Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


612 of 625 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon have listened to customers in some respects
This cover provides neat, close-fitting protection for your Kindle. The Kindle slots into a moulded plastic tray at the back of the case, with nothing intruding onto the device itself. A section at the bottom of the Kindle is left exposed to allow permanent access to the micro USB port. The front cover is thin and lacks additional padding, but 12 months of carrying a baby...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Seren Ade

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looks great, feels...
The cover looks great though it doesn't feel as good in my hands. Maybe I had high expectations but for £30.99, I wouldn't say it was value for money.
Published on 25 Oct. 2012 by Bhavik Dhokia


‹ Previous | 1 2429 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

612 of 625 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon have listened to customers in some respects, 23 Oct. 2012
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cover provides neat, close-fitting protection for your Kindle. The Kindle slots into a moulded plastic tray at the back of the case, with nothing intruding onto the device itself. A section at the bottom of the Kindle is left exposed to allow permanent access to the micro USB port. The front cover is thin and lacks additional padding, but 12 months of carrying a baby Kindle around in a case with a similar-style cover has resulted in no harm, so I'm reasonably confident in the protection this will provide.

The leather is textured and has been applied as a surface covering to both the front section of the cover and the plastic tray at the rear. The leather doesn't have the lovely, soft tactile sensation that went with Amazon's Kindle Keyboard covers but doesn't seem to mark as easily as the Amazon leather covers for the baby Kindle/Kindle Touch models (a fingernail is enough to leave a permanent scrape on those). The purple colourway I ordered is disappointing - much darker than product photos suggest.

The cover bends back easily enough for one handed reading, but the 'spine' section on the latest version of the Amazon brand cover does seem to have been reinforced, so that it doesn't flop awkwardly backwards if you prefer to hold the cover two-handed. The microfibre lining of the interior is very shallow-piled and resembles black denim.

The biggest problem I had with the last generation of Amazon cases - the lack of closing mechanism - has been addressed here, courtesy of a lightweight magnet. This works simply, engaging when you shut the cover, and requires no extra fiddling.

The cover isn't cheap, but is comparable in price to cases currently offered by Verso and Marware. The auto wake/auto switch off facility this brings to Kindle usage is what really sets the Amazon cover apart from competitors - all that's needed to wake your charged Kindle is to open the cover... It's a nice idea, but not one I'm altogether convinced by since turning a Kindle on/off by flicking a switch really isn't that onerous!

The cover is presented in a printed cardboard sleeve: if you're planning to make this (part of) a present, this is a much more attractive set-up than the simple plastic bags in which the Amazon covers for Kindle/Kindle Touch arrive.

PROS

- Cover has an inbuilt closing mechanism
- Lightweight and snug-fitting
- Textured leather doesn't mark ridiculously easily
- Includes auto wake/switch off facility

CONS

- Feels a bit hard and plastic-ey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


296 of 311 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty title about book covers and judging, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A piece of advice I was given was roughly along the lines of "once you've bought something you forget the price". This is quite an expensive cover when you weigh up the price of the Kindle it will be holding. However, it will either make or break the experience of using your Kindle once you have bought it. This is what I thought - why buy a premium eReader and then stick it in a sub-standard case? Having seen many of the cheaper cases, up to and including ones for around £20, the quality of this one is very apparent. As you would expect, it fits the Paperwhite perfectly, with nothing obscuring the device like the straps in each corner found on cheaper cases. This makes it much smaller and slimmer too than similar products. The materials are lovely, and the detailing of the Kindle logo inside the front cover and the clasp really give it a touch of class. Aside from looking and feeling nice, I'm sure it would protect the device very well from most accidents or the rough and tumble of being thrown in a bag etc. When using the Kindle it is unobtrusive and is equally as nice to use open as it is with the front cover folded back behind the device. My only gripe with it when folded back is that the clasp can sometime feel a bit awkward depending on where your fingers lie. The auto sleep-wake feature works really well and allows for an authentic book reading experience of picking the Kindle up, opening the cover and starting to read without having to press any buttons or choose items on screen. Same goes when you've finished, just close the cover and the Kindle goes into sleep mode automatically. Overall it is expensive, but I feel well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


491 of 528 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous - protects and looks good, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
Durham James (Durham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 0:58 Mins

The new cover seems to add as little bulk as possible to the Kindle, whilst protecting it and looking smart. The Paperwhite lighting means the bulk needed for a light in previous covers (eg the Sony) is no longer impeding easy use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great cover, shame about the colour representation, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having upgraded from Kindle to Kindle paperwhite, I thought it would be wise to protect my new product.I like to look after my 'stuff'. I must say that when my package arrived early and in great shape, I was disappointed with the colour of my Case. (Electric purple)It's actually quite a dark,dull purple. I thought that the wrong one had been sent. However, I know it does the same job so I have kept it. Wish I had ordered the fuschia one. Just beware if colour is important to you. Otherwise all is fab and I am really enjoying my new paperwhite...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good protection without adding too much bulk, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
EllyBlue (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Leather Cover, Ink Blue (Accessory)
The "official" Amazon cover for the Paperwhite Kindle almost completely encases the device (leaving just a small gap at the bottom for access to the power switch and USB connector), without adding too much bulk to it. I would feel quite confident about putting this into a bag safe in the knowledge that my Kindle was well-protected. This is a definite improvement on the old Kindle Keyboard cases, which left three edges of the device exposed. The back is a hard, shell like structure. You can see the edges of it around the Paperwhite when it's in place, so this is something to be aware of if you think you'll be distracted by a persimmon coloured border. (I've gone for the ink blue which is dark enough not be distract me). The leather finish is grained like the old Kindle Keyboard covers, which I think will wear better than the smoother covers Amazon designed for the Kindle 4. It's quite tight to get the Paperwhite in, and once there, it fits snuggly. It won't fall out. The front of the cover is slightly more supple, but not soft, and it protects the screen well, particularly because it is held closed by a magnet. The interior fabric grey lining is unobtrusive and soft enough not to cause any concerns. I like the fact that opening/closing the cover wakes/sends the Paperwhite to sleep, a bit like the iPad smart covers. As another reviewer has noted, it's hardly onerous to press the power button, but it's a nice feature nonetheless. All in all, I'm pleased with this case. You end up paying quite a lot for the official Amazon covers, but this one does seem particularly well thought through, so I'm pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive, but you get what you pay for, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Paperwhite Kindle fits snugly inside the case, not too tightly but tight enough for it not to fall out. The front and back is a leather-type material which looks and feels very nice. The front is not thick enough to prevent it bending in onto the screen if you press hard against it or drop something heavy on it, but it's most definitely strong enough to resist scratches or light bumps, say sat in a rucksack rattling around. There is a rubber strip running around the outside so the Kindle is completely encased.

The lock mechanism works pretty well. It doesn't seem all that secure but if you hold it upside down by the sides, the front stays put thanks to the magnetic clasp. What I still think is neat is the switching on and off as you open and close the case. I have not used the Kindle long enough but I am sure this only helps extend the battery life when not in use.

The front cover flips over like the front cover of a magazine. It's easy to hold with one hand, with the cover flipped back on itself, or with the cover half-open. Either works well.

It's over-priced in my opinion for what it is but I'm glad I bought it and recommend it if you're looking for a decent case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


279 of 316 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, Slim, Functional but Pricey., 26 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Leather Cover, Ink Blue (Accessory)
I've had a few Kindles and have always bought the official cover, despite the fact that cheaper alternatives are always available, mainly because Amazon have unerringly supplied me with quality products and the official covers have usually had some form of extra functionality.

In previous covers this has been provided by the built-in lights in the cover, but this time, as the Paperwhite has its own light, the cover automatically sleeps and wakes the Kindle as you close and open the case. And I have to admit that, while it's not exactly difficult or time-consuming simply pressing the button on the Kindle, it's a little touch that adds just a little bit more joy to using the Kindle.

The cover itself is very slim, fits the Kindle perfectly and looks neat and smart sat on your desk or bedside table. The front is ever so slightly padded and the brushed metal accent of the magnetic clasp adds to the appeal and seems to keep the cover reasonably securely closed, as long as you don't wave your Kindle in the air. The texture of the leather reminds me somewhat of some old leathery library books that sat on the shelves at my school and evokes feelings of quality and learnedness.

At the end of the day it's a cover, so there's nothing to lose any sleep over, but what it does it does well and it's certainly a quality product.

Marked down by one star as it's probably a tenner too expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Luxury Leather Cover for the Amazon Kindle Paperwhite, 23 Jun. 2015
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Length:: 0:33 Mins

I'm awaiting delivery of the latest Amazon Kindle Paperwhite for my partner, and I've bought this stylish leather cover to hold her new-fangled e-Reader.
It's a relatively lightweight Kindle cover, only 159g, and comes in a variety of colours, my girlfriend chose the rather eye-catching fushia pink version. The exterior of the cover front and rear is leather bound, it's a firm, textured leather which isn't soft touch, but it still gives a better tactile experience than, say, plastic. In any event, it's a low maintenance, wipe clean cover.
The inner side of the cover flap is a grey coloured felt or some similar soft material, the cover flap secures to the body of the cover with a magnet. The magnet's grip isn't very strong but I don't think that really matters. The Kindle logo is in large, dark grey coloured lettering on the inner side of the front flap.
The Kindle clips into position on the custom fit back of the cover, which is made of a rigid plastic. The base of the cover has a slot cut away to allow access to the micro-USB input socket on the Kindle.
This cover is lightweight enough to be held in one hand without discomfort for prolonged periods, assuming of course that you don't have any medical condition affecting your hand, wrist or arm. Good design and build quality, simple and effective functionality, what's not to like?
Recommended.
Thank you very much for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looks great, feels..., 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cover looks great though it doesn't feel as good in my hands. Maybe I had high expectations but for £30.99, I wouldn't say it was value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Dec. 2012
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I cannot fault this. I have just replaced my Kindle Keyboard model with the Paperwhite and was very impressed with the new case. It adds little dimensions to the Kindle which securely fits into a Plastic / Rubber clip which surrounds the whole kindle except for the bottom to leave enough room for the socket and switch. The outer case is made of hard leather which closes with a magnetic catch. Inside is a softer cloth with the outer cover having a discrete Kindle logo. It does give the kindle more of "a real book feel". As an added bonus when you close the case it puts the Kindle into sleep mode and on opening the case it turns the Kindle on so you can continue reading where you left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2429 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews