Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars opal fire - twice read already!
I read this book twice before considering a review.
yes it is a little light and fluffy but thats what makes it work so well.
stacy and cinnamon work well together and the aunts are so much fun.
the storyline could easily gone much deeper and darker but would the comedy have worked then?
a good mix for a fun but interesting read.
Published on 29 Aug. 2012 by Caroline

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely intriguing
I came across this book by accident,I was pleasantly surprised by the characters and the plot.this is not the type of book I would normally choose,but for an easy read I would recommend it.
Published 18 months ago by Fugie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars opal fire - twice read already!, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Caroline "Nose stuck in a book at every oppor... (Godalming, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book twice before considering a review.
yes it is a little light and fluffy but thats what makes it work so well.
stacy and cinnamon work well together and the aunts are so much fun.
the storyline could easily gone much deeper and darker but would the comedy have worked then?
a good mix for a fun but interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this tale of a white witch with a nose for trouble..., 27 April 2013
By 
Petra just a girl who loves to read... "book ... (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Opal Fire by Barbra Annino for me was a wonderful mainly because of the very colourful characters especially the main one Stacy Justice. Stacy narrates throughout the book and I was constantly giggling throughout especially when Stacy was throwing her one liners which she had a particular gift for. This was not her only gift as she was the treasured granddaughter and niece of the Geraghty sisters, she always knew that there was a chance of inheriting their gift of being a Witch and during this book the sisters decided not really giving an option to say no she was just going to be like them.
As we follow Stacy dealing with the visions she sees as she tries to find out who burned down her cousin and best friend Cinnamon's place of work namely The Opal which she also owned and that was her bar which happens when we first enter the book and which also explains the title of the book. There is also another mystery within the arson of The Opal as when the investigation is being taken place and they soon realise the fire was set deliberately plus a dead body was hidden in one of the walls which has been there for well over twenty years. The body causes a lot of questions for Stacy as she is determined as she does her job of investigating the fire as her main job is a journalist which she takes very seriuosly.
As we follow Stacy accompanied by her trusty side-kick Thor who just happened to be a rather large Great Dane who Stacy loved and Thor equally adored and loved his master and woe to the person who tries to hurt Stacy when he was about as for a rather large dog he could move with speed and accuracy.
I loved this book from beginning to end and it is one of those books you will be able to finish in one evening but for me it was a perfect way of passing an evening as from page one I was entertained throughout. As we follow Stacy as she gets in so many scrapes as she seeks out the truth in her very unusual way making a few enemies along the way as she tries to keep control of her very mad but very adorable Aunts and Grandmother while also dealing with her Grandfather's love-life this book is full of action throughout.
I would recommend The Opal Fire by Barbra Annino to anyone who likes a book which is full of fun and action but one which is not meant to be taken very serious.
This is the first book in the series, the full series so far is,
1. Opal Fire
2.Bloodstone (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book Two)
3.Tiger's Eye (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book Three)
4.Emerald Isle (A Stacy Justice Mystery) published July 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely intriguing, 18 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I came across this book by accident,I was pleasantly surprised by the characters and the plot.this is not the type of book I would normally choose,but for an easy read I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opal Fire, 25 Sept. 2011
"Opal Fire" is a mystery with a touch of paranormal. It also has the qualities of the best chick lit, without actually being chick lit. Before I run off any men who would rather read a cereal box than chick lit, give me a chance to explain that last sentence before you leave.

My working definition of chick lit was provided to me by author Donna Fasano. She says it is, "a female protagonist and her personal (and usually foible-filled) journey toward self-understanding and self-acceptance." Stacy may gain some self-understanding or self-acceptance on her journey to solving the mystery, but, if so, it is a very small part of the story. It does seem foible-filled, which along with some funny descriptions and dialogue gives the story some humor, much more like chick lit than a typical mystery. For example, I liked this description of Stacy's cousin:

"His voice was chipper. Cinnamon hated chipper. She wrapped Chipper up in duct tape, pounded nails into it and used it to beat the crap out of Perky."

But let's not forget, this is a mystery. The mystery plot keeps you guessing. A few subplots tie in well to the main story , and are entertaining in their own right. And the humor and quirky characters will keep you laughing.

**Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Journalistic Witch :), 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This series must be read in order. This is the first book.

A reluctant witch who doubts her powers and is a journalist...What more could you want? Mystery and mayhem seem to follow Stacy wherever she goes... much to her dismay.

This book is a mishmash of many genres and I adore that :) Instead of a coming of age it is a coming into power scenario laced with intrigue and action and adventure set in a world that could very well be our own . Unlike a lot of modern fantasy there is no strain to believe Stacy and Cinnamon are the girls you grew up with. She knows her heritage but does not really believe she has any real power of her own even though she knows magic exists.

I can't wait to read the next book Bloodstone (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book Two) and I honestly hope the author continues to write this series for a long time to come :)

***This series is suitable for adult readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed this it is easy to read and deals with characters who are believable in a very different sort of setting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sassy, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was quite lightweight, but such good fun to read. I liked Stacey Justice and her sassy humour whilst in the thick of danger. There was just enough 'witchiness' included so the story kept its integrity. I was intrigued with the revelation at the end, but because that's where the book ended I found it a little frustrating. I wanted the whole thing to be a stand alone book, but if I want to find out more I have to buy Book Two. Will I do that? I'll think about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and fun....., 12 April 2014
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Stacy Justice is a journalist.....and a witch....This tells the story of how she is nearly burnt to death and must try to find a killer....as well as try to keep her boyfriend happy and her aunts from driving her nuts!....An easy and enjoyable read......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Gripping read,
Well thought out characters and a good story line
Very much looking forward to download ing book 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I would normally read, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opal Fire (A Stacy Justice Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Found this book rather enjoyable , looking forward to the next one when I need some lighter reading , also has a recipe at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews