Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky but not a "difficult" listen
You can probably tell by the cover image of Annie Clark and her strange jaw that there is bound to be a degree of oddness afoot here and this is backed up by the music, which is definitely not "mainstream". Lyrical quirks abound, and the stop/start rhythms take a bit of getting used to but patience is rewarded as you begin to appreciate that this is music for grown ups,...
Published 22 months ago by Big Jim

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening it ain't
I was a massive Talking Heads fan and as such I started following Byrne solo career, only to be disappointed over time. I fully acknowledge Byrne quirkiness and his dedication to music. However, it is a long time since I heard anything innovative or memorable in his production. "Love this giant" is no exception. It starts with "Who", probably the strongest song of the...
Published 11 months ago by D. Giusti


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than the sum of its parts, 14 Sep 2012
By 
Big Twink (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
This is a great, rewarding Lp that keeps me going back for more. If you like Byrne or St Vincent you'll find plenty to enjoy here, even though it doesn't really sound like either of them.
The true, inspired moment of genius is the decision to base most of the instrumentation around a funky, vibrant brass section which keeps the momentum chugging along nicely and ensures you hear new things with each listen.
I also like the way the two protagonists take it in turns to 'lead' a track, rather than having one or the other dominate the whole Lp. It sounds like a proper collaboration and one that's loads and loads of fun. One of the best Lps of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening it ain't, 16 Aug 2013
By 
D. Giusti "Dierregi" (Genova, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
I was a massive Talking Heads fan and as such I started following Byrne solo career, only to be disappointed over time. I fully acknowledge Byrne quirkiness and his dedication to music. However, it is a long time since I heard anything innovative or memorable in his production. "Love this giant" is no exception. It starts with "Who", probably the strongest song of the whole LP. Byrne and St. Vincent share the vocals; the sound is rich and quirky enough, with the notorious brass adding an edge. So far, so good.

Unfortunately from song number two, one has the impression of hearing different variations of the first songs. None of the pieces is memorable, several have abrupt ending and the quirky brass is always there, slowly turning the novelty into the soundtrack of a circus show. Byrne and St. Vincent alternate lead vocals. Byrne's voice has never been great and it is not improving. St. Vincent's voice is more pleasant, but not enough to save the project.

Personally, I am not interested in theatre productions, but unfortunately this type of sound is more theatre than rock (or pop). Finally, I read some reviews stating that one must "get used" to the sound. I do not agree about this approach, as I listen to music for pleasure and I do not think music should be endured just because the authors are respectable professionals. Respecting the authors does not rule out finding their output disappointing.

Obviously, I would not recommend, unless you are a massive Byrne and/or St. Vincent fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner, 28 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
A difficult first listen, especially in the car. But put it on a real hi-fi and it really grabs your attention. Theres a lot going on. The production is clean and opens up the music beautifully. The combination of brass with synth driven alt pop is difficult to describe but somehow just leaves you wanting more. The rhythms and melodies stay with you long after you turn it off. Mr Byrne is at his quirky best and although Annie Clarke is new to me she has earnt my respect in a short space of time. Check out the live performances on YouTube and you'll see just what an interesting project this is. I've got my ticket for the B'ham show. If you appreciate music that doesn't fit neatly into convenient categories then try this. You might be pleasantly surprised how well it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box of Delights, 13 May 2013
By 
MacPablo (East Lothian) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
From being a big Talking Heads and David Byrne fan from the late 70s and early 80s, I decided to give this a go.
What a fabulous surprise; an album with humour, humanity and real personality. Mr Byrne has relaxed a little compared with his somewhat edgy presence in the old days and with an equally telling contribution from St Vincent has produced my favourite album for a long time.
Quality songwriting from start to finish, engaging lyrics, innovative use of their excellent band of brass musicians, this collection of songs will draw you in and provide hours of satisfaction.
Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky, horny, quirky., 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of either Byrne or Annie Clark, or both, then, like, you kinda need this album, bro.

Don't let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You probably have to big a big David Byrne Fan, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
But I enjoyed it becase I am. Some tracks are really good but its not mind-blowing stuff. Not to the standard of Talking Heads, also reminded me of Bjork a lot. Particulary the Volta album and Songs of Selma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's a star!, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
This album starts well, it'll bring a smile to your soul but it does lose it's way a bit towards the end I feel. Maybe I need to play it more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edible music, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
A funky, crunchy production from Byrne and Clark. Feed through headphones nice and loud to appreciate every earful...and keep going back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you David Byrne, 25 Sep 2012
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
Fabulous, wonderful! Cross between classical, Philip Glass (with david byrne), talking heads and something totally new. Oh how i love it!. At last new, NEW, uplifting music! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love This Giant (Audio CD)
I bought this on the back of their advertising, having not heard one single track from the album.
Probably the best CD I have bought all year, you will either love it or hate it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love This Giant
Love This Giant by David Byrne (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews