Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars209
4.3 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Chase-Board GameChange
Price:£18.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2012
As a massive fan of The Chase, I was a little skeptical when I heard a board game was out Turns out I didn't need to worry at all. It's one of the most fun game show adaptations I've ever played.

The game comes with a board, used for the main chases and the final chase, an electronic timer, a set of blue questions and a set of red questions, large and small pawn, Chaser tokens, and money tokens. Everything seems quite durable, though it gets a bit jumbled up quite easily.

Each player does a Cashbuilder round in turn. The player to their right sets the timer to one minute and then reads the player questions from the blue cards in the same fashion as on the show, 1000 pounds per answer.

After every player does this, they take the money token they earned. Each token has a blue side with how much was earned in the Cashbuilder and a red side with two offers on it, one bigger and smaller, you insert the token on your pawn showing however much you picked and place your pawn on the board accordingly. Each player then picks a Chaser, inserts them in the pawn matching the player's color, and places them at the end of the board. The next bit is the same as on the show, except only one player answers questions at a timer and the Chasers' answers are printed on the card. The player who makes it through with the most money plays the final chase.

The final chase works like on the show, save for the fact that the finalist picks two of their opponents (unless it's a 3 player game) to work together as the Chaser, but other than that it's just two two minute rounds, the finalist can move the Chaser back on an incorrect answer with the right answer.

The game only has two problems I've seen so far. One, the timer has none of the show's music or sound effects which would have improved the game big time, and secondly each player's performance in the Cashbuilder rests on how fast the question reader is. For example, I can get out questions clearly at about the same rate as Mr. Walsh, while my sister constantly stumbles over words, reads the question slowly, and takes too long to confirm the right answer.

Other than that, though, the game is massive fun, and having beat Shawn in the main Chase I have to say I'm quite proud of myself.
44 comments189 of 197 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Love the quiz on TV so buying this game was a no brainer. It's slightly different to the TV as you randomly pick your own chaser but we had so much fun and laughter playing. Great game, recommended.
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
it states on the box "family board game,8 years plus".you will need very knowledgable children to play this game but very enjoyable for adults.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Very good family game. Easy to follow instructions. Great if you like the show. Played with a variety of ages and was really good fun.
0Comment20 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
A good family board game based on the TV show. Questions not too hard - good, competitive fun and easy to understand.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
this is a good game for adults the kids must have to be very bright the questions are really hard for 8 plus
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Bought this game for my son for Christmas. Played Christmas Day and it was a hit. Even our 7 year old played! Easy to follow instructions and we were playing within minutes if setting up. Fingers crossed they bring out more questions.
22 comments22 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Purchased for a present for someone an their family who love the series, have joined in playing it, this was good value and family fun, questions for everyone, and would recommend this product and seller.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
This board game follows the concept of the TV show very closely, unlike some other licensed products (The Pointless Board Game).

There are a lot of small, individual parts that need to be popped out of their cards when playing for the first time, but this is a one time only thing.

The instructions could have been a bit clearer about how the buzzer operates, especially in the final round when the timer needs to be paused for an incorrect answer, but apart from that a great addition to games night.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
If you like the chase then this game is for you.
It plays just like the game, you have your cash builder round and a timer in which to answer the questions as quickly as you can, you then pick your chaser and review the offers (higher= 1 step closer to the chaser / lower= 1 step closer to home, just like the show!) you then answer your multiple choice questions and the brad impersonator (Q reader) will let you know if your chaser got the question right or wrong. If you get through without being caught you go on to the final chase. There are numbers around the outside of the board for the final chase and the timer is set to the second setting for this. As in the cash builder round you answer as many questions correctly to move around the board. When your time is up it is the turn if your chaser. Another player plays the chaser and answers questions in the same manner, however if the 'chaser' gets a question wrong, you can then push the chaser back, and so on until the time is up.

All in all a good game, some questions are difficult, but it's a game and it's all learning for the next time! The only downside I can give it, but it wouldn't be fair to deduct stars for these points, is that some people read rather slowly or have trouble pronouncing key words, resulting in misunderstood questions and more often 1 player only getting a few questions whereas another would get many more! This is all down to the question reader. It is a 3 player game, however my sister and I play it as a 2, I am the card reader for her, she is for me, I am the chaser for her, and vice versa... The only thing is that if you do play as a 2 player, you BOTH need different cards in the final chase, as the player would have the answer to push the chaser back every time otherwise. Still it's good fun and I would highly recommend it! :)
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.