Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film
Arrived within a couple of days - Great film though not for faint hearted and don't miss the ending whatever you do...
Published 19 months ago by Arnie - Manchester

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
`13' is about a young man who's down on his luck, so he thinks he gets a break when he takes the identity of someone else who might be in line for a good job. However, it all goes a little wrong when he finds out that the `good job' is taking part in a `Russian Roulette' tournament for the amusement of some shady gangsters.

And that's about it. The film isn't...
Published 21 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [DVD] (DVD)
`13' is about a young man who's down on his luck, so he thinks he gets a break when he takes the identity of someone else who might be in line for a good job. However, it all goes a little wrong when he finds out that the `good job' is taking part in a `Russian Roulette' tournament for the amusement of some shady gangsters.

And that's about it. The film isn't overly long and the main part of it is set in the `arena' (out-of-the-way warehouse) where the `players' hold guns to each others' heads and then pull the trigger on command of a shouty man up a ladder (who some people apparently found scary while I found him a bit comical as he only yells the same lines loudly, again and again throughout the whole film).

The reason the film is called `13' is because our begrudging hero is number 13 in the game. And, seeing as the film is about him, you may hazard a guess that he doesn't blow his brains out in the first round.

For an `indie' flick there are some other reasonably high-profile names in the cast - namely Mickey Rourke, Ray Winstone and Jason Statham (although, for all you Statham fans, this is NOT one of his action films). There is little `action' just the tension of one round of Russian Roulette after the next.

It's not a bad film, I'm just not sure who it is intended for - it's sort of a gangster thriller with an attempt at injecting a bit of human drama into it.

Having looked online at what other people thought about it, it appears that whether you like it or not will depend on your views on the ending (so you're going to have to sit through the whole film before you see what I mean by that). There are worse ways to kill just over an hour (Russian Roulette for one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived within a couple of days - Great film though not for faint hearted and don't miss the ending whatever you do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE FILM CAST LOOKED REALLY GOOD., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [DVD] (DVD)
Slightly off beat theme to the usual Statham films I have watched. In the end I concluded that the film was not one of his best, with a poor outcome which promised more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd., 5 May 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Goddard "Carol G." (Surrey /England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [DVD] (DVD)
My husband likes jason statham and this dvd is one of his good ones.he really enjoyed it i`m glad I got it for him..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thirteen, 23 April 2013
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [DVD] (DVD)
good film i watched it wiv my missus she enjoy it i have nice night thr guys were great. i will watch again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be too quick to ignore ....., 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There's a few negative reviews here, but watch this with no Pre conceptions,& it's actually not a bad film!! Statham isn't special, to be sure, but he plays his part perfectly. The film concentrates on the plot of Russian Roulette for BIG gambling money, using down & outs as cannon fodder, with a big pot as a lure.Personally I thought they did a fair job here, 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 13 - an unlucky number, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [DVD] (DVD)
I read a review of this before I bought it which said that watching this film is something that will fill in time! Yes that just about sums it up. It's a strange film because it has really good actors in it such as Ray Winstone, Mickey Rourke, Ben Gazzara, the lovely Jason Statham and Curtis '50 cent' Jackson yet I have no idea of the name of the main character! Well if you want to watch people being shot in the head then this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Mr M Reynolds (Bournemouth England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You cant believe it ever being real but the cast is brilliant very un-predictable ending.
I watched it twice in one week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 15 July 2014
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its okish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Thirteen) [DVD] (DVD)
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

13 (Thirteen) [DVD]
13 (Thirteen) [DVD] by Géla Babluani (DVD - 2012)
£5.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews