Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time great
This remains one of the best movies ever made. The restored edition (contrary to the opinion of one reviewer) is a huge improvement on the old, poor-quality version and represents a vastly better viewing experience which is considerably enhanced by the informative documentaries etc. included on the 2nd disc.
Published 19 months ago by P. Myers

versus
48 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Pathe restoration!
This release uses the same "remaster" hatchet job that Criterion used! Pathe gave it a complete DNR butt-rape! The image is a waxy, smeared abomination! Avoid at all costs!
Published on 11 Sep 2012 by R.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time great, 12 Feb 2013
By 
P. Myers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Enfants Du Paradis - The Restored Edition (2 discs, limited edition packaging) [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
This remains one of the best movies ever made. The restored edition (contrary to the opinion of one reviewer) is a huge improvement on the old, poor-quality version and represents a vastly better viewing experience which is considerably enhanced by the informative documentaries etc. included on the 2nd disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique!, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Rough Diamond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Enfants Du Paradis - The Restored Edition (2 discs, limited edition packaging) [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
OK, the 'restoration' isn't perfect, but this set is still the best available option if you want to own this film. And, quite frankly, why wouldn't you? Beautifully scripted, beautifully acted and beautifully directed, this is possibly the most romantic, most uplifting and most French film ever made. There's simply no better way to spend a rainy Sunday afternoon than to snuggle down on a comfy sofa with this and a large box of chocs. Even if you think 3-hour black and white subtitled films aren't really your thing, especially if they feature extended sequences of mime, all I can say is.. prepare to be astonished! I honestly think it's humanly impossible to watch this film and not absolutely adore it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Pathe restoration!, 11 Sep 2012
By 
This release uses the same "remaster" hatchet job that Criterion used! Pathe gave it a complete DNR butt-rape! The image is a waxy, smeared abomination! Avoid at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the eternal landscape and heartache, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
in my personal 'initial top ten' if there can ever really be such a thing... a film i frequently return to as it was seminal in my personal development with film culture... i bought this version for the extras and again the criterion version also for its alternate extras... others that would also be included in this idea of a topten seminal experience are 'un chant d'amour' 'orphee' 'the innocents' 'letter from an unknown woman' 'vertigo' 'the trial' 'despair' and everything else by rainer werner fassbinder... and the the films of herzog, welles, antonioni, and back to marcel carne's other films and poetic realism from the 30's and onto all the other weavings in film culture...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important cinematic history, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Enfants Du Paradis - The Restored Edition (2 discs, limited edition packaging) [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
The accompanying DVD explaining the background to the film greatly enhanced the viewing experience. The film is very French and very 1940s but, when you get into it, it is absolutely magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Enfants Du Paradis - The Restored Edition (2 discs, limited edition packaging) [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
I thought my old VHS tape was good but this is amazing through my blu-ray player. The extras are truly worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Peter M "cinerama" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the all time classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ClassicFrench movies., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Enfants Du Paradis - The Restored Edition (2 discs, limited edition packaging) [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
Excellent movie and background information on how it was made in very hard circumstances. The story line is captivating, goes from light and amusing to a deep insight into human predicaments and relationships. A continuing theme of unrequited love and broken hearts while showing the political situation in France at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow start - but stick with it., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing film. Beatifully and sensatively filmed; superbly acted and directed. I adore French Movies and this classic is perfect viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The strength of HOPE, 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: Les Enfants Du Paradis - The Restored Edition (2 discs, limited edition packaging) [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
the sheer feeling of beauty and joy that our french friends made such an ode to art and beauty at a time when their beloved country was in the depths of despair and humiliation, not unlike our great russian friends made music and poetry in the long years of darkness in mother russia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews