Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner!
I couldn't put this story book down once I started it! I liked the fact that it is essentially a mail order bride novel but with a twist as it is set in Brazil.

Caroline is a widow of 3 years, whilst alive her husband squandered all the money they had including the money her father left her for medical school, in death he left her with nothing. She found work...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not engaging
I wasn't that keen on this as I felt the characters were not engaging enough and the story plods along. Not for me.
Published 16 months ago by Mr. N. R. Faulkner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner!, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this story book down once I started it! I liked the fact that it is essentially a mail order bride novel but with a twist as it is set in Brazil.

Caroline is a widow of 3 years, whilst alive her husband squandered all the money they had including the money her father left her for medical school, in death he left her with nothing. She found work with a coffee company as what I would describe as a Personal Assistant and Bookeeper which was an odd position for a woman to have at this time. But with this job she manages to support herself. But she longs for adventure and companionship.

Jason was raised with a horribly abusive father who beat him, his mother, and his sister for any and no reason at all. He was told time and time again by his father that he would never amount to anything. In the end his sister completely broken could not take life any longer and ended her own. Jason sets out to Brazil to make something of himself but more so to try and cut off all the pain and the memories. He is successful and now has a beautiful house in the jungle and a profitable 4000 acre coffee plantation.

He writes to his cousin which is Caroline's boss at the coffee company often and asks him to send him things from home such as books, things for his home etc. What he doesn't know is that his cousin has passed the job of responding to the letters and acquiring the things to Caroline. Once Caroline takes over the correspondance Jason offers up some of his horrific past to his cousin (Caroline), along with the beauty that surrounds him, and his accomplishments. With each letter Caroline reads and responds to her feelings deepen for Jason and can sense his lonliness and need. When he writes requesting that his cousin find him a bride, he is very specific about his requirements, someone young, impressionable, and a virgin. Caroline decides she is exaclty what he needs rather than what he wants, she is a 25 year old, determined, widow. But, her feelings for Jason are so deep she feels that her love can heal him and they can start a life together. So they marry by proxy and sets off on the biggest adventure of her life, but Jason has no idea what he is going to get once she arrives!

Can Jason and Caroline find love together or even simple companionship to fill the constant lonliness for them both? Or will Jason's past drive Caroline away?

This book will go in the read again pile and will keep an eye out for other books from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good read!, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
A good read, not your typical romantic boy meets girl, they fall in love, happily every after storyline. It's set in the past, in the days of slavery, and a women who weren't supposed to do "mans work" but Caroline goes against all the stereotypes and tries to maker her own way in the world, she's strong and determined, and she falls in love with a man she has never met, she marries him "by proxy" and sets off across the world to live with him, there follows heartache, torment and tears, but you just know they HAVE to get there in the end, I got so immersed in the book that I found myself wanting to shout at Jason to get his act together! A recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From this day forward - one hell of a good read, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
The cover picture doesn't do the book justice, I was expecting a cheesy modern day predictable Mills & Boon love story. The reality was so different, I found it a very compelling read. Jason is a complex character who didn't have a decent childhood and had some very traumatic experiences, he's so conviced that his father's behaviour must be part of him. When he asks his cousin to find him a bride, little does he know that he's corresponding with a young widow who decides to marry Jason even though she's not a virgin. Sparks fly from the word go when Jason and Caroline meet and he's gradually drawn to her even though he fights the attraction every step of the way. She's adamant the marriage will work, even when she's pregnant and he's absent for several months. When she eventually leaves her life is in danger and Jason frantically searches for her. This is a very deep romance story, I absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome story, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
Amazing setting, amazing strong characters, love the way they took to relate to each other and overcoming their past experiences. So emotional and dramatic with excellent storyline. So hard to stop reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy reading, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book good storyline easy to reads if it busy can pick it up and put it down without losing the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not engaging, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't that keen on this as I felt the characters were not engaging enough and the story plods along. Not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had to give this 5 stars, 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I have read on my Kindle fire HD and I have thoroughly enjoyed both. This is an easy to read short book that you cannot put down. It's got romance, passion,adventure and intimacy, and tells of how humble and cruel beginnings can affect a life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 July 2013
By 
Mrs. E. Carlill (Stroud, GLOS, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book. It did go on a bit too long about the negative thoughts, but I just skimmed over those parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 28 July 2013
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story. Very Easy to read, typically romantic. With a Little bit of suspense. Definitely worth taking a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From This Day Forward (Kindle Edition)
It was not my usual kind of book but it gripped me from the first page. Great description s that made you feel that you could smell the coffee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From This Day Forward
From This Day Forward by Deborah Cox
£1.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews