Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic and timeless
This volume is amazing value, nearly 900pp and I confess I haven't yet read all the stories. Fahrenheit 451 was my first Bradbury read in the 1960s and I've never caught up with his short stories. I'd forgotten just how well he writes. His language is straightforward and simple, but the stories just blow you away. Many are timeless classics and some, bearing in mind...
Published 4 months ago by Bookie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Similar to Vol 2 - Unknown short stories that never made it.
I liked Bradbury's atmospheric SF short stories and I bought this vol and vol 2 hoping to remind myself of how good they were but unfortunately these are not his SF short stories but a selection of unknown and banal non-SF. Very disappointed.
Published 6 months ago by S A Pavli


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic and timeless, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
This volume is amazing value, nearly 900pp and I confess I haven't yet read all the stories. Fahrenheit 451 was my first Bradbury read in the 1960s and I've never caught up with his short stories. I'd forgotten just how well he writes. His language is straightforward and simple, but the stories just blow you away. Many are timeless classics and some, bearing in mind when they were written, have proved strangely prophetic. They're ideal to read with a coffee or on a short journey. Thought provoking, curious and entertaining. I'm really enjoying them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classics from the Sci-Fi master, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
I first discovered Ray Bradbury in the early 70s whilst studying my GCE English Literature and they were classic stories then.
This is a great newly published collection of his short stories that have been a joy to re-discover.

Bradbury is a master of descriptive,emotive and imaginative writing. The twists and turns in the stories are genius, at times filling you with joy and at other times great sadness but always thrilling in their execution.

The other beauty is that at 15 - 20 minutes each the stories are ideal for a quick dip into another world.

A final interesting facet is comparing the imagination of Bradbury on the future and to what did actually happen in space travel and future living. Just Buy It !! Cant wait to get Volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb science fiction, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant writing, weird and wonderful plotting of the stories, great use of language, superb descriptions of places and
people. Can`t recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall, worth a go, 11 Sep 2014
By 
A. R. Wilkinson (Somewhere in the North of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
There are so many stories in this collection it's inevitable that there will be a lot of variation in quality. There are some duff ones that I ended up just skimming through. Most of the stories are pretty good. I could probably also highlight a dozen that are jaw-droppingly outstanding. When the stories are going well they are incredibly imaginative and well-written. Some of them are genuinely moving and genuinely creepy. Unfortunately some are very twee and plod along with nothing much to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if there is a book you should read, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Ray Bradbury takes us away with him in his captivating writing that utilizes a simplistic style so that we have no difficulties in understanding what he wishes us to understand. Each short story is a snapshot of a life, often sinister and bringing the reader to epiphanies which forces them to reflect on their own lives and question there moral standing. for a price of £10 you are giving 100 short stories. I would happily pay 10p for a short story from anyone, but this is Ray Bradbury, an extremely talented science fiction who write about thing which matter now or most likely will someday. I have read his 'Martian Chronicals' and not many books have captivated me in such a way that after each chapter (each story) i had to force myself to put the book down just to contemplate what i had just read.

Brilliant book and superb writer 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
I read some of Ray Bradburys short stories as a teenager and to this day can still remember some of them, a total pleasure to revisit and a lovely collection to make you think and just occasionally look over your shoulder, a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of stories, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Would recommend these stories by Ray Bradbury. I love his style of writing and the amazing imagination which he brings to his stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing collection!, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful collection of stories which vary from mainstream, science fiction and horror.
It is a must for anyone who likes short stories of any genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite author, 26 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Ray Bradbury's stories are nothing short of magical. This volume contains many of my favourites.like ' Kaleidoscope' about a group of astronauts dying in space and their last thougts before death - not as morbid as it sounds! and 'A Sound of Thunder' - the butterfly effect a la Bradbury. It also includes some of his classic short stories which make up 'The Martian Chronicles'. 'The Veldt - not for nervous parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the storiey you can't find in the charity bookshops, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book. There are several stories in this book that I have been looking for for ages. "A sound of thunder" was listed by one reviewer as the first science fiction story ever, I'm not sure if that is true but it is there in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 1: v. 1
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews