Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smallest LivingColor model
As the review title suggests this is the smallest of Phillips LivingColor mood lights. In total, at time of writing, there are five different LivingColor models. Three come with a remote control to select colour and a range of other options including colour intensity and brightness. Other models display a wider range of colours - up to 16 million - and produce more light...
Published 21 months ago by Paul S Ell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not great.
Good choice of colours if rather difficult to set.
Can only be pointed at one angle. I wanted it to point higher but have to settle with the angle that the outer case is set to.
When one picks it up to move it, one is rather inclined to accidentally change the colour at the same time, as the colour-changing guage is across the top exactly where one's hand goes...
Published 13 months ago by A. J. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smallest LivingColor model, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Paul S Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the review title suggests this is the smallest of Phillips LivingColor mood lights. In total, at time of writing, there are five different LivingColor models. Three come with a remote control to select colour and a range of other options including colour intensity and brightness. Other models display a wider range of colours - up to 16 million - and produce more light. The remote models can also be synchronised to turn on from one remote and display the same colours.

While restricted to 64 colours the light seems to pretty much produce any shade of colour you might want. And although you can't change the level of colour intensity - which essentially means adding more white light - the lamp produces intense light which I think is rather good. The light is also fairly bright bearing in mind that this is a small lamp.

One of the selling point of the Micro lamp is that it can be hidden away in compact spaces. There are two problems with this. First the power cable is not particularly long at a couple of metres so the lamp needs to be near to a power point. Second, the lamp does not come with a remote control, all of the settings being on top of the lamp. To turn it on and offer, and select colours, you need to access the lamp itself. This is a real problem for a light meant to be hidden away. Further, because it's small you'll perhaps want to buy more than one but the lack of a common remote and synchronisation means each needs to be turned on individually. Another significant limiting factor.

So overall, the lamp produces a surprisingly comprehensive and strong range of colours and is very compact. It's ideal to hide in a corner, facing a wall, and perhaps have several of them. But the lack of remote control and a long power cable, reduces placement options. I'd suggest potential buyers look at the remote control LivingColor models but these are larger. So maybe Phillips should think of adding a remote control.

Good as far as it goes, but it could be better so three stars, verging on four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb mood lights, 11 April 2014
By 
Dave Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
I now have three of these, bought each time the price becomes reasonable. They make great mood lights, night lights, evening lights etc. Quite bright, but not suitable as a reading light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
Great light we have it behind the tv facing the wall it looks great at night, its currently on the colour red but it has so many different colours its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Little Device, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
The device works very well at rendering the different colours with smooth transitions between each colour change. The lighting effect is nice and vibrant, great for kids bedrooms and mood lighting. The unit is small enough to fit in the palm of my hand and very light making it portable. The power lead is about 1.8 meters and with no additional power block attached.

Changing colours is very responsive and achieved by just touching the desired colour on the control strip at the back of the unit. Although, I have noticed that sometimes when trying to turn the unit off requires a double tap of the off position because the first tap didn't register.

There is also no remote included so accessibility of the unit's controls should be taken into account when placing in high reach areas. This is a great little device, however the original selling price seems much too high to justify a purchase in my opinion. I purchased this at Amazons discounted price of 29.99 which seems a little more reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool light effect, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed having this, it adds to the ambiance of my living room with its funky colours. The choice of having the various colours or just the one is good. Recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant light for my father, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
Very happy with this light, it is used in the care home he is in to give a better ambiance in his room. My mother is very happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
Brilliant lights up the wall behind my TV just the way I hoped it would. Will buy another one for my grand daughters bed room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing., 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice size with a good selection of colours. I prefer to have mine on the varied colours. The colours are soft but you do get quite a noticeable amout of light from it depending on the position. The cable length is just right for us fir where we position it. Stays cool to touch even after hours of use. My son keeps moving it into his room so might need to invest in another for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Awesome., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple to use. Plug in and you're off. Simple tap control and it really sets the mood. Thought about buying another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible little light, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For something that is barely bigger than the size of a softball, this little light packs a mean little punch of light that bathes the room in a nice ambient glow without being too bright or obnoxiously overwhelming (do be aware though that the larger the room, the less effective the light might seem)

The controls are simple to use; the button needs hardly if ANY pressure to turn the unit on, and changing the colour of the light is as simple as sweeping a finger gently across the rainbow panel on the back. I think the accessibility of the control would really suit someone with limited mobility in their hands (someone who perhaps had suffered a stroke, or who has arthritis and finds it hard to use buttons that require any kind of pressure). There isn't any remote for this one (as it's on the cheaper end of the scale) but don't let that put you off purchasing this more reasonably priced little unit.

I do agree with other reviewers that I'm not completely convinced this can achieve as many colours as Philips claims it does, but it does have a nice little range all the same; if you're looking for a cold bright LED blue to soothe a stressed mind, you'll find it here, and if you want a nice red to give a sexy 'red light' vibe to your bedroom, this will help, and if you want to make a room look a little more inviting and warm, using the yellow/orange tones really do help create a nice cosy atmosphere. Looks very nice in the dark, isn't overly bright and doesn't give you a headache; creates the perfect ambience and you'll find it with a little experimentation.

Is very small and fits quite nicely in most places, however, unfortunately it can't sit any place other than flat down on a surface with it's angle tilted up (as pictured) - there's no adaption for a fitting to a wall or a ceiling and the AC adaptor wire isn't all that long so you may find yourself limited to where it can be placed.

I highly recommend Philips take the next step with these lights and alter them to be rechargable like the Imageo candle lights (also by Philips) so that these nifty little units can be taken to areas like bathrooms or outdoors.

Just very impressed, and have already ordered the larger unit. Am very happy with my light and am already thinking of buying more of them and putting them away as Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews