Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TO CATCH A SPINSTER
I loved this enchanting, historical, short novel.
It is funny,charming and witty.A very easy to read story.The humour would be shocking for the historical period.
Highly recommended.
Published 16 months ago by hazel

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, but untrue to period
This book is a fun, light-hearted read but it's also very frustrating. Firstly, the way the characters behave is really not in keeping with the period. Several strange behaviours are accounted for but other things aren't and they just don't make sense, society didn't work in the way that this book portrays, the characters' behaviour is far too modern. If the heroine cared...
Published 9 months ago by Ceri at Babblings of a Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, but untrue to period, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a fun, light-hearted read but it's also very frustrating. Firstly, the way the characters behave is really not in keeping with the period. Several strange behaviours are accounted for but other things aren't and they just don't make sense, society didn't work in the way that this book portrays, the characters' behaviour is far too modern. If the heroine cared about her family at all, and she clearly does, she would never have behaved in such a way, and I don't just mean the central premise of the book, her behaviour in all ways throughout the book is improper for the time.

Secondly the language use is really sloppy. There is a word that is too modern or American English on at least every other page. We have the heroine giving people a 'bop', being 'mad' (meaning angry rather than insane), her being 'nutty' or 'batty' over things and the heroine referring to her father 'grounding' her. It's all much too modern.

There is also another thing I wasn't too fond of, which is that the heroine is really quite selfish and hence tiresome. She has no problems in risking her whole family's reputation (although she appears to think it would only be hers, how she can possibly think this I have no idea). I was sufficiently interested to finish the book but I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TO CATCH A SPINSTER, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this enchanting, historical, short novel.
It is funny,charming and witty.A very easy to read story.The humour would be shocking for the historical period.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not believable., 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
* blush factor - medium/high *

This story is about a spinster who does not want to ever marry but wants to know the physical aspect of love.

I liked the beginning of the book - how the hero and heroine meet and how Olivia manages to convince Nathaniel to agree to her proposal. Along the way, Nathaniel of course, falls in love with Olivia.

After that, begins his marriage proposal and we go through a third of the book, as to why Olivia is against marriage, marriage will not do for her, she will not be a good wife, she does not wish to be a mother, Nathaniel deserves better etc etc etc. It became so boring, listening to her go on, and on about why she should not marry Nathaniel.

I could not believe the proposal. I did not like Olivia (except in the beginning). Nathaniel is ok.

Overall, not a story that I could believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, but just different enough to be special!, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved reading the book from the perspective of someone in this time period who was resigned to the fact that this would be her last season but so curious about desire and passion! It still makes me smile to think about her book that she orders under the name of Oliver. I think the characters are endearing and I really enjoyed the Brother in Law. Although this story is short it is not lacking in depth. Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Enjoyable, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Lynne Hawkes (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a short, but very enjoyable read. The H and h were likable, with a pleasant supporting cast. I loved the interplay between the sisters; the bickering with love was spot on. Not pin point accuracy for Recency mores and manners, but I don't care, it's a lovely story, and I'm about to download the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Witty, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this. It had very witty dialogue and an enjoyably different view about spinsterhood! I would buy from this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Easy ready just right for the holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars old fashioned Wooing, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
a spinster aged 27 ............ not the sort of thing I normally read but it kept me going to see her married off to the country gent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, it was fun. Completely unreal but great escapism. Quick read and made me smile. Some sexy bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good one., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Catch A Spinster (The Reluctant Bride Collection Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting, fun short read. Keeps u entertained. Recommend to any who is looking for a short and quick read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews