Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 18 Sep 2012
I read this book in about 2 days while on holidays.
I only began to follow La Liga in the last 10 years mainly due to increased TV coverage and in recent years I have been able to go to games in both the Camp Nou and the Bernabéu. I don't really have a great preference for either team but I hugely enjoy the rivalry/drama between the clubs and the high quality of the players. I rarely miss watching a Classico on TV when they are played.

The book El Classico helped me fill in a lot of blanks about why this rivalry is so intense. I now appreciate why there is such dis-harmony/hatred between supporters of the clubs and how it reflects what a divided country modern Spain is. For example local Catalan tax is spent throughout Spain but the taxes of the Basque region are only spent locally!

What I really liked about the book is that offers a very indepth analysis into the personalities involved, especially that of Jose Mourinho. Also there are very interesting interviews with legends like Luis Figo, Hristo Stoichkov, Charly Rexach and current Spanish national team manager Vincente Del Bosque.

If like me you are interested in Spanish football but do not speak Spanish then I do not think you will get these insights anywhere else. Most journalistic coverage of Spanish football that I read is either will Messi score more goals than Ronaldo, which of them earns the higher wages or which team will spend the most money in the transfer window? For those who want to read non tabloid football journalism about Spanish football this is the book to read. The writer uses an easy simple style of writing with plenty humour and he gets the balance right between the history of the rivalry and what it is like for the fans of both clubs today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read by a man who obviously know his footie, 18 Sep 2012
El Clasico is a great read for anyone who is interested in football. Most of the stories we normally read and coverage we see on TV about Spanish football is just surface stuff and bland highlights. But El Clasico get underneath the skin of the most intriguing rivalry in the game worldwide. The author has a nice turn of phrase and subtle humour to go with it. Very enjoyable all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly researched and thoroughly engaging read, 18 Sep 2012
Richard Fitzpatrick delivers an insightful and eye opening account of one of the greatest football rivalries - a ringside seat at a proxy war between a nation state and a nation without a state.
Wonderful interviews bring insights into some of the more acrimonious incidents and transfers (Figo, Di Stéfano).
A real page turner - a must for anyone with even a passing interest in football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars El Clasico: Football's greatest rivalry, 17 Sep 2012
This comprehensive and very enjoyable read, gives us an objective view of the rivalry between Barcelona and Real Madrid. As the author reveals, the story is so much more than a football match. Over the course of El Clasico he manages to successfully weave a sporting, cultural and historical saga into a great story, and this is a great story. Popular myths are exposed to reveal some very surprising truths. We know that El Clasico is biggest football show in town and thanks to Richard Fitzpatrick we now know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Estupendo Libro !, 10 Sep 2012
Many of us lovers of the "great game" have at least some knowledge of the epic rivalry that exists between Barcelona and Real Madrid but this incredible book explores the history and human interest story behind the match and introduces us to an incredible cast of characters. It tells the story with warmth and humor; it is a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe-inspiring, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Brendan Ginnelly "Cylon" (New Caprica) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched last Thursday's first leg of the Spanish Supercup through new eyes; informed,enlightened,intrigued thanks to this book.Fitzpatrick provides insight,pulling no punches, leaving the reader astounded at one moment,in stitches the next.The pages turn themselves. For any football fanatic,this book is a must. El Clasico conveys the world of football's greatest rivalry vividly,one enters another world, and watching Barcelona versus Real Madrid will never be the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars El Clasico: Barcelona v Real Madrid, 24 Mar 2014
By 
O. Hall (Newcastle upon Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a Christmas present for my son who absolutely enjoyed the book as he follows Barcelona quite seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EL UGLIO!... AND THE WORLD STILL LOVE THEM???, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
YES,THE BOOK IS A CLASSIC,I ALSO FELL UNDER THE SPELL OF RONALDO AND MESSI..HOW EVERY MANAGER IN ENGLAND TALK ABOUT THE PRESSING GAME BLA BLA BLA, (LIKE EACH MANAGER HAVE NEVER READ ABOUT THE AGE-OLD BRITISH PROBLEM OF MASS COPYING...PLEASE READ THE DOOG BY DEREK DOOGAN FOR THE ETERNAL LACK OF THE ORIGINAL THOUGH I ALWAYS THOUGHT THE NEW SPAIN ARE A HYBRID OF `70S AND 80S LIVERPOOL -FOREST..BUT MAYBE I'M THE DELUDED ONE !!!) LETS FILL THE TEAM WITH COOL HAIRCUTS RAINBOW BOOTS,AND PLAYERS WHO USED GO TO SPAIN AND WILL AGAIN..YES WORLD IT WORKS IN SPAIN LETS ALL KID THE WORLD WE ARE ALSO THAT INTERESTING.BUT PLEASE ENGLAND IF EVER A BLUEPRINT WAS NOT TO FOLLOW IT HAS TO BE THE PO-FACED VICTIMS (BARCA)AND THE FASCIST BEAST (REAL).WHAT HORRIBLE HISTORY'S COULD DO WITH THIS BUNCH! NOW IT COULD BE SAID WE HAVE CLUBS IN BRITAIN (MENTION NO-NAMES) WHO JUST LOVE REINVENTING THE PAST FOR THE (BRAND ETC)AND WE KNOW WHO THE victim CLUBS ARE!!!!BUT OVER IN SPAIN ITS USED FOR SOMETHING MORE DARK AND FRANKLY CHARMLESS BY BOTH CLUBS....WHEN I WATCH GLORIOUS FOOTBALL PLAYED BY THESE TWO,WITH THE ADD-ON OF LISTENING TO THE WORDSMITH GENIUS OF RAY HUDSON,ITS LIKE MY DAD WATCHING BRAZIL WITH SANTANA PLAYING ON THE STEREO...BUT SPAIN YOU CAN KEEP YOUR RACIST,BACKWARD DARK AGE HATE-FILLED ROTTEN OFF PITCH CULTURE! (MAYBE WITH THE LIKE OF ANELKA WE ARE THE SAME!OH ITS THAT COPYING THING AGAIN!...UNLIKE WHAT SEEMS LIKE THE REST OF THE EARTH I'M NOT IMPRESSED BY THIS AT ALL.VIA AMAZON UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barcelona vRead Madrid footballbook, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book for my grandson who is a Barcelona fan and I am a Madrid fan,living in Spain. He is very pleased with his book, although just a little old for him at present. It arrived promptly and in good condition. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Clasico: Barcelona v Real Madrid: Football's Greatest Rivalry (Kindle Edition)
If you know nothing about why these two clubs hate eachother other than being the best two clubs and you are interested in Spanish football and/or politics I recommend reading.

Essentially if you're interested in the subject great book, if you're not you'll probably get a bit bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa294d08)

This product

Only search this product's reviews