Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

70
3.8 out of 5 stars
Dead Island: Game of the Year Edition (PS3)
Platform: PlayStation 3Edition: Standard EditionChange
Price:£14.89+£2.03shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on 30 October 2012
When I first saw the advert for this I was intruiged but then when the game came out and reviews started to appear I was slightly crestfallen. Most of the reviews reported a good game but with deal-breaking glitches that made it unplayable.

Firstly, I am happy to report that these issues have been sorted in the game of the year edition so you don't need to worry about that and you can just enjoy the game.

Now, onto the game itself. The story is nothing new, survivors in a zombie apocalypse somehow immune to the infection trying to survive and helping others. The greatness of this game is not in the story though, it's in the gameplay.

There are four characters, each with their own attributes and play styles. I am currently playing as Xian Mei, a character with low health but very high speed and stamina. This means you can't go charging in as you'll get slaughtered. On the other side there are characters like Sam B who is a tank and can absorb much more damage and is more powerful. Just having these different characters adds a huge amount of replayability. The game is huge anyway and add in the fact there are 4 characters that you need to play in completely different ways means that this game will last a very long time.

Each character can be upgraded by adding skill points to skill trees. There are three trees to populate: fury, combat and survival. Each upgrade grants either or a new ability like being able to throw a weapon further or some kind of benefit like certain activities that replenish your stamina. Each character has different skills that can be upgraded, again adding to the strategy of how you want to play using a specific character. For example, one character is excellent at ranged attacks but not great at up close so you would want to focus your upgrades on ranged skills.

The game allows up to four players, playing each of the four characters who can go through the missons together. This allows the different skills of the characters to compliment eachother. For example, Xian Mei has a skill that does increased damage from behind and Sam B is great at absorbing damage so you could have Sam B get the attention of a group while Xian runs around stabbing them from behind while Purna or Logan attacks from a safe sniper point. The game can also be played solo which of course adds to the difficulty. I prefer playing solo as other people are likely to not play in the same way I do and annoy me!

The game is mission based and these missions lead you all over the island, which is massive and has lots of different environments from a jungle to a beach resort to a city. The side missions do tend to be fairly generic but the gameplay is so much fun that you don't really care. The atmosphere is really spooky and just getting from A to B can be a challenge if you come across groups of zombies or certain more powerful enemies. Doing the side missions is definitely worth it as it not only extends the life of the game but it provides XP to level up and also gives you modifications for your weapons, new weapons or lots of cash.

Speaking of weapons, there are sharp ones, blunt ones and firearms which gives a LOT of variety. You can find anything from katanas to chainsaws to baseball bats to oars. Where the fun really comes in though is the ability to "mod" your weapons. This involves adding a certain feature to your weapons such as electrifying the blade of your machete so that you electrocute the zombies you attack. There are lots of mods, including fire based, electricity based, impact based, poison based etc. You haven't lived if you haven't seen a 7 foot zombie jiggling around while being electrocuted or a group of zombies puking after you've hit them with a poison modded weapon. As mentioned, there are guns but to be honest I only use these if I have no other choice as the ammo is very scarce and more importantly they ruin the fun of getting up close and personal.

The zombies are made up of several different types, ranging from your run of the mill Romerez style shambling zombie to insane infected who sprint at you from nowhere. There are also "special" zombies including ones that explode if you get too close, ones that are just overly strong, ones that puke at you and ones that charge at you like a rhino. I'll just say this, wait until you see the butcher. You'll need a new pair of pants. To emphasise this point, my girlfriend, who is a horror fan and loves games like dead space etc loves to watch me play Dead Island but refuses to play it herself because she's too scared.

The graphics and voice acting is excellent and it is really a nice change to have the different characters have different accents, not just the same annoying californian whining all the way through. The island is meant to be near Australia so there are obviously Australian accents but so far I've also come across English, Russian, Korean, Chinese, American, German and Italian characters. The graphics really shine in the surroundings, there are some truly stunning views to be found on the island and the dingy city is done really well too, all adding to the atmosphere.

So, to wrap up, this is an excellent game. Great fun and really gets your heart pumping as a proper zombie game should. Most importantly, the glitches are now fixed so now the game can shine. I've seen some people compare this to Far Cry and let me just say, this is much, much better. Far Cry is Dead Island's bitch.

Apologies for the long review but I like to be thorough! Get this, you won't be disappointed, especially at this price.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 9 January 2013
At first I loved this game, it offers allot of places to explore. the graphics are great. But where it fails at is after playing the game a couple of hours you can expect the game to get somewhat repetitive as zombies tend to respawn immediately after you go down a round and turn around making it a pain if you need to go back for health or took the wrong way.
And while I understand if you killed all the zombies it wouldn't be classed as dead island but I would just of liked to see them gradually come back over time.

The Story also gets repetitive as at first it gets interesting when you help the survivors get a base/HQ, then you help them improve it/ clear the place up and you can see it over time getting better.... after that the missions just get boring as all the characters ask of you is to keep looking for food etc in far away places which is plain annoying,

The game also feels like it was made for 2+ more players etc in mind, as when you die you respawn like you would playing a online game, and it would be great playing with your buddy mashing up zombies together, but on your own its allot more duller.

So Yeah its not a bad game for £10 and would last you easily 20+ hours but I recommend playing with someone else when doing the boring missions
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 17 August 2012
S T O R Y

The island of Banoi is the hotspot where flesh-eating freaks are just dying to meet you! You play as one of four main characters, each of them possessing a variety of skills and knowing ways to dismember zombies. The island becomes overrun with a contagious infection and it becomes a race against time to escape your designated hotel. From there on you meet lifeguard John Sinamoi, who have banded together a group of survivors. The tropical island is no longer safe, which encourages the survivors to head for the nearby city of Moresby. The root of the infection is unknown, but the foursome has somehow been immune to the infection and it's this very matter that determines their fate.

The story is nothing to shout about; it's very reminiscent of zombie movies preceded by the name of George A. Romero. The RPG element of the game adds a little depth and conveys the struggles of other survivors.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D

The island of Banoi is beautifully crafted, golden beaches glisten in the sun, palm trees elegantly sway back and forth, and crystal clear water ripples gracefully. The vibrancy of the island really pulls it out and showcases very slick art direction. The island is absolutely huge in size and very meticulously crafted. Dead Island is dripping in atmosphere; it wants to show you something new, wherever you decide to go. There's eeriness about the island, despite its sunny outlook and glitzy recreational areas.

As mentioned before the island is huge and split into various sectors: the beach is a terrifying mistress, as walking into abandoned shacks and huts presents a sense of dread, venturing to the city is a real-eye opener where the scale of the outbreak really hits home, streets and alleyways hold hordes of the undead, making it a nervy experience when navigating through challenging areas. The art direction and attention to detail is fantastic throughout the game. The zombies are very grizzly creations, displaying rotting flesh, tattered clothing, and hungrily stumbling towards you like any undead killer freak should. Animations are impressive and the zombies make a chilling impact when they are in the mood to dash towards in an insane fashion.

The soundtrack is foreboding and dark, perfectly blending into moments of calm, or when the going gets tough. Voice acting is commendable, some of the accents are forced and don't feel natural, but this doesn't tarnish the overall application of it. Sound design is strong; beating the undead freaks is sure to provide plenty of audio feedback.

Unfortunately, Dead Island is littered with texture pop-in and It can be a glaringly obvious problem at times. Textures will often load during gameplay, and in some cases not fully load at all. Occasionally the audio suffers and cuts out during NPC speech and sound effects seem to repeat on loops.

G A M E P L A Y

Dead Island's goes beyond brainless zombie massacring. The RPG element gives each playable character substance and a sense of empowerment. The experience is structured via story missions and side quests. The story keeps you moving across the island and interacting with the local citizens. Side quests focus on helping smaller pockets of island residents and completing minor tasks for them. Missions can be a mixed bag, some require you to find supplies, others may need you to escort people, and tougher assignments may have you battling against countless enemies. Getting from mission to mission is easiest when in a vehicle, and it's satisfying to get all GTA happy when running down zombies. Wherever you go, the zombies are never far behind and remain a constant thorn in your side. A levelling system is in place to allocate points to certain skills. There are skill trees, which can boost your survival, combat and fury (rage power) properties. The more you level up then the more formidable you will become against tougher enemies.

Weapons, weapons and more weapons! The list is endless when it comes to slaying a zombie. Many weapons can be found when roaming environments, but their condition doesn't always make them suitable for prolonged combat. As the game progresses you can acquire stronger weapons, which are a real delight to wield. The fun doesn't just end there; weapons can be upgraded and modified with accessories. Why have an ordinary baseball bat? When you can have a baseball bat covered in nails, or even supported with an shock mod to electrify enemies. The combat is highly addictive, but it is wise to not bite off more than you can chew (that doesn't apply to a zombie). Hacking and slashing repeatedly will drain stamina and render you ineffective for a little while. Aiming for the head is the key, but if you face tougher enemies then keeping your distance is a wise strategy. Repairing weapons is very handy, which keeps them fresh and extends their usage. Firearms are also available, but this takes away from the visceral combat and aren't very fun to use.

Some missions can take a very linear approach in order to introduce diverse environments, which can restrict freedom and confine navigation. Side quests can become recycled affairs when travelling to new areas,

O V E R A L L

Dead Island is a surprise package and bursting with a meaty campaign. There's a good 20-30 hours of zombie madness to get stuck into. The story is generic, but it does enough to bind the survivors together. The island is gorgeous and screams an evocative atmosphere. The gameplay is outright fun and the melee combat is a visceral experience. Banoi island may not have the tourists swarming in, but the walking dead provide you with plenty of `entertainment'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2013
One of the best zombie games I have ever played. At a fantastic price, it has a brilliant multi-player function, which is unrestricted (as far as I can tell), allowing you to play with friends who are different levels to you, replay past missions etc. It has a great range of different terrains, which is a series of fantastic free roam areas, different types of enemies, constantly keeping you on your toes.

To sum up, a great game, at a great price
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 19 December 2013
I spent a few hours playing this yesterday and was shocked that, despite the open world style, this game relies on a checkpoint style save method. If it was a linear game such as the last of us, a checkpoint system is fine, but finding yourself on the other side of the map after being killed is not a welcome discovery in such a vast game.
Game play, otherwise, is decent, a little repetitive but nevertheless fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 July 2014
Ok, so where to start? Like quite a few of the other reviewers, I came to this game as firstly a PS3 owner who enjoys first-person perspective games but also as someone who likes zombies and the zombie horror genre. A combination of both? Is it too good to be true? As I bought a secondhand copy at a very reasonable price, not a huge risk, or so I thought. All in all there are both pros and cons to this game ....

Pros:
Good graphics - the survivors, zombies and environments are decently rendered and detailed .... and realistic too (accepting that this is a horror game about a zombie apocalypse)
Good sound - the inanimate objects make the sounds you would expect them to make, there is a suitable range of accents for what seems to be an international holiday resort and the zombies make a acceptable range of grunts, screams, gurgling and eating noises
Interesting scenario - unlike most zombie films or novels, which are often set in urban or mid-west America (with one or two notable exceptions) this is set on a tropical paradise, with the game kicking off in a holiday resort / hotel
Control interface - can take a little while to get used to but when when you have, it works well enough
Huge range of weapons - many of which can be upgraded or used as the basis for conversions
Role Playing aspects - upgrade skills as you progress, damage can be overcome by eating / drinking things or using medkits
Co-op play - although I only played this as a single player, I can see this being an enjoyable feature
Wide range of missions (both main plot and side missions)

Cons:
Repetitiveness - as others have pointed out, the missions can a get a little 'samey' at times
Zombie spawning - as with Far Cry 2, it gets irritating when you clear your path to an objective, do what you have to do in a relatively short space of time, go back the way you came and have to fight exactly the same number of zombies again who have just magically repopulated your path extremely quickly
Glitches - even with the GOTY edition and it being updated to v1.3.0 there are still glitches .... some are useful (such as weapon duplication) but others remain a right pain. The main ones I came across were sudden death in a fight (no perceptible reason), a zombie disappearing through the floor taking all the blades and machetes you'd thrown with him and the killer one, indeed one mentioned by other reviewers - the checkpoint system. Having got over 60% through the game, I was driving the armoured car to the next mission when I stopped off at the Lighthouse in the resort map as I wanted to do the side mission centred on getting some flares from a wreck .... the game suddenly took exception to this and declared that the quest had failed, the save point being in the Lighthouse and the armoured car back next to the Lifeguard Tower with only about 20 seconds to get there! The many hours of play I'd put in all suddenly for nought.

So, what can I say? Not a bad game, with quite a few good points (the zombie bashing is great) but with a few bad points, one of which should make buying this game a careful decision.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 April 2014
For some reason I ended up playing two Techland games in a row and this is like the gaming equivalent of watching two Uwe Boll movies back to back, for anyone not familiar with his work this is not a good thing.
We all saw the amazing trailer for this game and decided o the spot that this was a must have title. Unfortunately this was the biggest case of miss-selling since PPI in the mid 90s! The trailer had atmosphere, character and emotion which is basically everything lacking from this game. Luckily enough I only purchased this game when it went down to a more reasonable budget price but even then I still have the feeling that I spent too much.
Ok zombies are the go to thing at the moment and when done well like The Last of Us and The Walking Dead they can be quite an enjoyable sub genre of horror games, unfortunately for every one of these classics you have a Resident Evil 6 and a Dead Island.
The developers I guess decided to do away with any emotion whatsoever when making this game so you have no humour, no emotion, just plenty of mind numbingly boring missions which I hesitate to call missions as they are just really a bunch of fetch quests.
The one thing this title attempts to do well is give you value for money as unlike most of this generation this game will last longer than the time it takes to blink. However, this games depth stretches as far as walk, kick, slash, repeat, get to point b and pick up a box/flip switch, kick, slash repeat and return to point a.
This games major selling point I guess is its co op functionality but all that does is spread the boredom around with your friends.
I also have the sequel in my mountain of shame and I won’t be in a rush to play it any time soon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 10 May 2014
Unfortunately I got the glitches version. got 86% of the way thru and got to a part where a lot of people have had the same problem....your character respawning post death and losing all weapons whilst the hoard of zombies you have to kill are respawn in perfect health (if you know what I mean), which now makes the game, after almost 40 hours, completely unplayable. Shame, because it is a great game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
When I bought this, there was no indication as far as I could see that as a single player you would STRUGGLE to survive in this game solo and that it was really intended for those who have tons of PS3 friends and buddies to pair up and play with. For me, that just didn't cut it. I enjoyed the first few parts of the game until I discovered that as your character starts to level/rank up, so do the Zombies, and the game gets ridiculously unfair and unplayable solo. Inviting people to play become troublesome as higher ranking players don't want to back track/restart to help.

As I'm not much of a Multiplayer in games like this (more of an MMORPG person) I wasn't impressed to discover this and so it's gone to the bottom shelf with the other games I've lost interest in playing. Normally I hate to leave a game that hasn't been completed but here I have no choice. Very disappointing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 January 2013
Dead island has excellent graphics and a strong melee concept based game. The storyline is decent and the gametime is fairly lengthy also there is five characters in the game. (Game of the year edition anyway)
While it is highly amusing attacking zombies throughout the whole game it does get slightly repetitive while the enemies come back and get stronger as you improve yourself.
If you love zombies, i think you would like the game for this value as you can't go far wrong for a tenner.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Dead Island: Game of the Year Edition (PS3)
Dead Island: Game of the Year Edition (PS3) by Deep Silver (PlayStation 3)
£9.03

Dead Island Riptide (PS3)
Dead Island Riptide (PS3) by Deep Silver (PlayStation 3)
£4.29

Dead Island Double Pack (PS3)
Dead Island Double Pack (PS3) by Deep Silver (PlayStation 3)
£12.89
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.