Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real page-turner ...
It's a real page-turner (no pun intended). Barney Hoskyns has cultivated impeccable connections during his many years writing about music, and particularly about California, Los Angeles and the musicians and others who together made up the whole 'scene', if that's what we could call it. This comes in particularly useful here, as there is a substantial focus on Zeppelin's...
Published on 12 Sept. 2012 by Barbedbob

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whole Lotta Drugs
I have been a Zeppelin fan since I was 11 years old when I first heard Four Symbols. I saw them at their first Knebworth date in 1979 and have kept the faith even through the eighties when their currency was at its lowest.

I have also bought plenty of Zep biographies over the years (Mylett, Welch, Lewis, Yorke, Davis, Cole, Wall) and with the arrival of any...
Published 19 months ago by M. S. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good insight, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampled Under Foot: The Power and Excess of Led Zeppelin (Kindle Edition)
The interviews work well, as you get a picture of the individual Zep people based on how others found them. Jimmy Page is the most interesting, as he is the most difficult to know. He doesn't come out of this well.

You wonder if the stories of 70s excess are exaggerated, but based on this they're not.

Better than the Hammer of the Gods book, which just went for sensationalism.

You know Zeppelin better after this. You may always like the music but you probably won't like the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to tell the story, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You probably wouldn't believe half of it though!

I wasn't convinced at first that the story could be told in this manner, eyewitness accounts in chronological order but it gives a fantastic sense of the magic and mayhem that the Zep mahcine created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute power corrupts absolutely., 7 Sept. 2014
A very informative oral history of a fascinating band.I finished it in a week and enjoyed it very much.While i enjoyed Zep's bluesey offerings from the first few albums,i found their later stuff too overblown and pretentious for my tastes.So even though i'm not a Zep fanatic,i have no hesitation in recommending this book to any serious rock fan.But for hardcore fans of the band be warned,Page and Bonham are really shown in a shocking light,as they ride roughshod over the sycophantic toadies and countless hangers-on that don't possess the balls to say no and stand up to them.I would dearly love to read an in depth study of Deep Purple thats as entertaining as this book by Barney. 4 stars for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Trampled Underfoot, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warts and all, not just a complimentary review of the bands career. Not afraid to deal with the excess and drug abuse that has been glossed over in other books about zeppelin. Good insite into the developing egos of the indivduals conserned, including Peter Grant & Richard Cole. Not sure I liked the style of a collection of quotes to make up the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very quick download, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampled Under Foot: The Power and Excess of Led Zeppelin (Kindle Edition)
The book was downloaded very fast. Book lives up to all. The reviews as is an excellent read . A plus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Power and Excess, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampled Under Foot: The Power and Excess of Led Zeppelin (Kindle Edition)
The best book on the most successful plagiarists in Rock history-a really good read which lets the participants speak for them selves and gives the reader the room to form their own opinion!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to dip in, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampled Under Foot: The Power and Excess of Led Zeppelin (Kindle Edition)
Quite unusual as really just snippets of conversations transcripted and sorted into chronological order but very readable. Some great insight into the making of the greatest rock band of all time - you know it's true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geat Zep book., 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampled Under Foot: The Power and Excess of Led Zeppelin (Kindle Edition)
If you are a Zep fan then this is an excellent book that catelogues their history as the greatest rock band - warts and all. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ends after 69%, 3 Nov. 2012
By 
Ms.Sally.Norton (Wandsworth, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampled Under Foot: The Power and Excess of Led Zeppelin (Kindle Edition)
Book is well written with great ancedotes in quote form, which some readers may find annoying.
What I found annoying was that after reading 69% of the book it ended.
31% remainder was filled with acknowledgements - very very misleading, I was expecting much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well written, full of great stories from the participants themselves and the best book I have read about the Led Zeppelin story. The closest thing to being there, warts and all. A must read if you are a fan of the band or just a fan of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews