Customer Reviews


813 Reviews
5 star:
 (575)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (51)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read
This novel is both a combination of travel writing, crime thriller and one which questions your own beliefs as to the nature of of peoples crime and punishment for those who accept their wrongs. The prose if poetic although a bit flowery at times, I despaired the amount of times the author over described someones eyes and the flecks of various colours within. The main...
Published 16 months ago by Luis Suarez ate my hamster

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book made me so sad that only my soul could do the crying. Sob sob.
I'm surprised that there aren't more middle of the road reviews here. Essentially, it's fantastic in parts, and makes you cringe with embarrassment or curse the author in others. The problems for me really are the ridiculous prose, the pretentious and meaningless philosophies of the author and his initial crew of friends (who are all right winkers), and his obsession with...
Published on 5 Oct. 2010 by S. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 282 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 8 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
This novel is both a combination of travel writing, crime thriller and one which questions your own beliefs as to the nature of of peoples crime and punishment for those who accept their wrongs. The prose if poetic although a bit flowery at times, I despaired the amount of times the author over described someones eyes and the flecks of various colours within. The main character is also a bit difficult to relate to at times. He's not likeable enough to dismiss his failings as acceptable nor is he flawed enough to be treated in the anti-hero mold. It is certainly better than average (3) but with enough gripes for me to consider it a masterpiece. I had two main issues. The first is as the way Lin is written. You initially think from the back cover that the story is autobiographical and this increases your interest. But as the story develops you feel that certain aspects are exaggerated and distorted. There is nothing wrong with poetic license but ultimately when it crosses into fabrication and you have been told otherwise I felt a little cheated and question what, if any of the story actually happened. My second gripe is the actual plot. The first half is gripping as we read Lin's story ad I was with him all the way but then about half way through there begins a sub-plot of an underground terrorist/revolutionary type that comes out of nowhere and bubbles under the surface for the rest of the book. Ultimately the reveal is disappointing. The final climax of the story as Lin travels on his greatest and most dangerous adventure since arriving in India also becomes apparent as probably not the actual truth and is a step too far plot wise for the wonderful, thought provoking character we meet at the beginning. With all that said, a good book will always have bits that not everyone likes and understandably those parts are more closely scrutinised and critiqued than perhaps those of a lesser book. It's worth a read without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Immersive and evocative read, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
Based on a true story, the tale of a wanted Australian ex-convict who moves to Bombay; sets up a medical clinic in the slums; joins the Indian mafia and even goes to war in Afghanistan is gripping stuff. Those looking for a thriller or fast-paced ride will be disappointed - whilst Roberts includes plenty of action, he also vividly describes not only his surroundings but also his personal interactions with the residents and foreign nationals in Bombay. It is in this way that Shantaram excels, as a tale of how Roberts fits into the hugely varied Bombay lifestyle. In one way, Shantaram is almost a love story, with many of Roberts' actions revolving around a woman he loves - however, his propensity for getting into various dangerous situations meant that I couldn't put the book down. Whilst it is quite long, almost 1,000 pages of small type, it will keep you entertained and fascinated throughout, with Roberts' descriptions of India totally immersing you in his experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book made me so sad that only my soul could do the crying. Sob sob., 5 Oct. 2010
By 
S. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
I'm surprised that there aren't more middle of the road reviews here. Essentially, it's fantastic in parts, and makes you cringe with embarrassment or curse the author in others. The problems for me really are the ridiculous prose, the pretentious and meaningless philosophies of the author and his initial crew of friends (who are all right winkers), and his obsession with bigging himself up all the time (even when he's trying to admit a failing, he does so by boasting about something else). The plus points are the scope of the story, and the fact that somehow it keeps you coming back for more despite all its flaws.

The story can be gripping at times, though the strings of coincidences may go a little too far for some. There are some likeable characters, mostly locals rather than his idiotic expat friends. Prabaker in particular keeps things moving along with a chuckle, especially in the early stages. He does however have a slight Orientalist style of overly-romanticising and valorising everything local, which is fairly patronising at times. He also seems to be writing with the benefit of hindsight yet claiming at times that he or his friends foresaw events - the more recent rise of Shiv Sena for example.

The whole thing moves at an irregular pace, with, for example, a whole chapter on one fairly dull night in a bar, followed by another swiftly galloping through fires, a career as a doctor an encounter with a sword-wielding mentalist etc. There is always something just around the corner though, which keeps you going through the dull or outright infuriating bits.

The `David Brent' figure suggested by someone else here really is a fairly apt comparison. I found myself skipping through paragraphs whenever the author or his friends wibbled their cringe-worthy musings on the meaning of truth, the nature of change etc. The author also uses his own fatalistic philosophies to justify his lack of positive intervention in various circumstances, and paint it as the only thing that could have been done (he preaches that every attempt to ameliorate a situation will always exaccerbate it). Annoying to those of us who believe that some things can be changed for the better through human action.

The prose too, good lord the prose. His particular obsession is describing colour (particularly eye colour) in as ridiculous a way as is humanly possible (I think he wrote a whole book of colour descriptions and then forced them, screaming, into the book). Example:

"His eyes were the colour of sand." (ok, I can picture that) "In the palm of your hand." (erm, how thin is the layer? So can I see skin through it too?) "A few mintues before the sun goes down." (Err right. The colour of sand at sunset would have sufficed, you pretentious....)

They really should have produced two versions. A heavily edited version for normal people, and this version for the `spiritual' pop-psychology generation who think that anything written in print that purports to be intellectual must have deep meaning. It is worth a read, but be prepared to skip through bits or put up with some serious bull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


208 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused?, 3 April 2007
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
Hmmm...I've read with interest the reviews of this book and I think that you'll agree they are somewhat polarised!

My reading tastes are quite varied, from the Classics to Alex Garland and although I will try to be as objective as possible, the fact is that I really enjoyed this book.

Firstly, I am motivated to write a review for this book because I am at a loss as to how anyone could so vehemently be opposed to it without having an axe to grind with the author, (as opposed to reviewing the actual story), but predominantly because, like other reviewers here, I absolutely loved it and naturally want to share my enthusiasm and recommend it to others.

For me, Shantaram is a truly engaging read. It is exceptionally well paced and will take you on a journey that will, at times, leave you breathless and unable to turn the pages quickly enough. The authors' consummate depiction of character, place and drama will absorb you entirely in a relentless mÍlée between the most noble and absolute base capabilities of human nature. Love, loathing, beauty, repugnance, tenderness and brutality - it's all here, in spades. However, there are two sections of this book which will enable you to catch up and assimilate, placed roughly at intervals between the first and second third of the narrative, and again between the second and third section. Believe me, you'll need these opportunities to relax a little.

The story of Lin, his travels, trials, dilemma and relationships with the individuals within the book are both enthralling and captivating in extremis. I would make claim that it is easily placed in my top five `you must read this' books. Such is my enthusiasm for this tome, I have bought several copies of Shantaram as gifts for friends and family, as I wouldn't dream of lending it to anyone, lest it not be returned!

He is certainly neither romantic, nor quixotic with regard to his immoral and corrupt past and, if you have any capacity for considered judgement, it is clear that he is not a merely one-dimensional character. If you find that you have no empathy with Lin, who has indeed led a fairly intense and criminal life, then you have either a very modest imagination, or are just a tiny bit dead inside.

As for the ending, well, I didn't find it disappointing, or that it `fizzled out' in the least. If you want a definitive conclusion to every storyline, then stick to Andy McNab, or the Hollywood film industry. The art of great entertainment is to have both thoroughly enjoyed the experience and to be left wanting more - I can't wait for further output from Gregory David Roberts.

So, "if you read only one book this year", make sure it's Shantaram.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
C. Mcsherry "chicm" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shantaram (Kindle Edition)
I was recommended this by a friend but found it very hard work. The number of characters was baffling and the minutiae of their backstrories tedious. But most irritating of all was the gangsters; philosophers, savants and scholars to a man...people of more honour and justice than anyone in authority. Nothing like the violent morons most men of violence really are, and I have experience of those. I just could not believe in any of it I'm afraid. There is a good novel in here, but it's not the one he wrote, not in my opinion anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great yarn, 23 May 2012
By 
reader 451 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
Gregory David Roberts's Shantaram is supposed to be partly autobiographical, or at least loosely based on the author's own experience. That the novel is not entirely fictive is part of its appeal, veracity making its white-knuckle-ride of a plot all the more gripping. Still, be aware that Roberts himself has stated that the characters and plot details are imaginary, if grounded in real life.

Shantaram relates the adventures of an escaped Australian convict, named Lin, in Bombay and its underworld. (Roberts himself escaped from an Australian prison and lived in India, and belonged to a Bombay mafia for a number of years.) Lin, having arrived almost by chance, soon grows roots in the great metropolis. He learns Hindi and Marathi, moves into a slum where he works as a doctor, befriends a migrant from a remote rural area, falls in love, saves a bear from prison, rescues an American girl from a notorious madame, and moves on to become a member of the city's most prominent gang, not all in that order. At some stage he is also jailed, and he goes to fight in Afghanistan for a spell (against the Soviets, as this takes place in the 1980s). The story is well told and the style of writing both agreeable and effective. Far from being written like a thriller, indeed, Shantaram has a distinct literary turn, with interesting observations and aphorisms. Perhaps its weakness is that it can be florid, and even preachy, at times. I would describe it as a cross between Paulo Coelho and Vikram Chandra. Anyway, this is well worth reading and is unlikely to disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 16 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
I did enjoy Shantaram, especially the first 3/4 of the book. The descriptions of the slums were superb, if often harrowing. The characters were vividly described as was the way the author related to them all. Some genuine funny moments, I enjoyed the cameo appearance of the bear.The book seemed to shine everytime Prabaker appeared (one of the most likeable characters) - he made me laugh on several occasions. The book benefitted from having a whole range of strong characters as opposed to just the odd one or two.

The author's description of his time in jail was pretty horrific, but never less than fascinating, in a gory sort of way.

However, I didn't think the book quite deserved 5 stars (which is what I thought I'd be awarding it when I was approximately half way through it.) I found the Afghanistan section a little hard going (much like the author I assume). I also agree with the witty criticism of one reviewer who gave it 1 star (a tad harsh!) - every time we got a description of Karla I though we were entering a 6th form English Literature class - with the over the top, flowery language. The book did seem a little long at 900 + pages - I didn't enjoy the last 200 or so nearly as much.

But overall a fine read and I'd highly recommend it despite one of two flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars both brilliant and rubbish - 5 stars and 2 in the same book, 17 May 2013
Rarely have i felt so conflicted in my opinion about a book. At times it is superbly written, with striking imagery, at others he goes completely over the top with the descriptions, metaphors and dodgy cod-philosophy. And a lot of repetition. And an implausibly capable and indestructable hero.

The plot is ambitious and breath taking, but sometimes plain impossible. Eg - PCs in an office in India in the 1980s (they didnt come to the UK until the 1990s), a soapy bath saving the life of someone who is dying of malnutition and bug bites. And the people he meets are never just oridinary - they either have brilliant smiles and wonderful eyes (again and again and again) or scowl at him. He lards it on in trowel-fuls.

That said, it is an excellent yarn and parts are very very funny. But for me it often lacked credibility. Think of middle-brow Boys Own adventure a bit like Wilbur Smith but ponced up with over-egged description, unconvincinging emotional turmoil and ridiculously banal philosophysing. A hugely long book but easy to read. Not the masterpiece the author wants us to believe it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


148 of 168 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sometimes excellent but sometimes awful, 8 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
This book is less a story than an epic journey - with emphasis on 'epic'. At over 900 pages it requires some stamina and will power to finish. Luckily, much of the story is a joy to read: there are parts of this book that are brilliant, for example Lin's experiences in an Indian prison and as a soldier in Afghanistan are truly memorable. The descriptions of Bombay bring vividly to mind a colourful, lively, characterful place which borders on lawlessness but is held together by an 'Indian' warmth and love. Roberts' great respect for India shines through at every stage, even when describing its more ugly aspects.
However, the thing that really lets this book down is its huge sense of its own importance. If this novel were a person, I get the feeling it would be a David Brent style character, with an inflated sense of its own importance in the world, demanding the full attention of everyone like a party bore. It is full of purple prose, some so bad I winced to read it - for example, 'some things are so sad that only your soul can do the crying for you'. It is also full of philosophies on life, drawn out and irrelevant to the story line. The narrator is constantly describing himself as a 'tough man' which grates after a while: we get it, you're very macho and brave and intelligent but also soft and kind and noble. the narrator seems to have a very high opinion of himself. he even tries to put a noble spin on his past crimes by justifying his choice of armed robbery over other crimes such as house burglary.
this book could have been brilliant with a strict editor: if it was halved in length, lost the purple prose and the main character was occasionally weak or stupid (as all human beings are from time to time). it is still brilliant, sometimes. but that is a far cry from what the author was clearly aiming for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mammoth read but worth the effort, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Shantaram (Paperback)
This is certainly an epic and each time I picked it up and read a bit more, I kept looking at the amount of pages left to go and it seemed like I wasn't making a dent in it.
I found this book to be very engaging and I think the author did a really good job of finding humour in his situations (especially the bear that he was sent for some hugging) and it was very well written to be able to put across his sarcasm and mannerisms.
At times, the descriptions of things went on a bit too long and it could have cut the book down a little and you find yourself skimming over those parts. There is also so much to this book that I find it a little difficult to believe that all of it is true - it seems a little far fetched that so much can happen to one person.
Despite those minor things, it is an excellent book and definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 282 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shantaram
Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
£7.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews