Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!!!!
All of Ian's solo cds have been remastered and re-released. Slideling is the only one not stamped with RINO's seal. The sound is so clear and sharp, in all the right places. The extra tracks are fantastic. I only have one beef, I am a bit of a picky bloke. The first track, Love In Veins was muddled. I guesss they had to sacrifice something so all the tracks would fit...
Published on 27 Sept. 2012 by Serious but Stable

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough...
Bought this recently as I suddenly had a yearning to expand my Ian mcCulloch solo collection. In my opinion it's not a patch on Candleland. Nice enough but not striking.
Published 19 months ago by Mr. D. G. Medley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!!!!, 27 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
All of Ian's solo cds have been remastered and re-released. Slideling is the only one not stamped with RINO's seal. The sound is so clear and sharp, in all the right places. The extra tracks are fantastic. I only have one beef, I am a bit of a picky bloke. The first track, Love In Veins was muddled. I guesss they had to sacrifice something so all the tracks would fit onto one cd. Still for 17 flawless tracks.... I love it. Now if only Ian would release his "new" album in the right venue so NORMAL people could purchase it...Great tunes! Overlook the ONE odd technical flaw and enjoy the 17 jems. The other RINO cds - Candleland & Mysterio are right as rain and worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice One, 22 April 2003
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
This recording provides a neat change in pace to listeners expecting an Echo and the Bunnymen clone. Whilst Ian McCulloch has always regarded himself as a balladeer, the music produced by the Bunnymen to me has always seemed somewhat of a synthesis between all of the band members. Here we hear unadulterated McCulloch, shorn of the jangling guitars of Will Sergeant.
The album starts off with a kick, Love In Veins, which really wakes you up. Thereafter the album takes a quieter path, with some passing nods to other writers such as Lou Reed. Having been listening to the album most of theEaster holidays ( I was lucky enough to win this as 2nd prize on Radio 6 – signed by Ian himself no less) I have started to make decisions about which tracks are my favourites – at the minute surely Kansas, which seems vaguely reminiscent of Frank Black in one of his quieter moments ,and the opening Love In Veins.
Another Train has some nice touches, changing the tempo nicely between the verse and the chorus.
Altogether the album displays depth and thoughfullness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant return, 10 Jun. 2003
By 
Dimas, Antonio J. Ricardo (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
Ian's new album in association with Coldplay's musicians brought a renascent flavor to his music. After the tired Echo and the Bunnymen were reborn with "What Am I Going To Do With My Life", Ian found himself back on track, well supported by a "ex-fanclub" band, Coldplay. Very much worth listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still knocking spots off most of todays "popstars", 29 Jun. 2004
By 
I. D. Murphy "smurf2005" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
Ian McCulloch has made an amazingly good album. I liked his previous solo efforts, but never considered them a patch on the Bunnymen at their best. This one contains some fantastic songs however, performed superbly. The influence of Lou Reed and the Velvet Underground is never far from the surface (listen to the bassline intro of the marvellous "Baby Hold On"), but the record is none the worse for that.
Despite it being 25 years since "Rescue" this guy still has more talent than most of the artists in today's charts combined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Bunnymen - No Problem, 12 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
This album is really really great. Simple as that. If you have heard Sliding (with Chris Martin and Jonny Buckland of Coldplay)you haven't heard the half of it.
The album starts with 'Love in Veins' which is a rocky opener and undoubtably the highlight but the man in the big coat follows up with 'Playgrounds...', 'Baby Hold On', 'High Wires' and 'Kansas'. He keeps a firm hold of that classic bunnymen sound to please the regulars happy but also manages to make an album that should win him many more fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough..., 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
Bought this recently as I suddenly had a yearning to expand my Ian mcCulloch solo collection. In my opinion it's not a patch on Candleland. Nice enough but not striking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ian mcculloch at his best, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
Brilliiant album , ian mcculloch at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr N D Bowen (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slideling (Audio CD)
Another great album from Ian McCulloch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slideling
Slideling by Ian McCulloch (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews