Customer Reviews


2,268 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,746)
4 star:
 (392)
3 star:
 (82)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


434 of 442 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon have listened to customers in some respects
This cover provides neat, close-fitting protection for your Kindle. The Kindle slots into a moulded plastic tray at the back of the case, with nothing intruding onto the device itself. A section at the bottom of the Kindle is left exposed to allow permanent access to the micro USB port. The front cover is thin and lacks additional padding, but 12 months of carrying a baby...
Published 18 months ago by Seren Ade

versus
99 of 118 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not completely sure that it's worth the money
I have the persimmon cover for my new Kindle and I must say that I like the colour immensely. It is less orangy that it appears in the picture and even has a slight tinge of pink. Almost impossible to describe. It is really nice to have a cover that it is an unusual colour and not just bog standard red, black or blue.

The kindle slots in easily enough to a sort...
Published 17 months ago by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 2227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

434 of 442 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon have listened to customers in some respects, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cover provides neat, close-fitting protection for your Kindle. The Kindle slots into a moulded plastic tray at the back of the case, with nothing intruding onto the device itself. A section at the bottom of the Kindle is left exposed to allow permanent access to the micro USB port. The front cover is thin and lacks additional padding, but 12 months of carrying a baby Kindle around in a case with a similar-style cover has resulted in no harm, so I'm reasonably confident in the protection this will provide.

The leather is textured and has been applied as a surface covering to both the front section of the cover and the plastic tray at the rear. The leather doesn't have the lovely, soft tactile sensation that went with Amazon's Kindle Keyboard covers but doesn't seem to mark as easily as the Amazon leather covers for the baby Kindle/Kindle Touch models (a fingernail is enough to leave a permanent scrape on those). The purple colourway I ordered is disappointing - much darker than product photos suggest.

The cover bends back easily enough for one handed reading, but the 'spine' section on the latest version of the Amazon brand cover does seem to have been reinforced, so that it doesn't flop awkwardly backwards if you prefer to hold the cover two-handed. The microfibre lining of the interior is very shallow-piled and resembles black denim.

The biggest problem I had with the last generation of Amazon cases - the lack of closing mechanism - has been addressed here, courtesy of a lightweight magnet. This works simply, engaging when you shut the cover, and requires no extra fiddling.

The cover isn't cheap, but is comparable in price to cases currently offered by Verso and Marware. The auto wake/auto switch off facility this brings to Kindle usage is what really sets the Amazon cover apart from competitors - all that's needed to wake your charged Kindle is to open the cover... It's a nice idea, but not one I'm altogether convinced by since turning a Kindle on/off by flicking a switch really isn't that onerous!

The cover is presented in a printed cardboard sleeve: if you're planning to make this (part of) a present, this is a much more attractive set-up than the simple plastic bags in which the Amazon covers for Kindle/Kindle Touch arrive.

PROS

- Cover has an inbuilt closing mechanism
- Lightweight and snug-fitting
- Textured leather doesn't mark ridiculously easily
- Includes auto wake/switch off facility

CONS

- Feels a bit hard and plastic-ey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


298 of 318 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous - protects and looks good, 29 Dec 2012
By 
James Miller (Durham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 0:58 Mins

The new cover seems to add as little bulk as possible to the Kindle, whilst protecting it and looking smart. The Paperwhite lighting means the bulk needed for a light in previous covers (eg the Sony) is no longer impeding easy use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


212 of 231 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, Slim, Functional but Pricey., 26 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had a few Kindles and have always bought the official cover, despite the fact that cheaper alternatives are always available, mainly because Amazon have unerringly supplied me with quality products and the official covers have usually had some form of extra functionality.

In previous covers this has been provided by the built-in lights in the cover, but this time, as the Paperwhite has its own light, the cover automatically sleeps and wakes the Kindle as you close and open the case. And I have to admit that, while it's not exactly difficult or time-consuming simply pressing the button on the Kindle, it's a little touch that adds just a little bit more joy to using the Kindle.

The cover itself is very slim, fits the Kindle perfectly and looks neat and smart sat on your desk or bedside table. The front is ever so slightly padded and the brushed metal accent of the magnetic clasp adds to the appeal and seems to keep the cover reasonably securely closed, as long as you don't wave your Kindle in the air. The texture of the leather reminds me somewhat of some old leathery library books that sat on the shelves at my school and evokes feelings of quality and learnedness.

At the end of the day it's a cover, so there's nothing to lose any sleep over, but what it does it does well and it's certainly a quality product.

Marked down by one star as it's probably a tenner too expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty title about book covers and judging, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A piece of advice I was given was roughly along the lines of "once you've bought something you forget the price". This is quite an expensive cover when you weigh up the price of the Kindle it will be holding. However, it will either make or break the experience of using your Kindle once you have bought it. This is what I thought - why buy a premium eReader and then stick it in a sub-standard case? Having seen many of the cheaper cases, up to and including ones for around 20, the quality of this one is very apparent. As you would expect, it fits the Paperwhite perfectly, with nothing obscuring the device like the straps in each corner found on cheaper cases. This makes it much smaller and slimmer too than similar products. The materials are lovely, and the detailing of the Kindle logo inside the front cover and the clasp really give it a touch of class. Aside from looking and feeling nice, I'm sure it would protect the device very well from most accidents or the rough and tumble of being thrown in a bag etc. When using the Kindle it is unobtrusive and is equally as nice to use open as it is with the front cover folded back behind the device. My only gripe with it when folded back is that the clasp can sometime feel a bit awkward depending on where your fingers lie. The auto sleep-wake feature works really well and allows for an authentic book reading experience of picking the Kindle up, opening the cover and starting to read without having to press any buttons or choose items on screen. Same goes when you've finished, just close the cover and the Kindle goes into sleep mode automatically. Overall it is expensive, but I feel well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Fit!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have now 3 paperwhites in our household and have covers for all three. Thi cover is by far the best fit and most sleek. It is fantastic. Somehow it makes it look smaller. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've tried the rest but this is the best., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have had numerous cheaper cases for my Kindle Paperwhite that I purchased from both online sellers and retail outlets. This official Kindle cover is a lot more expensive than some other products but was definitely worth investing the extra money. It is much sturdier, the "spine" isn't floppy when the cover is folded back for one handed reading and the embossed leather cover doesn't scratch. It does not have a hand strap which isn't a problem to me but may deter some potential buyers. The magnetic catch is good quality and activates the sleep/wake function. All in all a great product although a bit pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addon, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have to protect your new kindle.
Perfectly fit and very lightweight.
The cover closes with a magnet that is strong enough to remain closed during transport or handling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Leather Cover, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely cover. Protects my Kindle and makes it look more like a book. Very useful feature that shuts the Kindle down when closing the cover but starts up again when opened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome case!, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This case for the Kindle PaperWhite is arguably, one of the best on the market.

*PLUS POINTS*
-Very nice design and finish
-Automatically wakes and sleeps the PW when opened and closed, respectively
-Has a magnetic closure
-Sturdy construction, providing protection
-Spine bends all the way back (for single-handed reading)
-Access to on/off button and usb charging slot

*NEGATIVE POINTS*
-Textured leather is not very smooth (may be a plus or minus point, depending on your preferences)
-More costly than competitors (but you get what you pay for...)

In conclusion, there are cheaper alternatives on the market. However, this case will got he extra mile and keep your new PW safe and secure, as well as look stylish. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leather cover for Kindle Paperwhite, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This leather cover for the Kindle Paperwhite is an excellent product, well made and an elegant design. It is slender enough to fit easily in my handbag so the Paperwhite is always with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

Only search this product's reviews