Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish mood light
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:33 Mins
Unlike previous versions the livingcolors iris has a fixed power lead, approx. 1.8m long, terminated in a UK power adapter. A basic Quick Start Guide is supplied, with the full manual being available on the Philips website.
Light output is given as 210 lumens which, I think, is roughly equivalent to a 25W incandescent bulb. The unit is...
Published on 22 Oct. 2012 by L Williams

versus
72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the great things of the Gen 2 are gone in the Gen 3
I've a number of living colour devices and I've recently added a Gen 3 Iris lamp. The Gen 3 device feels cheaper.

The power adapter is wired in. this makes it impossible to thread the cable through a wall conduit or a hole in cabinet/desk, unlike the gen 2 in which the power adapter connected via a plug on the bottom of the device. This is a real cheap move by...
Published on 8 Dec. 2012 by C. Pitchford


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish mood light, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Black (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 2:33 Mins

Unlike previous versions the livingcolors iris has a fixed power lead, approx. 1.8m long, terminated in a UK power adapter. A basic Quick Start Guide is supplied, with the full manual being available on the Philips website.
Light output is given as 210 lumens which, I think, is roughly equivalent to a 25W incandescent bulb. The unit is supplied with a circular remote control which controls the on-off, colour, brightness and intensity (saturation); there are also 2 favourite preset buttons which can be used to set a colour, brightness and intensity.
A white light is available by reducing the intensity (saturation). There is an option for an automatic colour change and you can vary the speed of the change by rotating the colour wheel, according to Philips there are 20 steps; because there is a slow colour change it is hard to say how long the lamp stays on one colour but at the slowest it appears to be several minutes.
According to Philips you can link several livingcolor iris units to one remote control and also link remote control units together.
In the video I've tried to show some of the features. It is well made and comes with a 2 year warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the great things of the Gen 2 are gone in the Gen 3, 8 Dec. 2012
By 
C. Pitchford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Black (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I've a number of living colour devices and I've recently added a Gen 3 Iris lamp. The Gen 3 device feels cheaper.

The power adapter is wired in. this makes it impossible to thread the cable through a wall conduit or a hole in cabinet/desk, unlike the gen 2 in which the power adapter connected via a plug on the bottom of the device. This is a real cheap move by Phillips. I personally detest fixed power cables.. scrimping on a plug and socket is just rude!

The remote control feels cheap compared to the gen2 round control.

Gen 3 round control: 2 pre-sets only, colour is set via turning mechnical wheel to cycle though colours, cannot control lamps individually
Gen 2 round control: 3 pre-sets, colour can be set instantly by touching the selected colour, can control all or individual lamps.

The gen 2 round control will control this gen 3 lamp as well, so its not a problem if you already have a gen 2 device but its a bit of a let down if you only have gen 3 devices.. not being able to set colours individually from a single remote is a bit lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One cool device, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Alien937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Black (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wanted this lamp to provide backlighting behind a TV (in a dimly-lit room a backlit TV can apparently reduce eye strain), but I wasn't sure if it would work. Nowhere in Philips's tech specs did it mention how the remote operated; i.e. was it via infrared? If it was, the TV would block the remote's signal, stymieing the idea altogether. Fortunately, the remote operates using either Bluetooth or RF, so it works just fine without the lamp needing to be in a clear line of sight of it.

The remote can be a bit confusing at first. The colours are arranged in a ring around a dial. Intuitively, you'd think that turning the dial to the colour you want is all you need to do, but this results in hardly any change in colour at all. This is because it requires many 360° turns of the dial in order to cycle through the colours. The ring of colours on the remote should be viewed as an indicator of the order in which the colours change, not as an indicator of where you need to turn the dial. Once you understand this it's plain sailing, although it did confuse me at first (to the point where I thought the lamp was defective).

In operation, this is one cool device - literally. It doesn't get warm no matter how long you have it on. It's equally cool how easily you can change the colour, brightness and saturation of the light, store your favourite settings, or set it to automatically cycle through all of the available colours. The base of the device is a circle "cut out" of the lamp's semi-spherical shape, making it better suited to placement on a flat surface rather than carpet. This is hardly a deal-breaker though: if you want to place it on carpet just find something flat to place it on (a decent-sized coaster would do; the lamp's footprint really is very small).

This lamp is an excellent choice for backlighting a TV (the effect is quite stunning, even in daylight), or for providing a dash of mood-altering coloured light anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mood Lighting., 13 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. M. Wilson "shortbreak" (London area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Black (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I spent ages searching for an ideal product that would 'backlight' my wall-mounted flat screen TV avoiding screen glare and came across this little beauty! It has an ideal footprint for the glass hi-fi table and is discreet in it's appearance so there is no glare from the lamp when it is on. A great range of colours and as stated, a prefect mood lighting unit! It did take a while to fully understand the remote control as the instructions were in diagram form! Once you get the hang of the control and how it operates, great unit. Would recommend without hesitation! Another plus is that there appears to be very little heat output unlike a standard lamp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a little apprehensive to purchase this product initially as it is quite expensive however I was delightfully surprised!

The video, I believe, is a little misleading as it appears as if the light projects with an almost spotlight effect but this is not the case, it makes the whole room glow of the colour and although it boasts 210 lumen it is not too bright at its max (for show, wouldn't be comfortable for a long time) but the brightness is adjustable to suit any room/location.

The possibilities of colours is just amazing, you could literally have a different colour for every hour of your life! The option to customize the colours brightness and intensity is really nice as you can really make it your own.

The Mood light itself is made of a very high quality plastic. The lamp is intended to rest on the clear/tinted backside (flattened surface) and faces upwards. The mood light itself is visually aesthetic as it looks quite futuristic but can fit in almost all rooms; especially with the option of a darker tinted version. Once on, the back glows the colour that it is emitting which is a very nice effect as it doesn't just leave you concentrating on the light being produced onto the surfaces.

It has a long power cable so it can be fitted into places quite far from the socket.

The remote is very nice with a smooth, solid turning of the 'colour picker' wheel and integrated up-down-left-right buttons under it. As you turn the wheel you can see the colour change instantaneous which is nice. I especially like how upon clicking one of the three possible favourite colour buttons, rather than just instantly going to that colour, it blends it so it's not a robotic change to the new colour. I love the option to turn on/off the Mood light via the controller which takes out the need for an extra remote if you were planning on using a remote switch. My only down side to the remote is the clicking sound it produces when turning, although it gives a solid feel, it can become irritating as you spin the wheel round many rotations to get your suited colour but that's not enough to remove even half a star!

Delivery was swift, it came 2 working days after ordering with no damage/dents.

My conclusion:
Pros:
- So many colours it's amazing!
- Lights up the whole room in a very relaxing way
- Configurable to whatever you need
- Beautiful design
- Long power cable
- Fast and pain free delivery
- Very neat remote which functions well (batteries included!)
- Set-up is easy. plugin it in the wall, pop in your batteries and you're good to go

Cons:
- The Colour picker has a ticking sound to it
- It is quite large, not necessarily a con but if you're looking for something desk sized, this is not it
- There are no grips on the bottom as that would inflict on the design but it also leaves it prone to sliding/rolling if knocked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant mood effects, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Black (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Get one it's ace! As long as you know how to work out the instructions on how to work the remote control as the ones it comes with are absolutely rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought 2 because they're so good (one as a gift) these can really make a room. Would highly reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay-Good, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The design is nice.
It works seamlessly.
And it is dead silent! (in comparison with the 'whining' Gen 2).
My downfalls are:
1. The purple colour is almost not there. It is WEAK! For example, when you scroll to red, it is bright and dense. When you continue to blue, same thing. But when you get to purple? It becomes SOOO pale, almost as though you played with the hue/saturation making it a pastel-ish colour (mixed with white) even though you do nothing on the remote and you are just scrolling through the colours. On the Gen2, the colours are better, denser, clearer, even the purple is amazing on the Gen2, as well as all the cyan, red, etc...
2. In terms of design & size? I prefer the Gen 2 as the bowl was bigger and there was no white strip of plastic at the top, so the Gen 2 was completely transparent. On the other hand this one is completely silent and no sound what so ever. Oh the remote is NOT as cool as the Gen 2 because with this one, you need to scroll to get a colour whereas with the Gen 2 SmartLink remote, you simply touch the colour and it works, AS WELL AS scrolling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stylish light, 31 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Black (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Background:
There's a LivingColours Gen 1 Bloom in the house
Received Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Iris Black 70999/30/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp with Remote Control for christmas this year.

So, a quick comparison with the Gen 3 Iris to the Gen 1 Bloom.

Iris is brighter than the Bloom; noticably and I would recommend the Iris unless there is a space constraint because it offers a much richer mood experience in your room.
The Gen 1 came with a better remote than the Gen 3. The Gen 1 remote was/is touch sensitive and had 3 memory slots for pre-sets as well as the option to add more lights to the remote to control; the Gen 3 remote has a wheel to turn to select colour (so not as quick or easy to select desired colour in a hurry) and only 2 pre-sets with physical buttons.

The Iris is very light; so can sit on top of a lot of things. It is bright enough to place in a room and act as a bright desk lamp; I use mine in my bedroom for now and it has replaced my old desk lamp; I have a preset where it is brightest with no colour for waking up in the morning it lights my room quite well and the remote means I can operate it from bed when my alarm goes off. The other preset I have is to mimic the old desk lamp I have so an orange-yellow colour with only slight saturation to replicate an incandescent bulb and set to about 50% brightness.

The mood lighting / colour saturated lighting of this product works well against white or light coloured walls / ceilings and not so great against dark or heavy coloured walls. But that's physics 101; a red light on a deep blue wall will make the wall just look black. Blue light on a red wall wont make the wall look purple; black again. We have a peachy-yellow coloured wall that works alright so a light coloured wall seems fine.

Power consumption is low so is energy saving. Durability : if the Gen 1 bloom is anything to go by then it will last and last and last. The Gen 1 bloom is still on it's first set of batteries for the remote.

Problems:
2 pre-sets is one too few for me but not too bad.
The remote can get interference from 2.4GHz (Common wifi and wireless phone) band if there is heavy traffic nearby; placing the light near a wifi router is a bad idea because, whilst the light will work, the remote will fail to operate the light unless you hold it very close. Not as bad on Gen 3 but noticeable since it's next to my laptop with my laptop's wifi on max and doing downloads you can get some failed clicks at 2m range; but normally pressing again it registers.
Power cable: It's not as long as I'd hoped; I think it's 1m which is long enough for some I guess.
Power adapter: It's bulky. I'm used to Apple products like an iPhone charger which is so slim that it's smaller than a regular plug; but this is like one of the old Nokia chargers and can't be used on my 4 way splitter (the all in one plug kind not the extension cable kind) as it will block the next socket along; plugging into a normal extension cable or socket should be fine, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but Nicey, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Black (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Some while ago we obtained our first Philips Living Colour Light, the Philips LivingColors Colour Changing Mood Lamp, with Remote Control, which we have always enjoyed very much. So it was that my family and I were keen to get the latest and updated version.

This new model seems essentially the same as regards the lighting capabilities, although the light output is 210 Lumens rather than the 120 of the earlier model, and there is to my mind little to choose between them. The glass of the football sized housing is perhaps a little lighter in weight and now sports a black band around the top but the main difference lies in the handset and the level of control it offers.

That said, the poorly designed User Guide, consisting as it does of one sheet of hard to read and ambiguous pictograms, make it very hard to fathom out exactly what it does. The old machine allowed a vast number of colours to be selected as well as scrolling seamlessly between them. Again as with the old model the remote control uses radio and so does not need line of sight to the lighting unit to function. In addition new handset also offers the ability to remember and instantly jump to two saved colours and sports a new design with a more positive physical control wheel with clicking progress indication and on/off function.

This is an attractive and stylish lighting unit that will add atmosphere to any room with a powerful light output that works best when angled against a plain wall.

The Good
Striking lighting effects can be achieved
One remote can be used to control multiple linked lights
Higher light output than earlier models
RF remote control

The Bad
User guide is hard to follow
Use of the remote control is non intuitive
Expensive
Positioning the top heavy light can be difficult on certain surfaces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews