Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie apocalypse
Having played triple digit hours on L4D and L4D 2 I decided to give this a try. Well it took me a while to get used to the different gameplay and style (even a single zombie could lead to your doom) but after a while I kinda got used to it. And here comes the game's biggest flaw. As you progress through the game you get to see the same type of zombies over and over again...
Published 23 months ago by CyberNik

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
This game is a fun game for a few hours but I found it really really difficult to continue playing after a while

The game just gets sooo repetitive and the story is just stupid

I got 10 hours out of it... that 10 hours was fun but right now I'm pretty much finished with it
Published on 18 July 2012 by Stephen Gallagher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie apocalypse, 8 Sep 2012
By 
CyberNik (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Having played triple digit hours on L4D and L4D 2 I decided to give this a try. Well it took me a while to get used to the different gameplay and style (even a single zombie could lead to your doom) but after a while I kinda got used to it. And here comes the game's biggest flaw. As you progress through the game you get to see the same type of zombies over and over again but now they are harder to kill. Well, after a couple of hours this tends to be tiring.And boring. Also some quests are ridiculously difficult and force you to drive (or walk)through the same paths over and over again, and each time they are filled with zombies, no matter if you've killed them in a previous quest. Multiplayer makes this less annoying , as you focus in co-ordinating with other players/friends.
Graphics are stunning and gameplay is quite fluid, so no problem there.
If you are a fan of zombie games, you can give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 18 July 2012
By 
Stephen Gallagher "Myth" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is a fun game for a few hours but I found it really really difficult to continue playing after a while

The game just gets sooo repetitive and the story is just stupid

I got 10 hours out of it... that 10 hours was fun but right now I'm pretty much finished with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars zombies what more do you need, 15 Jun 2014
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
one of the few time I agree with the "game of the year" Its one of them games you go back to for fun and mayhem, craft your own weapon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate in gory zombie-killing mayhem, 8 May 2014
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Dead Island is tailor-made for those of us who like to do their killing up-close and personal – and with copious amounts of blood and gore. The only thing better than slicing some Thug’s arms off is to break them instead so you can watch him sling the useless things around before you kill him. I’ve played a lot of shooters in my time, but no FPS shooter compares to the gloriously gory mayhem that is Dead Island. They call it “visualized gore” but I just call it awesome. You leave a gory trail of limbs and torsos behind you as you progress through this game.

The game’s visuals are well-nigh stunning. The island of Banoi is a tropical paradise and looks every bit of it. Unfortunately, some wanker had to go and start a zombie epidemic to ruin everyone’s fun. You have the option of playing as one of four different characters – although my man Sam B. is just too cool for me to play as anyone else. Sam came to Banoi to perform at one of the resorts (basically living off of his one hit song, Who Do You Voodoo? (which is awesome, by the way – I’d totally buy it). He’s also your muscle melee kind of guy who fights the baddies eye to eye. If you want to engage in more gunplay or throwing knives and other sissy stuff like that, choose another character. All of the available characters have one thing in common – for whatever reason, they are immune to the virus. Each of them can still die easily enough, but none of them are going to turn into flesh-eating monsters. The downside to this whole immunity thing is that you (and your partners if you play co-op) pretty much have to do all of the dirty work to help others besides yourselves survive (although Sam B. pretty much cares only about himself). All four characters basically play as a team, which can be a little disconcerting when you play a solo campaign. You’re on your own out there with the zombies, but some cut scenes feature all four of the characters.

You start out with little more than a wooden oar and your fists, but your tools of the zombie-killing trade increase as you go along (as does the strength of the zombies). By killing zombies and completing missions for survivors, you gain experience (and a selection of skills that come with it), better weapons, and cash – and you’ll need plenty of cash to keep your weapons in good shape and to upgrade their effectiveness. Best of all, there are a number of weapon modification plans available that help you to take your zombie slaying to whole new levels. It’s great fun to set a zombie on fire and watch him burn, or to electrocute him, or to bash his head in with one swing – although a plain and simple decapitation gives me more satisfaction than anything else. Oftentimes, the freshly severed head will sort of hover in the air for a second while the rest of the body tumbles to the ground. And then there’s rage mode, which makes you and your fists alone the most powerful killing instrument on Banoi.

The AI could be improved a little bit, but Dead Island still represents quite a challenge. Alongside your run-of-the-mill zombies you’ll face powerful Thugs, Suiciders who can kill you in a second if you get too close to them for too long, Bloaters who spew deadly acid all over the place, and Rams who can run you over and kill you in a heartbeat. You need different strategies to kill different enemies – but they all can become pretty predictable after you’ve faced them a few times.

There’s really only one thing I don’t like about Dead Island. All of the NPC females are butt ugly – heck, some of them look better as zombies than they do in real life. Seriously, what is up with that? You’ve got bikini-clad women all over the island, and you don’t bother to make any of them the least bit attractive. What, did the designers think seeing a cute chick or two would distract me from the whole zombie apocalypse thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
great fun! the story may not be fantastic but that doesnt mean that the game is not enjoyable, i loved it from start to finish and would happily do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ZOMBIES, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This was the cheapest place I found for a new copy of this game, although it didn't install using the disc but instead used Steam to download it all. Not good if you have an internet limit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Beware of stuttering, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Philip G. Brown (Clevedon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I hardly got into the game and so I can't comment on the actual play, but the stuttering just gave me a headache and I had to return it.

Operating System: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.5GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16328MB RAM
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
Device Type: Full Device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Fun, 3 Jan 2014
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Dead Island is a fantastic game. Running the game on the highest settings, the game looks outstanding and the graphics are top notch.

The story line is very good and immersive, albeit sometimes repetitive doing 'collect this & that' missions. There's plenty to do and find on the island with it being completely open world and crafting your own weapons to fight back the hordes of zombies never gets tiring.

A very much recommended game for you zombie lovers out there.

Machine specs:

Intel i7 4820k 10MB Cache 3.7Ghz Quad Core CPU
16GB Corsair XMS 8 RAM
Palit Geforce GTX 660 2GB GPU
Gigabyte x79 Motherboard
1TB Western Digital SATA HDD
Corsair CX750M PSU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great zombie killing, 2 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I don't write a lot of reviews so this will be short. Although I've only started playing it, as far it's incredibly gripping, vast area's to wonder, free to do mission you want, as they become available or do few side missions, found it on Steam for 5 but now that special offer has expired but you never know when it may be on sale again one day, Steam is good for they're deals.
Plays extremely well, support's SLI and Xbox 360 (wired) controller that I try to use with all my games where ever possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starts a bit rubbish ... but..., 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Once you get past the tutorial this really is fun! (I have not killed zombies in reality - but if/when it happens I am ready!).
When you get to the vehicles its like Armaggedon the car game ++
I accidentally played 'Co-op' a few times check the defaults! but not so bad tbh (except the squeeky kids who even then aint bad - but do ask your age - which might be a good thing - annoying for me though - I am wrinkly nearly!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standard Edition - Dead Island - Game of the Year (PC DVD)
21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews