Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all musicians
As a guitarist I used to take drummers for granted and not really understand what it takes to do what they do. They're at the back, and the audience generally don't pay much attention to what they are doing and believe the reasion they can't stop dancing is the singer or guitarist. If they are playing well you can easily believe it's you that is making everything rock or...
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by Blackstar Dude

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, sort of ....
Strange book! It reminded me of Dave Lee Travis looking to camera and saying "I'm mad I am." Who was he trying to convince? I found this book a bit like that. Drummers are "different", "crazy", things happen to them that wouldn't happen to the bass player .... It feels to me like the author is trying too hard to make his case with too little hard...
Published 14 months ago by PG Stirling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all musicians, 25 Sep 2010
As a guitarist I used to take drummers for granted and not really understand what it takes to do what they do. They're at the back, and the audience generally don't pay much attention to what they are doing and believe the reasion they can't stop dancing is the singer or guitarist. If they are playing well you can easily believe it's you that is making everything rock or swing and not them. But they are usually the first at the gig to set up and the last to leave. They have the most gear, need the biggest car and in many cases the price of just one of their cymbals would buy a decent guitar. So what makes them pursue what on paper(or screen)seems such an unattractive occupation?

Spike Webb brings together a fabulous collection of anecdotes that are humorous, personal accounts of the lives and experiences of the drummer and reveals the some of the characteristics that make up this unique breed. A cracking book and essential reading for all musicians ( and drummers ;-) ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, highly recommended, 5 Sep 2010
I'm a keen fan of autobiography's from famous lead singers of bands but the drummer is all too often left out or treated as though he/she has nothing good to say. Finally, this book dealves into the mad world of drummers and gives you an insight into what it means to be a drummer in a band, be it small or world known. The stories included in this book range from searching round a university dorm begging to borrow a drum kit (and of course getting high in the process) to the drummers stool catching fire whilst playing.

Written from the point of view of the drummers themselves with comments and personal stories from the writer I found this book to be easy to read, extremely funny and at some points moving.

One thing that became apparent in this book is that all drummers have faced some sort of trouble and after reading it you get a sence of community between them, in experiencing those problems they become apart of a very welcoming and proud group of musicians.

So next time you see a drummer either down the local pub or in a 80,000 seat arena, spare a little thought for them and troubles they have gone through to get to that point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Percussion Tales, 27 Oct 2010
Books about singers and guitarists abound - svelte, snake-hipped and libidinous. Authors queue up to pay homage to rock's attention seekers.

Rarer to focus the spotlight centre stage behind the strutting peacocks.

The drummer's POV gives unique insights.

They sit on their thrones - paradiddling, riding, crashing, four to the flooring - a little too loud?

Spike Webb knows that the best drummers are the ones who can play ever so quietly too; when the music needs it.

In this collection he lets them tell their stories. Truthfully and unembroidered. All the more haunting for that.

Mad? Maybe.

Bad? By whose standards?

Dangerous? You decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 5 April 2011
I bought this book as a present for my uncle and he loves it, he even quotes from it :)
Awesome book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wide Wide World of Drums!, 20 April 2012
I'm a drummer. At least, I try to be when things go to plan. I can assure you, when something goes wrong with a drummer, or their chosen piece of equipment, it tends to lean towards the spectacular! Not surprisingly, there are no shortage of anecdotes out there in the world of drummers to cram into a book such as this. Ranging from drummers setting their kits on fire, to drummers throwing their sticks at big, burley security guards, not forgetting drummers who are at the mercy of their bowels, this book has more than enough tales and stories from some big names in the drumming world to keep you entertained for a while!

In the very least, I would hope this book is something that the drummers out there can read, and more than likely relate to. Quite possibly, it's something for non-drummers to read, and maybe develop a bit of sympathy for your tub-thumping friends in times of dire need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quiet ones are the worse, 6 April 2011
You think drummers are the mummy's boys of bands as they sit at the back playing the drums,
but this book tells you otherwise.
A great read and very entertaining for the young and the old.
Lots of short tales of some very famous drummers in all sorts of situations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 31 Mar 2011
I loved this book. You don't have to be a drummer to find these musician stories funny and ringing true. Witty, quirky and nostalgic what's not to love? Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you ever wanted to know about drummers, but were afraid to ask....!, 7 Oct 2010
Having known Spike since we were both knee high to a home-made drum kit (washing up bowls and cardboard boxes, since you ask) I have always been aware that he is a most fabulous wordsmith and raconteur.

In this book, Spike uses both of those skills to great effect - not only by recounting his own hilarious stories about life as a drummer - but by giving a voice to the 'boys at the back'....the drummers who are, by and large, the 'powers behind the throne' for the strutting and pouting lead singers, the posturing and posing guitarists.

Spike brings it all to vibrant life - from the yoga-like contortions necessary to travel with one's kit in the back of someone's crummy, smelly car - to the free-flowing, drink-fuelled excesses of a life on the road that the professionals enjoyed.

If you've ever been 'in a band' yourself - or even, like me, just hung around the fringes ever so slightly pathetically - then you will love this book....you may even recognise yourself in there, somewhere!

Terrific book, by a terrific guy.....and he really is a brilliant drummer, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great anecdotes, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous - The Book of Drummers' Tales (Kindle Edition)
This book is a blast, with some fantastic drummer stories, some very well known, other less so. Definitely recommended to all drummers and anyone else who has to deal with them in any way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't mess with the drummer!, 28 Nov 2012
By 
James Dobson (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad, Bad and Dangerous - The Book of Drummers' Tales (Kindle Edition)
As a pro drummer and having played since I was 15 Years old (I am now 56), this book tells it like it is.
What it is really like to be a drummer in ANY band, whether you are starting out or you are lucky enough (or talented enough), to have hit the 'dizzy' heights (very few do).
What comes across is how alike most drummers are, a very tough breed of no nonsense musicians who always give 110% and who are usually the most reliable member of the 'team', but who are usually the last person you would want to cross! As the old saying goes, " You only have to punch the information into a drum machine once" although in my experience, I have NEVER had anyone say this directly to my face!
I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone interested in music..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews