Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping stuff!
Simon Scarrow is one of only a very few authors who have never once disappointed me and The Eagle's Prophecy, sixth in the Eagles series, is no exception. From the very start, there's excitement, adventure and action, there are also excellent characters, heartily written and full of life, and a realism evident throughout the proceedings that sets one firmly in the thick...
Published on 2 Mar 2007 by Mrs. K. A. Smurthwaite

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story
I was lent one of the early books and enjoyed the tale that followed. Easy to read and follow and simple to pick and restart. So I got the whole series right up to "Prey". The whole story line I found from book one to this this one is great.
Now the down side. I went to purchase the next edition to this great tale and found the price had more than doubled. Mr...
Published on 30 Jan 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent page turner., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Prophecy (Hardcover)
.Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Simon strikes again, number 6 in the series Macro and Cato in the thick of it violence abounds, great albeit uncomplicated narrative, a real page turner. Keep it up Simon.
The perfect companion to the Eagle series is the Roma Victrix wine beaker, Simon in his review says:
BEAUTIFULLY SCULPTED IT IS A VERY HANDSOME THING! THE REASON WHY I PARTICULARLY LIKE THIS CUP IS THAT IT FEATURES THE MEN AND INSIGNIA OF THE SECOND LEGION, THE UNIT IN WHICH CATO LEARNED HOW TO BECOME A SOLDIER UNDER THE AFFECTIONATE EYE OF MACRO! IT'S A LOVELY THING AND HAS PRIDE OF PLACE ON MY DESK RIGHT NOW!
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in the series, 10 Oct 2007
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In "The Eagle's Prophecy" Macro and Cato, having returned with Vespasian from Britain, find themselves stuck in Rome unable to find news postings to another legion. When the imperial secretary Narcissus learns of their presence he has just the job for them: pirates have been scourging the coasts of Italy, and by sheer luck three very important scrolls have fallen into their hands. Macro and Cato are to join the fleet ordered to destroy these pirates, and retrieve the scrolls. A difficult enough mission as it is, but as luck would have it their old enemy Vitellius has been appointed prefect of the fleet...

I found this a very good adventure novel, not least because of the change of scene: Macro and Cato have to face unfamiliar enemies on unfamiliair ground (or water, of you will). Combined with the skill Scarrow meanwhile has in building an intriguing plot and keeping you in the thick of action almost constantly, this makes for a very welcome addition to the series.

Very well done, I'm looking forward to the further adventures of our 2 centurions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle's Prophecy, 20 Jun 2007
By 
Alasdair Symonds (Ewhurst, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once again Simon Scarrow has excelled himself with the Eagle's series. He has drawn two marvellous lead characters in Macro and Cato and pulled off brilliantly the setting of their adventures within and amongst real historical characters.

If you enjoy this series then Scarrow has plenty of excellent company but I would put him on top of the pile containing:

Lindsey Davis

Rosemary Rowe

Steven Saylor

David Wishart

John Maddox Roberts

I cannot wait to see how their lives progress alongside Vittelius and Vespasian who are both destined to be Emperor in 25 years time. Having read Scarrow's characterisation of Vitellius it is easy to imagine they were queuing up to assassinate him in December of AD 69 and to imagine why Vespasian was everyone's choice as a stable figurehead for the empire.

Here's to 20+ years of Macro and Cato!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another ripping yarn!., 13 April 2006
By 
S. Glossop "sgg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cato and Macro and their experiences is a very rich seam for the author!. These books are very readable and gripping and I await the next installment, which I probably will buy in hardback!. This series is broadly on the lines of fiction/history but much more on the fiction side than say Iggulden. The character development is good and stories very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great story of the two friends Cato and Macro, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Placing them aboard ships is a master stroke and gives another side to these two compelling characters,cannot wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhhhhhhhh, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OMG IT is such a good book I love it. How can Simon Scarrow make such a good series in the legion and then there in the navy.it's really well written and a great storyline and on the last page there's a twist about vitetillius a mark I'm not going to say what I think it is though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Sue Birch "Chrib" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole series is a triumph. Wonderful characters, great plots, superb authentic atmosphere of the times. I would recommend this series without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book not only griped my imagination but also provided interesting information about the roman navy of which I had not been aware
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story lines, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Prophecy (Paperback)
There are lots of comments about believable characters and so on, but lets face it, we don't want to read about a soldier sewing his socks, do we?

The details are great and give a reasonable feel for the historic setting, which is a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books are very good reads. While the stories are somewhat obvious they are just the thing for people who want to see proper heros and villains. You can feel where things are going but the delight is in the detail and the very human way in which the characters think and act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews