Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The girl from New York
A debut novel, a sort of thriller but more a passage of time in the company of some strange characters. I confess to having to find a map to see where the action was taking place. Apart from the Bering Straits, I had never heard of all the other outlying places in Russia, so that, in itself, was interesting.

The title suggests this is more about the boy but,...
Published 19 months ago by Michael Watson

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glad it was a daily deal
Much as I loved the sound of this book, and some of the other feedback gave it glowing reviews, I just could not get into this. Thats not to say I did not finish it but I found it hard to distinguish characters with such similar names.

The 1 or 2 chapters that dealt with the chase across the globe did get nice and involving but sorry, the rest of it did...
Published 13 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It's a good read to have between reads that you really want. Beyond belief in some parts, absolutely farcical in others, but as a read, I guess, it's a lot better than some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you can persevere through the beginning of this book you will be devouring this unusual thriller.
The plot twists and turns and has an excellent pace.
If you are looking for a change from the usual murder mystery genre to something with a similar level of intrigue this is certainly worth a look.
The characters are likeable without having huge drawn out back stories which can be tedious and get in the way of the plot and the particularly the pace of the book. I don't always need to know what their hair/eyes/soul matches to know if they are going to solve the mystery.
I would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising blurb, but unfortunately didn't fufill the promise, 22 Aug 2013
By 
John M "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a thriller beginning in New York City, with a mysterious character meeting Nadia, a Ukranian ex-patriate, urging her to find a long lost uncle and a boy from Chernobyl indicating that untold riches and the fate of the free-world are at stake. After a chase caper across Kiev and Siberia we discover that neither are true. It is described as "keeping the reader guessing until the final heart-stopping page."
Well, it doesn't. By this time we are well aware that it is all a bit of a shaggy-dog story, and the attempted twist on the final page is totally unconvincing.
It did start off quite promisingly, but soon got bogged down and the thin plotting showed through. The writing was too cut around in a series of very short chapters, and the book too long for the story to support. Frankly the middle and end are a little tedious, and it would benefit from a good editor. The Russian gangsters were caricatures with very little depth.
I was hoping for a tightly plotted thriller, but both the plotting and the writing were disappointing. I was glad to finish it and move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The boy from reactor 4, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Won't say too much about the plot as don't want to spoil it. A free book with a different setting from my usual reads. A quite gentle thriller with a twist at the end wanting you to read more. Found the marginal characters a bit confusing to keep up with who was working for who, they seemed to switch sides a lot. However a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was this originally written in another language?, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was a punishing read. And not in a good way. The plotting -- particularly at the start of the book -- is confusing in the extreme. And the writing is so stilted I actually went back to the beginning to see who was responsible for the translation. (No one aparently: it was actually written that way in English.) On the plus side, the middle section which dealt with the heroine's visit to Chernobyl was good, with graphic descriptions of the long term effects on people and property of a devastating nuclear disaster.

That said, I had to force myself through the remaining interminable chapters, following the (highly unlikely) exploits of a group of two-dimensional characters as they chased each other around the dismal landscapes of Ukraine and Siberia. So far, so not very uplifting. I persevered to the bitter end, literally forcing myself to read on, because surely, I felt, this book has GOT to get better, or how did it get so many plaudits from so many other reviewers. I still can't work that one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad??, 30 July 2013
By 
margesimpson "wifi" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
this book has a hook that will always pull me in , a story loosly based in fact and areas of the world we have come to know through disaster, chernobyl is one of them ,i was a teenager when the meldown happened and remember the footage on tv, this is a great mystery/puzzle book .clues at the begginning later unfold ,it is a little slow in places but still worth the read , and is both interesting and entertaining . i would recomend you give it a go if the blurb interests you , i liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Boy from Reactor 4, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good start followed by an improbable long, long middle and a happy but equally unlikely ending. Best forgotten unless desperate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brooding thriller with an unusual twist & dark atmosphere., 23 Jun 2013
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What I enjoyed most about this novel was the unusual setting of the Ukraine mixed in with the horror of Chernobyl. Makes for a dark and atmospheric background against which to set this cat and mouse/thriller.

Nadia is the main character and she's quite a typical blend of fighting, surviving, smart mouthed, tough cookie popular at the moment. The plot kicks off with Nadia searching for clues about her father. Just at the point Nadia believes she's getting somewhere towards solving that particular mystery her contact is murdered right in front of her. That's the incident which acts as a catalyst for all kinds of action sequences/chases spinning the reader from New York to the Ukraine.

Unfortunately, at around the half way mark, the novel seems to lose it's central plot and becomes a helter skelter of mystery, movement and action with too much going on. Events and characters become random, the plot loses some credibility and the whole thing becomes more and more difficult to take seriously.

I particularly didn't like the revelation of Nadia's previous involvement with the FBI, I had to suspend too much belief to stay with that, although it does allow the character of the 'noble gangster' Victor to enter into the frame and a criminal gang element to spin off.

Ultimately; the central theme becomes no more than a chase to gain possession of a piece of microfilm containing an important and secret formula though there's a good deal of money swindling along the journey.

Without a doubt The Boy from Reactor 4 is much more about action, chase sequences and pace rather than careful character and plot development. Nothing wrong with that in general except the plot loses out on depth, believability, and it becomes difficult for the reader to empathise with the characters.

The first half of the novel is worth 3.5 stars rather than just a flat 3. The second half I seriously didn't enjoy and 3 stars is more than enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story ..., 7 Jun 2013
By 
J. Marriage (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
.. with a twist at the end. Good thriller with a sense of humour, well written. I shall look out for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracker of a book, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A superb read with a twist in the tale. The story kept me riveted for hours on a recent holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews