Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars162
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2013
The third in the series of Indiana Jones-esque adventures of Nathan Drake. This wise cracking, fortune hunter is about to embark upon his most dangerous endeavour yet.
The Story
The narrative here takes a more serious tone and really highlights the isolation of Nathan Drake on his adventure. This time around, the bad guys are searching for a lost city in the sands of immeasurable wealth. Nathan Drake and his team go in search of it to prevent it falling into the wrong hands. This time, as the dangers are increased and learning from the cost of the previous adventures, his friends ask him is he really doing this for the right reasons. I’m glad they touched on this because the crew barely escaped with their lives last time, so to embark on this journey without at least questioning if it is worth it would be unrealistic. Two thirds through the game, he is separated from his crew and dumped in the middle of the desert. This is a truly stunning part of the game as Nathan Drake is in a desperate situation here and is fighting for his life. Upon the conclusion, fans will be left satisfied by the adventure they have undergone in and a complete story arc that leaves no open endings.
The Graphics
The visuals have taken a step up from the last title, if that was even possible. Naughty Dog have consistently displayed their graphical prowess and ability to squeeze every ounce of power out of the aging console. This surely is the pinnacle of graphical excellence on the PS3, second only to PC games. As Nathan Drake staggers through the desert, sand dripping off his clothes and hair, the sand sparkles and the player is left dumb struck in awe at the level of minute detail on show here. I literally had to stop and stare a few times. My belief was suspended when I was exploring a dilapidated, decaying French chateau which nature has started to reclaim. Then for it to be set ablaze while you must escape, my jaw hit the floor at how visceral and real it all looked. As the flames licked up the wall and the whole world became an explosion of colour, I thought to myself, this is why I love gaming. The whole game is one indulgent visual feast for the eyes as even the fibres on his top are all very detailed. Another point I want to touch on is the lighting in this game. The lighting is incredible, the sun bleached streets of an Islamic town left me speechless. The environments in this game are many and varied and each time, the lighting is spot on.
The Gameplay
The Uncharted series is known for its set pieces and this game does not disappoint. There are many spectacles for the player to gawp at from escaping a burning chateau, to escaping a sinking hotel ship and even a gunfight on a plane where the engines have cut out. I don’t know what black magic the folks over at Naughty Dog have employed, but this is one of the most fluid and natural looking games I have ever seen. The way Nathan Drake stumbles across sand or even just walking; it all looks natural and realistic. The game strikes a perfect balance of gun fighting, to platforming and puzzle solving; they all flow very easily from each other. Some critics say that this game is incredibly linear and to have all these impressive backdrops that are not explorable is a failure of the game. I disagree and would counter that argument by saying, if it were any less linear, they wouldn’t have been able to put that much detail into the world and would have watered down the experience.
Conclusion
In summary then this game is the third instalment in one of the most incredible gaming trilogies ever created. The game is beautifully written and realised and it is a joy to play through the 12 hour campaign. The only flaw is that, again, sometimes it was hard to get Nathan Drake to stick to the correct piece of cover and sometimes he would pop out of cover for no reason. This minor gripe pales in comparison to the masterpiece that is Uncharted 3. This title is the reason I play games, I can just sit down to a great story with great presentation and be completely absorbed and enthralled, this one is unmissable.
9.9/10
+ Perfectly designed environments
+ Graphics, graphics, graphics
+ Fluid gameplay
+ Great cast of characters
+ More personal story
- Cover system clunky
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception see us taking on the adventurous fortune hunter Nathan Drake once again in one of his most daring and dangerous hunts to date as he and his colleagues go through a maddening race against a secret society and their cold-hearted leader Marlowe to uncover the Atlantas of the Sands. The story this time focuses a little more on Nate Drake's origins; in a brief early chapter, you will get the chance to play as a teenaged Nate as he comes face to face with Victor Sullivan for the first time. While the Uncharted stories don't usually play too heavily on emotion, Nate's demeanor here is slightly less glib and happy go lucky than his usual self as he is faced with some of the elements from his past.

Like the previous Uncharted games, expect this to be gun heavy - from one handed revolvers and machine pistols to two handed machine guns and RPGs, you'll see Nate going through some pretty daring and long-winded gunfights. But unlike the previous two installments of the series, this time you have the option to engage in some extensive bare-fisted brawling which proves to be a nice break from blind-firing from behind walls and other cover. The brawling itself, is a great feature as at close range you can quickly disarm an enemy (or they can disarm you) proving quite a challenge if you're surrounded by ten or so opponents all taking a swing at you. Nate can counter, grapple, and even sometimes use nearby objects to add a blow to his enemy.

The gameplay is pretty standard of Naughty Dog's previous fare. A blockbusteresque palpable journey with a solid story that captures you from start to finish. If you've played the first two, you're going to sail through this one in probably about six hours, as not only will you already know exactly what you're doing, but you'll be so sucked into Nate's next adventure that you won't be able to put the controller down. A few nice chase scenes lift the monotony from the general leaping from ledge to ledge or the strafe and shooting that you normally find yourself doing. As always, there are puzzles, puzzles that require some thought and patience to master (but are not exceptionally hard, so you don't need to worry about being a MENSA member to be able to cope). Although the campaign is pretty straight forward, there's always replaying in harder levels to take away the monotony, as well as tirelessly searching for ALL the hidden artifacts for that elusive trophy.

This edition adds numerous skins and maps to the game for the multiplayer option, although, do be warned, alot of them you can't unlock unless you're willing to work for the ranks (just as with the previous game). I also noted (although this could differ from future releases) this game came with a coupon for a free download of Terminator Salvation which was a nice bonus considering the game was so quick to complete. There is a co-op mode available on this disc too which brings the play to a whole new level.

Multiplayer mode is more or less as straightforward as playing the game in campaign mode. Personally I do find it very disheartening that the multiplayer mode doesn't seperate ranked players into groups of similar levels. Instead, imagine being a new player at level 1 and being thrown into a deathmatch against level 50 opponents who have all the best advantages in the game (best guns, more grenades, faster running abilities). The set up really only awards very skilled players and high ranked players and offers nothing to the "newbie" in ways of advantage to learn anything useful. Hope to see this change in the future. It is good to note that the multiplayer mode is still heavily played by many PS3 users online, so you'll always find someone to oppose.

On to the visual style; it's as ever, truly stunning. Not particularly photo realistic, but the colours are vibrant and deep, and the shadows are very dynamic and play beautifully on the map. There's always something interesting to see to make you feel very immersed in the environment.

All in all a great addition to the series, and although quick to play, it was still a very enjoyable experience. Can't wait to see what Naughty Dog have in store next.
33 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
The first Uncharted cut through the miserable mire of its contemporaries' brown and grey worlds, with lush colours, adventure, fun, laughs. It was amazing, with some room to tighten up the control mechanics. Uncharted 2 sent the series into the stratosphere with perfect gameplay, amazing set pieces and joyous characterisation. A playable movie.

Uncharted 3 is not a huge step forwards and in fact feels like it overstretched and pushed the 'movie like' presentation so far, that it started to compromise the gameplay. Too often, gameplay sections feel like snippets in between narrative beats. Or it's a playable section where the cinematic vision constrains the player so much that they might as well not be interacting. Or what you're playing reminds you of something better in the last game. Or you become all too aware that what's on screen is such a huge technical achievement that what you're actually doing was secondary to whether or not THEY could do it.

But gosh, this is harsh. By any other measure, Uncharted 3 would rank amongst the best, most astonishing games ever made. Any measure except against their own achievement two years earlier. The magic has largely been seen before in previous installments - the set pieces, the banter during gameplay, the cinematic presentation. We've seen this all before, and magic though it is, you can't help but looks for what's new. I also felt that they were starting to repeat themselves, most particularly the plane sequence. Where the train sequence in Uncharted 2 was so embedded in the story that it took up 2 or 3 (or maybe 4?) chapters, the plane sequence (its equivalent moment, being on the box cover and in the teaser trailer) arrived out of nowhere and disappeared soon after.

In summary - play Uncharted 2 and if you love that then play this one two. It's amazing, even if the shadows are now being cast in front of you.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Consider buying this game if you're looking for a game that can last more than the average game. The good traits about this game are a gripping story, good single player mode the best from the uncharted trilogy and off course the co-op mode which you can play offline with a friend . The aspect that I mentioned about its longevity is due to the fact that it has a very complete and well thought multiplayer mode where you can purchase upgrades for weapons, enhance your character with skills etc..
The main reason I bought this was the co-op and it corresponded to my expectations.

If you've played similar games or the previous two uncharted this is definitely the game for you, also I find it more amusing than the tomb raider's series except for the last one that came out which I didn't get a chance to play so I can't really rate it.

One more thing, if you're going to buy this game I advise you purchase a new game due to the online pass which allows you to play online.

That's my review I guess, cheers!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Fortune hunter Nathan Drake is catapulted headlong into an adventure that takes him on a daring trek into the heart of the Arabian Desert in a search for the fabled "Atlantis of the Sands." This journey pits him and his mentor Victor Sullivan against the occult treachery of a shadowy clandestine organization and its ruthless leader. When the terrible secrets of this lost city are unearthed, Drake's quest descends into a desperate bid for survival that strains the limits of his endurance and forces him to confront his deepest fears.

10/10 -- a masterpiece -- as "the pinnacle of gaming, a masterpiece may not be flawless, but it is so exceptional that it is hard to imagine a game being better." That's Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception. From start to finish, single player to multiplayer, this game sings. The characters, the graphics, the sound, the story – they’re all top notch. If you’re willing to skip Uncharted 3, be prepared to miss one of gaming’s finest moments.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
This is more of the same offered in the 2 prequels, and while they are amazing this is still a little disappointing as it doesn't seem to stretch the series at all. However, I picked this up with 5 other games pre-owned for a total of 35 quid (other games were Uncharted 2, Heavy Rain, Fallout New Vegas and Far Cry). As part of a bundle it is still great value for money visually it still stands head and shoulders above many newer games. If you like the others and want more of the same you'll still enjoy these, but if you are looking for a step up splash out on the Last of Us.
In addition I should add that this review only refers to the single player mode. I have not played the multiplayer mode online as that is not my thing, plus I am a middle-aged man and can't be doing with being thrashed by 10 year olds, but I believe it is very good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I am one of those people that love the Uncharted series, not only as they show off what a playstation console is really capable of in terms of graphics, But as the Story has always been great with likeable characters and humour.

While Uncharted 3's Graphics are no doubt the best I have seen so far on the PS3 as some enviourments are simply "WOW" the story was slightly disappointing, To start off the places you go to in the game I feel always have some copied feel where in one level there are thousands of spiders chasing you and to back them off you, you have to use a torch (No doubt copied from The Mummy Movie and the scarabs)
Then you have other levels that feel like they were copied from the previous 2 games like a city collapsing, (Uncharted 2 Ending)
Then moving onto the Villians, While I confess the devs do a great job at making the Villains Interesting by showing you events that happened years before can be quite good, as other baddies in the previous games arnt that interesting. The problem with Uncharted 3's is they don't feel threatening enough. As throughout the game it feels that although they are trying to kill the main character by means of thugs, They play around allot with him by playing mind games and turning people against each other by means of Arrows/Darts that make them zombies if you will to them... Where as in the previous games you could tell the baddies tried everything they could to get rid of you.

But other than thisthe story picks off somepoint after the last one and is great, especially the parts where you play as young drake and learn how he came to know sully and about drakes past.

If your a Uncharted fan you will love this no doubt. but I just recommend you don't pay to much if you can as the game is quite short for players who have finished the previous ones easily
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Although not particularly long, the campaign mode, which I prefer to Internet use, the game is fully satisfying. The graphics are excellent, as they should be these days. There is a fair bit of button bashing but people who have played previous versions of the game know that. The puzzles are quite intriguing but not too difficult to solve.
As for the story, there is one twist which I will not spoil, suffice to say that the story is very good. One could easily think that DRake had run out of steam prior to this release, but that is not the case.
I haven't yet downloaded any extras and not played online so can't comment on that.

One gripe I have and is mentioned above, is the longevity of the campaign. Programmers seem to think that everyone wants to play online, not so. However, I guess it is easier to program for that scene rather that campaign.

Is Uncharted worth the money? If you want to play online as well as campaign, then yes, I suppose it is, but the people like me, who prefer campaign, then no. I could have rented the game and finished it quite quickly.

The biggest problem for those like me is going to be the PS4, which I will not buy as it would appear that second hand games and rental shops will not be available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
One of the best games that I have ever played on the PS3. Amazing graphics and superb storyline.

Was not able to find any separate DLC's as advertised for the GOTY edition but as have not tried the multi-player version as yet so cannot comment on that.

note: The advertised free movie is available when bought from Amazon and not via a 3rd party seller.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
Released in November 2011, Uncharted 3 sports some of the best graphics, gameplay and setpieces seen in the PS3's history, all nicely blended together with a fluent story. After receiving the game as a Christmas gift in it's year of release,I thoroughly enjoyed both the story and multiplayer.

Following the announcement of the 'Game of the year edition,' I jumped in excitement because I hadn't previously bought any of the DLC for this game therefore; upon buying this, I would have instant access to some of the game's best additional content. With all of the content being ON THE DISC (therefore if you buy it used, you will still have the extra goodies) the only thing you have to do in order to gain the content is install the GOTY's exclusive data file. The content included with this edition is:
- Flashback pack 1
- Flashback pack 2
- Drake's Deception multiplayer map pack
- Fort map for COOP mode
- 25 additional heroes/villains skins for use in both multiplayer and coop.
- The shade survival pack.

As you can see, the GOTY edition has a wealth of new content and if you're like me, I suggest you sell your normal copy of Uncharted 3 and pick up this discounted package for more content. Overall, a brilliant package for the multiplayer fans.
55 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)