Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be deceived by lukewarm reviews - this one's a cracker
How anyone can give this great album 3 stars is beyond my comprehension. But then again it's all a matter of personal opinion, isn't it..........For me then, "Recycler" is one of my favourites from the grouchy old grandmasters of Tex/Mex howlin' blues/boogie. In fact I like it so much I have a CD for travelling and a vinyl copy for home. Not bad, eh? And I know this lil'...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Marcus Lidell

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 80% dull, 20% brilliant
This album was where things started to look a bit iffy for ZZ Top - despite only being their 4th album in 10 years, and their first for nearly 5, they seem to have been having great difficulty coming up with new material in the second half of the 1980s. And the interesting thing is, they seem to be fully aware of how dull most of the songs on this album are, because the...
Published on 26 Oct. 2006 by freewheeling frankie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be deceived by lukewarm reviews - this one's a cracker, 8 July 2010
By 
Marcus Lidell "attilathehungry" (West Cornwall, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
How anyone can give this great album 3 stars is beyond my comprehension. But then again it's all a matter of personal opinion, isn't it..........For me then, "Recycler" is one of my favourites from the grouchy old grandmasters of Tex/Mex howlin' blues/boogie. In fact I like it so much I have a CD for travelling and a vinyl copy for home. Not bad, eh? And I know this lil' ol' band pretty well after many many years of scaring the neighbours and blowing the roof off our conservatory! (lol) Seriously though folks, this album from the Weirdy Beardy ones is a real scorcher apart from one rather lame track - "Burger Man" - which is just SO American it sucks. And sadly "My Head's In Mississippi" is a bit of a rehash of "La Grange" from the wonderful "Tres Hombres" album. For the rest, however, you will find a terrific selection of fast and not-so-fast boogie, some sensational slow blues stuff ("2000 blues"), and three top-class stand-alone songs: "Concrete And Steel", "Give It Up", and "Doubleback". "Decision Or Collision" is pretty neat too. Honestly this album has it all and the unique tight-but-laid-back style of ZZTop is here in all its rowdy glory. In my opinion there is only one ZZTop album that beats this one and that's "Rhythmeen", which deserves a 5.5 star rating. I was lucky enough to catch the guys in 2003 at the Brixton Academy and apart from the fact that their own song selection was pretty dire (viz. "I'm Bad I'm Nationwide"/"Manic Mechanic" etc.) it was a memorable gig which of course climaxed with a scorching encore of "La Grange". If you're into ZZTop but don't have a copy of "Recycler" do yourself a big favour and hurry out and get one. Or better still just buy a cheapy from Amazon! But don't come moaning to me if you don't like it........and anyway for a couple of quid you're bound to like some of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere between Eliminator and Afterburner, 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
I bought this when it was released, and loved it; whereas "Afterburner" went too far with the synth for my tastes, this is more like the massive "Eliminator", but without quite the same commercial appeal. Back in the 80s and 90s, I often wondered what on earth happened to the real ZZ Top, that "l`il ol` band from Texas". There are some moments here that hark back to their 70s output, like "Tres Hombres" and "Deguello" - "My Head`s In Mississippi" and "2000 Blues" in particular, and just as importantly, their tongue is still stuck firmly in their cheeks ("Penthouse Eyes" and "Burger Man"). Not too much filler, but nothing too breathtaking either, it`s a solid ZZ Top album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 80% dull, 20% brilliant, 26 Oct. 2006
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
This album was where things started to look a bit iffy for ZZ Top - despite only being their 4th album in 10 years, and their first for nearly 5, they seem to have been having great difficulty coming up with new material in the second half of the 1980s. And the interesting thing is, they seem to be fully aware of how dull most of the songs on this album are, because the performances seem to be directly correlated with the quality of the songs - the duller the song, the less interested they sound. But their songwriting well wasn't quite dry and they came up with 2 absolute corkers in the shape of My Head's In Mississippi - a superb slice of 21st century blues - and Burger Man, a full on rocking stomp powered by a sequencer beat and featuring some top notch Billy Gibbons guitar along with highly amusing lyrics. The sad thing is that these two tracks are among the best ZZ Top ever recorded and so you have to buy this otherwise tedious album (the box set, despite containing 7 tracks from Recycler, bafflingly doesn't include Burger Man) in order to acquire them. Most of their subsequent albums are, overall, more entertaining than this one, but none of them (with the possible exception of Rhythmeen) contain anything remotely as good as Burger Man or My Head's In Mississippi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Recycled But Nothing Spectacular, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
I'm currently purchasing a lot of ZZ Top's back catalogue and this was one I'd never heard anything of except "Doubleback". After hearing it, "Doubleback" is probably still the highlight although it's only been a couple of play throughs. I would say that if you enjoyed "Eliminator" and "Afterburner" then you'll like this as it's very much in the same vain however if you're more a fan of the blues style from the 70s which was rekindled from (opinion!) around "Rhythmeen" and beyond then you'll be a little disappointed. Still ok but nothing that jumps out as a sure fire winner here, possibly because they knew themselves that the synth era was coming to a close and it was time to go back to what they did best. Personally I think Antennahead and beyond is better (although I've not heard XXX).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 Oct. 2012
By 
Marton Thomka (Budaörs, Hungary) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
I think this album is very undervalued, for me is much better than Eliminator or Afterburner, here are more rock/blues and less disco music. My favorite is from cd the "My Head's in Missisipi". Not their best but good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
that one word sums everything up.
No need to contact the seller, it arrived early, the packaging as almost pristine.
absolutely no damage to the packaging,
on opening it, the cd jewel case is in perfect order-not a broken piece anywhere,
The Booklet can't have been looked at more than 2 or 3 times,
No rips, tears or even smudged finger prints.
The cd itself is in concourse condition, far better than was said about it.
I have already recommended the seller to a few people.
5 by 5 well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STRONG COMMERCIAL SOUND, 30 April 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
I appreciate why some people may not go for this album, but I love it and have played it dozens of times over the years.

It has a very strong, commercial sound - less blues and more rock, which makes it a catchy set of songs. It all hangs together well.

It's a fun album to listen to and is crowned by Double-back, which is fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but still good., 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
I actually only bought this album for the song " Burger man " the rest are for the die hard fans of ZZ Top, I personally only like the rocky stuff not the blues side of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars zz top rockin, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
this album is one of the best albums you will ever hear 2000 blues is just pure class and then concreate and steel. lovething just fantastic buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bearded brilliance, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycler (Audio CD)
Good to get back to some over the (ZZ) Top driving music for diecerning rockers who needn't always spent all teir time in a darkened room
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Recycler
Recycler by ZZ Top
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews