks yet.

My one snag is that there are a few bugs. So far the game has frozen three times and all I could do was turn off the PS3 and turn it back on again, my progress lost. Once just the boss character froze so I had to re-load the level, although I had recently saved so that wasn't so bad. I don't knock any stars off for this as the game has been out for less than a week and while it is a bit of a shame it was released with the bugs, I have no doubt that an update to fix them will come along very soon.

If you're a fan of either Lord of the Rings or Lego then this is definitely worth a look. If you are a fan of both then you should own this already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3)
LEGO Lord of the Rings (PS3) by Warner Bros. Interactive (PlayStation 3)
15.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews