Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dredd (bluray) us import
Judge Dredd bluray us import
this disc is region free so will play on uk players,the picture and sound are great it leaves the old dvd for dead
i cant understand why no uk disc but its easy to import enjoy
Published 7 months ago by sip

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The box has WIDESCREEN across the top , 2.35:1.
The box has WIDESCREEN across the top , 2.35:1. This is a LIE. In this day and age, just about most people have a WIDESCREEN tv and you'd expect something marked WIDESCREEN would be a perfect fit on a 16:9 TV. Unfortunately this disc is manufactured by MONKEYS who cant tell the difference between 16:9 and 4:3. Honestly the technical ability of the outfit bringing you this...
Published on 27 Jan 2010 by M. Davis


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I recived a german version of the movie :(, 10 July 2011
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I bought used version of Judge Dredd on Amazon.co.uk but I recived a german version of the movie.
There is no english language or audio, only german. I did not know that when I purchased it. It should have been highlighted.
Be aware of that if you wanna buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the judge, the jury and the executioner.Stallone is the Judges Dredd.. He is the law!, 7 April 2012
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
{THE FILM)
There are no more lawyers, no more trials, no more appeals. There is no need: Judge Dredd, the most legendary and feared of the Judges, is the judge, the jury and the executioner. He is the law!
Dredd must face a new danger when the Law itself,
corrupted from within,
frames him for murder.
With the help of Judge Hershey (Diane Lane)
and small-time criminal Fergie (Rob Schneider),
Dredd must battle his way out of trouble and save the city from his ruthless arch enemy Rico.
With non-stop action and spectacular special effects,
WHAT CAN I SAY?
In a way this film was made 10 years too early before the era of "The Matrix" and the wonders of computer-generated special effects
but still looks great with its dated visual effects and the costumes and vehicles are still fantastic!
This movie may not have been as violent as the comics but its still a very cool
The casting is perfect when you think about it, no one else looks more like dredd!
Stallone is the Judges Dredd..
A must own for any Stallone fan
or anyone who loves a classic 90's retro action film
-----------------------------------------------------
====Memorable quotes for====
((((((Judge Dredd )))))))
Judge Hershey: [as her dead partner is being taken away] Dammit! I was supposed to be watching out for him.
Judge Dredd: Don't blame yourself, Hershey, he made the mistake, not you.
Judge Hershey: [exasperated] Wouldn't it feel good to have an emotion once in a while, huh?
Judge Dredd: Emotions... there ought to be a law against them.
----------------------------------------------------
Brisco: Judge Dredd, take cover!
Judge Dredd: They're firing 20 milimetre caseless fletcher rounds at 300 metres. The effective lethal range is 200 metres. You're safe... so what are you doing down there, Judge Hershey?
Judge Hershey: Waiting for backup.
Judge Dredd: It's here.
-----------------------------------------------------
Judge Dredd: Fergie, cover the rear!
Fergee: But I've never fired a gun in my life!
Judge Dredd: What the hell kind of criminal are you?
Fergee: A NICE criminal!
-----------------------------------------------------
Rico: I'm the only one who ever loved you.
Judge Dredd: I'll be the judge of that.
----------------------------------------------------
Judge Dredd: [Dredd has caught Fergee trying to escape inside a servo-droid and is judging him for damaging public property] And you haven't even been out of jail for 24 hours. He's habitual, Hershey. Automatic 5 year sentence. How do you plead?
Fergee: Not guilty?
Judge Dredd: I knew you'd say that.
Fergee: 5 years? No! No! I had no choice! They were killing each other in there!
Judge Dredd: You could have gone out the window.
Fergee: 40 floors? It would have been suicide!
Judge Dredd: Maybe, but it's legal.
-----------------------------------------------------
only one thing left to say?

"..I AM... THE LAW!!.."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the recent Dredd, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of Stallone s better efforts. Action all the way and great special effects. Much better then the souless recent remake. German import easy to find English version. Good blu ray transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I am the law!", 18 April 2012
By 
LoBo (BodÝ, Norway) - See all my reviews
This film is pretty similar to Demoltion Man. I think it`s a poorer than Demolition Man. I think it has some good action scenes. Sylvester Stallone does that funny thing with his mouth when he says I am the law!.

Picture quality: 4/5

I remember the quality was good and nothing wrong with it. Good sharpness and details.

Audio quality: 4/5

I did find it good and no flaws.

Film: 3.5/5
Overall: 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a good film...., 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I first saw this film after reading the 2000AD comics for years. This probably gave me a slightly buiased view of how i interperited it. (not in a good way though) I found that it seemed to lack any similarity to the comic series at all. liniarity was way off and Sylvester stallone is hardly the man to play Dredd. And am i the only one who noticed that Dredd's "clone" looked nothing like him at all??? Aside from that though I really liked it. The effects were likesome neo-manga creation and were'nt far off for the atmosphere. The storyline was good (although a compilation of a lot of the original stories).
In short, if you have never read the comic, you will like this. If you have, i wouldn't recommend it. I get the feel that, when they wrote this film, a group of people with no previous experience of judge dredd, had sat down for a few hours with a bunch of comics and pieced something together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SENSATIONAL and SPLENDID performance and delivery., 14 Mar 2013
By 
Sean Curtin (Warners Bay, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judge Dredd [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Everyone has heard it and what a bunch of wingers a lot of Dredd fans are.

Well I for one have been a 2000AD fan for a very long time. There were far more stories than just Judge Dredd and while I liked Judge Dredd, there was another great series called 'ABC WARRIORS', this movie featured one of those robots and that in itself was worth the entire movie for me.

Now back to Dredd, yes he takes his helmet off, SO WHAT. In the comics, yes Dredd never takes it off(to the point he's even in the bath tub in one adventure with his helmet on), SO WHAT!!!!

This doesn't detract from the movie at all. I had nothing wrong with the story, they even managed to sandwhich in the cannibalistic brothers featuring mean machine.

Seriously, this movie took as much from the 2000AD comics as it could and sandwiched it into a single block buster movie. Yes, I too would have liked a 3 hour epic featuring more story, but what story there was, was terrific. I honestly don't understand what fans were winging about.

Stallone was magnificient as Dredd and did a great job. What people have to understand is that Judge Dredd is an acquired taste and not for everyone. The movie aimed to open up the movie to more than just Judge Dredd fans and do so it did. (As proof, the recent movie featuring Carl Urban who didn't remove his helmet only made $36.5 Million with a cost of $45 Million at the box office), in comparison, this movie at least made $113 483 481, for a cost of $90 Million. So perhaps Judge Dredd fans are not the best source of funding for Dredd movies and may just have to deal with Dredd taking off his helmet if that helps to promote a movie.

The story was great and I liked it's told on the run nature. Honestly I don't understand what people expected. It's an action film and there's more than enough outlaid to make the story work. The truth is that a lot of people wanted it to be 'EXACTLY' like the comic book, which in a lot of ways it was. They concentrated more on the details instead of going along for the ride and enjoying it.

Sylvestor himself is a Judge Dredd fan and I thought he did an excellent job with the character.

Terrific movie, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OOPS, 19 Sep 2007
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Judge Dredds shoulder pads would leave the cast of Dynasty breathless.

The film is an arse quite frankly. The special effects budget should have been backed up by what they call in the film business, a STORYLINE. What weak story there is is acted woodenly. Stick with the comics !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dredd-ful, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Judge Dredd adapted from a mean, dark & underground comic book character from the future is thrust into this campy Hollywoodised nonsense.

Only the uniform & motorcycles look loyal to the comics, none of the dialogue or characters are believable but above all this film either ignores the atmospheric grit of the comic books or just portrays it badly.

Stallone overacts in the role to a campy extent, casting him as Dredd would be like casting Jim Carrey as The Crow. And what the hell is Rob Schneider doing here? Other than providing ineffective comic relief?

Let's hope one day that a director of someone like Christopher Nolan or Jon Favreau can make a Judge Dredd movie worthy of its origins, because fans of the Judge Dredd comics will be very disappointed with this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low grade sci-fi shooter, 16 Sep 2008
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This has some very entertaining moments but overall it's a mess. There are some great sequences and good special effects, but this is a very sloppy film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very strong argument for not doing comic book adaptations., October 15, 2001, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
To be honest, I don't remember a lot about this movie, but everything I do remember is painful. It's been years since the last time I saw it, and I've only seen it once (that was enough for a life time, trust me). My friend recommended it to me just for laughs - it's that bad. The settings are from taken straight from the pages of a bad comic book, which is understandable as it is based off a bad comic book. The acting, well, if you want to call that acting, is pretty puerile. Stallone's delivery of his lines come across as pathetic and laughable when they're supposed to be serious, like many of Schwarzenegger's lines. The one thing Schwarzenegger has going for him is his dry wit works. With Stallone's, there is nothing to admire on this one.

This B movie takes everything from superiour films (BLADE RUNNER, STAR WARS, TOTAL RECALL, etc) and then throws them into a very poorly conceived mixture which not only does it not gel it doesn't even leave much of an imprint in your mind, other than that of pain. Everything about this movie is ludicrous and overdone, and the Amazon review of this hits the nail on the head. For those looking for a good movie, look elsewhere. For those looking for a gut-busting laugh at how bad movies can get, you've come to the right place.

P. S. As for what the DVD adds, I'm not sure. Whatever it is, it can't be good. Who really cares about bonus features with the film's as bad as this? It's just more time to waste when you could be doing something productive . . . like staring at potatoes or grooming your nose hairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import]
Judge Dredd [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import] by Sylvester Stallone (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews