Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting well-paced story
The story starts with a really nightmarish scenario involving a doll house. Although it's not an item normally known for striking fear into people's hearts, it is a key theme in this very creepy story.
The protagonist, Elinor, has always known that she is different in some indefinable way, but could never have imagined just how `different' she was.
Her whole...
Published on 9 Aug 2012 by Laika

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!
I have never written a book review before but felt obliged to in this case. It took me a few pages to look up the publishers name only to find that the author had published this herself. This explains the atrocious spelling and bad grammar. I feel this book was probably written by the author when she was quite young. The language was very immature and in parts I felt the...
Published on 10 Dec 2012 by Boris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting well-paced story, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
The story starts with a really nightmarish scenario involving a doll house. Although it's not an item normally known for striking fear into people's hearts, it is a key theme in this very creepy story.
The protagonist, Elinor, has always known that she is different in some indefinable way, but could never have imagined just how `different' she was.
Her whole life changes when her family move to a house overlooking a neglected graveyard in an isolated village. The village and its inhabitants don't seem quite right, and when strange things start happening at night, Elinor gradually finds herself a key player in a terrifying struggle to end an ancient curse.
This is a fast paced story written in a simple style that will appeal to older children and adults like myself who are looking for a not too demanding read!
My only real criticism is the appalling grammar and spelling mistakes in the kindle version. Things like `different than' and `stories' instead of `storeys' are not typos, they're just bad English and not what I would expect to find in any published book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing. A must read, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
Although i didn't find it as scary as i thought it would be, it is still one of the best stories i've ever read (and i have read quite a lot.) I absoloutly loved it and could only fault the grammar in the kindle version. I loved the supernateral theme and the creepy characters in it. The tension building was great. It was done really well i think, the way i sat there and felt scared for the characers.
I think this book is a must read ad would give it 5 stars any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
I have never written a book review before but felt obliged to in this case. It took me a few pages to look up the publishers name only to find that the author had published this herself. This explains the atrocious spelling and bad grammar. I feel this book was probably written by the author when she was quite young. The language was very immature and in parts I felt the writing cringeworthy.The storyline was awful. I sadly did not buy this book on kindle and feel extremely annoyed for paying the amount I did for it. If authors are going to ask for money like that surely they could spend some time proof reading it before it goes out. No 1 bestseller? Really?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Sep 2012
By 
Paula Mc (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
`The House in the Attic' is a book I like to call a hidden gem, I found it by accident and enjoyed it from start to finish. The story is a good old fashioned supernatural tale of Elinor, a young girl with a tragic past who much to her horror has been moved to the village of Mournsby, a quiet village where everyone seems to suffer from memory loss. Elinor finds her destiny in Mournsby and it's a destiny she does not want but has to face.

`The House in the Attic' is a fantastic read which kept me engrossed to the very end. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need light on!!!, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
Havent finished reading it yet, but had to write a review as last night I had to sleep with the light on....yes, I know!! But it really is very creepy, and the night was very dark, and I kept spooking at shadows! Cant wait for tonights installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite sure..., 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
I'm not quite sure what age group this book was aimed at, as it felt like a Scooby Doo story, but more scary than most & more geared towards the young adult market. That is not to say that I did'nt enjoy it... I did... & shall be seeing minature dolls & their houses differently from now on. However the editing does need to be looked at as it spoils the continuity for the reader. Having to correct in their minds what should have been done before hand should not have to happen. Also I remember feeling that I have either read or seen similar stories before. On a more positive note I would read a second book if there was one just out of pure curiousity to see what happens next & it's conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars sorry not for me, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
found this book laborious and dull wanted to like it but the more I read the more I wanted to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic plot great for younger adults and a chilling tale to frighten any youngster willing to play where they shouldn't well written Helen Caldwell will be on my list of writer's to be looked out for in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
The book was to predictable for me however the book was well written. It does benefit from being read.at. one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House In The Attic (Kindle Edition)
having lost both of her parents, Elinor, her aunt and her cousin move to a small villiage full of haunting secrets, Elinor begins noticing unusual happenings around her, like the lights she sees dancing around the graveyard at night and the way there have been no children born in the villiage in as long as anyone could remember. together with her friends Elinor has to do all she can to beak the curse of the villiage, this book was a very enjoyable read, looking forward to reading the next one, just the right amount of spooky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House In The Attic
The House In The Attic by Helen Cardwell
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews