Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab bag book
This is a wonderful book absolutely packed with fabulous ideas for making bags. It contains 19 smart and stylish projects, with fairly simple patterns, suitable for beginners through to more advanced sewists. Instructions are straightforward and supported by clear images. If, like me, you are a visual learner who prefers to see how to do things, rather than read...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by secondoffour

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book
I have given this bag only 2 stars because it was below my expectations. This is a basic manual for a beginner to bag making which did not include any new ideas. The bags themselves were all very similar in design and to me it was only the bright colours of the fabric used which made any impact. I expected more innovative designs and styles from a book of this price...
Published 13 months ago by Jenny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab bag book, 13 Mar 2012
This is a wonderful book absolutely packed with fabulous ideas for making bags. It contains 19 smart and stylish projects, with fairly simple patterns, suitable for beginners through to more advanced sewists. Instructions are straightforward and supported by clear images. If, like me, you are a visual learner who prefers to see how to do things, rather than read instructions, this book will suit you well.
The first section of the book gives basic sewing information and teaches some of the skills needed for bag making such as inserting magnetic snaps, making pockets and making piping. It also gives advice on choosing fabrics and working with colour.
The main part of the book contains 19 patterns, divided into three sections; small bags, clutches and large bags. Projects range from pencil cases and wallets to smart school bags and elegant clutches. The bags are all beautifully photographed and Sue Kim has used stylish modern fabrics to create some stunning bags. I especially liked the way each project is shown in a variety of different colours and sizes providing plenty of inspiration for fabric and colour choices.
In the interests of providing an unbiased and accurate review (and not at all because I am obsessed with making bags) I tried out the Market bag pattern using some lovely Loulouthi velveteen I had stashed. The pattern was well drafted and the instructions clear and simple to follow. Being a bit taller than average I lengthen the straps and was delighted with the result. I like big bags and the finished Market bag was roomy and comfortable to carry.
If you have a few sewing projects under your belt I would highly recommend this book. Beginners with some experience could probably attempt some of the simpler projects. There is plenty for the intermediate to advanced sewists too. The bags look fantastic, the fabrics are modern and stylish and this book will provide plenty of inspiration for sewing projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 19 great styles, 11 Feb 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Just because a girl can never have too many handbags - this book is fab. Subtitled Clutches, hobos, satchels and more, you'll be sure to find several patterns to satisfy your handbag hunger. Chapters are split into small bags, clutches and large bags. There are 19 pattens in all from pencil cases and sunglasses cases to carryalls. Great clear instructions and good quality photos make this book a breeze to use. The pattens are split into skill levels, so this book is for all kinds of stitchers from beginner up. I love the 'Betty wallet' and the 'Veronica day bag' as well as the 'Sweet Annemarie bag.' Stylish and contemporary, this book has something for everyone. Patterns are included. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has lots of modern, colourful and sophisticated bags. I have the bag books by Amy Butler, Lisa Lam and Tanya Whelan and this one contains the most number of bags I liked - the designs are not fussy and the fabric choices are really nice (I recognised Echino and Amy Butler). It's probably not great for a complete beginner because it's really slim on techniques and hardly explains anything at all about interfacing, or how to do zip or pocket insertion etc (for that kind of thing, the Lisa Lam book seems to be the best). But it's a beautiful book to look at, very inspiring and the bags are not that challenging to make once you've made a couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beutifull, 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
beautifull bags and excelent explanations, i've already done 4 :) but i want to do them all ( sorry my bad english i'm portuguese)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book, 28 July 2013
By 
Jenny (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have given this bag only 2 stars because it was below my expectations. This is a basic manual for a beginner to bag making which did not include any new ideas. The bags themselves were all very similar in design and to me it was only the bright colours of the fabric used which made any impact. I expected more innovative designs and styles from a book of this price.

The instructions were clear however and patterns were included so I am sure sewing novices would be the target customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Nov 2012
This is a great book with lots of modern designs, plenty of lovely bags to choose from and ideas to tweak them and make variations. Patterns at first glance seemed complicated to me but by following the simple instructions from the text they are simple to use. Very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clutch bag review, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book!I have already made two of the bags and am delighted with the outcome. The instructions are very clear, the pattern pieces fit together well, and the result is beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - modern styles and good photography, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very pleased with this book. It has a range of modern bags, from very large to small, with simple instructions and helpful tips that even a seasoned bag maker might find useful. The patterns are on a tear out section at the back of the book and could be photocopied, if you like to keep your patterns in pristine condition.
I feel that many of the bags in this book will appeal to younger people, from teenagers upwards and I look forward to extending my range with a number of projects from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do not buy Kindle version, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bags--The Modern Classics: Clutches, Hobos, Satchels & More (Kindle Edition)
Kindle edition the book has great designs instructions look clear but refer you to patterns since there are no patterns in kindle edition the book is a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bags of style, 27 Dec 2011
This book has some simple but effective bag designs and shapes. The instructions are easy to follow and best of all the patterns are all "Actual Size", so no annoying enlarging on the photocopier. I have made several bags from this book and have been pleased with the results. For anyone interested in making stylish but useful handbags this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews