Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb game...
This game is a must for hidden object fans. The graphics are stunning and there is an interesting storyline to the game as well, which always adds (in my opinion)to the nature of the game. Found it difficult to stop playing. Totally addictive.
Published on 11 Aug 2012 by Susan K. Smurthwaite

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply Dreadful
The story of Column of the Maya unfolds as a series of flashbacks, linked together by cut scenes in the present. These scenes, which are presented in a non-animated comic-book style, take the form of a conversation between our heroine (the obligatory missing professor's plucky daughter!) and the villain who has her at gunpoint.

In the actual hidden object /...
Published 14 months ago by The Dude


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb game..., 11 Aug 2012
By 
Susan K. Smurthwaite "susie" (Guisborough, Cleveland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This game is a must for hidden object fans. The graphics are stunning and there is an interesting storyline to the game as well, which always adds (in my opinion)to the nature of the game. Found it difficult to stop playing. Totally addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply Dreadful, 11 Jun 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
The story of Column of the Maya unfolds as a series of flashbacks, linked together by cut scenes in the present. These scenes, which are presented in a non-animated comic-book style, take the form of a conversation between our heroine (the obligatory missing professor's plucky daughter!) and the villain who has her at gunpoint.

In the actual hidden object / puzzle scenes, the two-dimensional "hand drawn" graphics are barely worthy of a competent 10 year-old and some of the objects are so tiny as to be little more than ill-defined specks which you are more likely to find through sheer luck than by judgement. The plot is vague and jumps from place to place with seemingly little justification and the final denouement is somewhat glib.

However I have played other games with these attributes and quite enjoyed them. What makes this one stand out is that it is so dull I found myself simply not caring about either the story or the characters because of the unengaging way in which they are presented.

I'm not sure what game the other reviewers were playing but I find it hard to believe some of the praise and high ratings given. Speaking as a veteran HOG player I thought this game was, thus far, the worst I have ever played in the genre. Apart from the fact that it installed and played without any bugs or problems, I can find nothing to recommend it to anyone.

PS Because this is apparently based on a novel by one Falko Loffler, I had a look around and found another game, also by GSP / Avanquest, based on a Loffler book, namely Guardian Dragons: The Prophecy. In both its incarnations on Amazon Guardian Dragons: The Prophecy (PC CD) / SELECT GAMES: Guardian Dragons - The Prophecy (PC DVD) the description, screen shots and one / two-star reviews suggest this is presented in a very similar style to Column of the Maya. This only compounds my surprise that Column of the Maya hasn't attracted anything like the same opprobrium.

PPS I see that CotM has also been re-released on the "Select Games" imprint. Amazon are offering it for 5 and 'go4games' have it for just over eleven (yes eleven) pounds. I have posted this review on both of those listings as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like it, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
looks a good game got it as a present for my mum. she said good game but not any explanation what to do if stuck on it so she has removed it for time being
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't recommend at all, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Poor graphics and quality. Glad I didn't pay full price, as the quality is poor, compared to other games I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Love these games and to get them for these prices I can't complain , brilliant love it and will buy more if I can get them at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Continent, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Very good game, it took some time to get to the end but was very enjoyable, will have another go to see if i can get to the end quicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring....., 30 Sep 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This game was so boring and it ended so quickly, reading the story it looked like it was going to be longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD)
Hidden Continent: Column of Maya (PC CD) by Avanquest Software (Windows Vista / XP)
2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews