Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smallest LivingColor model
As the review title suggests this is the smallest of Phillips LivingColor mood lights. In total, at time of writing, there are five different LivingColor models. Three come with a remote control to select colour and a range of other options including colour intensity and brightness. Other models display a wider range of colours - up to 16 million - and produce more light...
Published 18 months ago by Paul S. Ell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grapefruit sized lamp
I had wanted one of these for ages and when i saw this on sale i thought wow cool.

However its tiny.

Its about the size of a grapefruit to give you a better idea, it does throw off some light, but certainly not enough to light up a whole room.

I was very disappointed in mine but i think im going to save up and buy the more expensive ones,...
Published 12 months ago by Beanie Luck Spud


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smallest LivingColor model, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Paul S. Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the review title suggests this is the smallest of Phillips LivingColor mood lights. In total, at time of writing, there are five different LivingColor models. Three come with a remote control to select colour and a range of other options including colour intensity and brightness. Other models display a wider range of colours - up to 16 million - and produce more light. The remote models can also be synchronised to turn on from one remote and display the same colours.

While restricted to 64 colours the light seems to pretty much produce any shade of colour you might want. And although you can't change the level of colour intensity - which essentially means adding more white light - the lamp produces intense light which I think is rather good. The light is also fairly bright bearing in mind that this is a small lamp.

One of the selling point of the Micro lamp is that it can be hidden away in compact spaces. There are two problems with this. First the power cable is not particularly long at a couple of metres so the lamp needs to be near to a power point. Second, the lamp does not come with a remote control, all of the settings being on top of the lamp. To turn it on and offer, and select colours, you need to access the lamp itself. This is a real problem for a light meant to be hidden away. Further, because it's small you'll perhaps want to buy more than one but the lack of a common remote and synchronisation means each needs to be turned on individually. Another significant limiting factor.

So overall, the lamp produces a surprisingly comprehensive and strong range of colours and is very compact. It's ideal to hide in a corner, facing a wall, and perhaps have several of them. But the lack of remote control and a long power cable, reduces placement options. I'd suggest potential buyers look at the remote control LivingColor models but these are larger. So maybe Phillips should think of adding a remote control.

Good as far as it goes, but it could be better so three stars, verging on four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible little light, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For something that is barely bigger than the size of a softball, this little light packs a mean little punch of light that bathes the room in a nice ambient glow without being too bright or obnoxiously overwhelming (do be aware though that the larger the room, the less effective the light might seem)

The controls are simple to use; the button needs hardly if ANY pressure to turn the unit on, and changing the colour of the light is as simple as sweeping a finger gently across the rainbow panel on the back. I think the accessibility of the control would really suit someone with limited mobility in their hands (someone who perhaps had suffered a stroke, or who has arthritis and finds it hard to use buttons that require any kind of pressure). There isn't any remote for this one (as it's on the cheaper end of the scale) but don't let that put you off purchasing this more reasonably priced little unit.

I do agree with other reviewers that I'm not completely convinced this can achieve as many colours as Philips claims it does, but it does have a nice little range all the same; if you're looking for a cold bright LED blue to soothe a stressed mind, you'll find it here, and if you want a nice red to give a sexy 'red light' vibe to your bedroom, this will help, and if you want to make a room look a little more inviting and warm, using the yellow/orange tones really do help create a nice cosy atmosphere. Looks very nice in the dark, isn't overly bright and doesn't give you a headache; creates the perfect ambience and you'll find it with a little experimentation.

Is very small and fits quite nicely in most places, however, unfortunately it can't sit any place other than flat down on a surface with it's angle tilted up (as pictured) - there's no adaption for a fitting to a wall or a ceiling and the AC adaptor wire isn't all that long so you may find yourself limited to where it can be placed.

I highly recommend Philips take the next step with these lights and alter them to be rechargable like the Imageo candle lights (also by Philips) so that these nifty little units can be taken to areas like bathrooms or outdoors.

Just very impressed, and have already ordered the larger unit. Am very happy with my light and am already thinking of buying more of them and putting them away as Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of light for such a little lamp, 19 May 2013
By 
Miss Robinson (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
This is a great little gadget for adding a "feel" to a room! Just aim it at a corner & instantly your room is transformed. Cold? Try a warm orange or red to feel cosy. Hot? Try a cool blue. Migrane / headache? Try a soothing yellow or green, it works! There is also the auto-change function, contrary to other reviews, the manual tells you how to set this & once you have, the lamp cycles through all of the colours smoothly. A great product I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge before trying it out!, 19 Mar 2013
By 
McStick (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to admit, I was guilty of doing judging this product prior to trying it out. I thought it was going to be another tacky, gimmicky product, which would serve absolutely no useful purpose whatsoever. Then I turned it on (and got blinded in the process, mainly because I didn't know how to work it) and was surprised at the effect it created.

After rapidly overcoming my initial concerns however, I now have to say that I really like it, and while the continuous colour changing mode makes it look like you're having a disco, it does cast a lovely glow across the room. Obviously, there are some of the static colours I like more than others (oranges, yellows and blues) and I think that it really adds an interest to the room.

Don't make the mistake that I did though and position it so the light it pointing out into the room - it is only a 5 watt LED, however it is super bright! Instead, position it so it is pointing towards a wall and then it will give a lovely glow on the wall. I'm really glad I found this product now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple little mood lamp with a ton of colours, 6 Nov 2012
By 
I. Mcintosh "Ian Mc" (Great Yarmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of two Phillips mood lamps we have and absolutely love.

Its bigger brother, the Philips LivingColors Gen 3 Bloom Black 70997/30/PU comes with a remote and a couple of extra features but to be fair, this little lamp is perfect to warm a good size room.

Its small enough to hide behind furniture or plants and colours are changed by swiping your finger across the top of the lamp between a spectrum of 64 different colours. There's also an automatic mode you can enable so colours change automatically.

We recently used this lamp on Halloween, pointing it at our window behind a huge spider printed transparent cloth and some other ghouls and ghosts. We set the lamp to a nice deep green colour and it made the room look really spooky from the outside
We now have it back in the main room creating a really lovely cosy warm atmosphere , perfect for a winters night.

A nice simple lamp with a ton of colours, I would definitely recommend this Phillips mood light. Or its bigger brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Jan 2014
By 
I have bought 3 of it to use in one room & i am loving it so much & it's really worth much more than 60 the quality is very good & nice designed & finally easy to use
:--------------)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philips Living Colors Micro Light - fab !, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
Reallly pleased with light - so simple to use (even a child could do it !) just press on the colour bar to chose a colour - or hold finger on the blue and it's automatically goes to "rainbow" mode. I've got it on a shelf behind the TV (instant back lit TV !) It's good that the cable can be unplugged - so I fed it behind the shelf. I was going to get the bigger model - but glad I just tried this smaller one - as it adequately does the job and for much less money. Overall pleased and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An effective way to brighten a dark corner, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
I have a dark corner in my kitchen which was in much need of brightening up and I dislike bright sharp lights. When my son mentioned this I was half hearted but thought, nothing ventured nothing gained and bought one. I'm so pleased that I did. I use it for soft warm tones and I find it quite comforting, especially on cold wintry evenings. If I were looking for some drama, I could choose another colour from the comprehensive spectrum available. Very practical, but fun too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good toy, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Micro White 70018/31/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this item a week ago, and keep it on 24 hours a day thanks to the low energy consumption.
function is simple but essential, 64 colours set to auto cycle fits me well.
I found 2 things about this light which could be improved:
1) power cord, it is a 5V 4.7W bulb, why not just have a standard USB lead with a USB mains charger ?
2) during colour cycle, the red colour stays really short time and it becomes very dark, then moving on to other colours with reasonable light intensity.

Having said that, I still think this is a nice toy and definitely recommended to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little lamp, 15 May 2013
By 
Ash - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very nice little lamp. Smaller than I was expecting, enabling it to be easily hidden but this lamp is very well built although the power cable isn't particularly long, probably only a couple of metres.

The light has 64 different colours/shades that it can cycle through offering less than the full sized lamps, but still a great selection.

The main downsides to this is that the light brightness cannot be changed which is slightly annoying. But more annoying is the fact that you have to access the light itself to change the settings which makes it slightly awkward to use. Especially given the fact that, as a micro lamp, it is designed to be hidden so having to access it to make any changes, is somewhat unintuitive.

Despite those negatives, however, it is still a great smaller version to Philips colour changing lamp range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab46cf84)

This product

Only search this product's reviews