Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and novel, not completely practical.
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:29 Mins
The video shows the full colour cycle, the clicking sound is a wheel that is spun to select the desired colour from the spectrum. The wheel also functions as a four-way button, this can be used to alter the saturation of the colour and also the brightness of the light.

Philips claim that there are 16 million available colours, I'm not...
Published 20 months ago by Stucumber

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living the Colours at a price
One of the most interesting things about Philips is that, outside the world of media consumption, they have a sizeable catalogue of products that are destined to make life in your living room far simpler. The only problem with this is that most of the products never make it into high-street stores.

Their LivingColours range is just one of the many different...
Published 17 months ago by Picard


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and novel, not completely practical., 14 Nov 2012
By 
Stucumber "Stucumber" (N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 0:29 Mins

The video shows the full colour cycle, the clicking sound is a wheel that is spun to select the desired colour from the spectrum. The wheel also functions as a four-way button, this can be used to alter the saturation of the colour and also the brightness of the light.

Philips claim that there are 16 million available colours, I'm not sure that in practise that most people can effectively discern that many colours but you are able to select quite fine gradations of hue from a circular spectrum.

As well as determining your precise favourite colour, you can increase and decrease the saturation, that is, how intense the colour is from virtually white to deep, full colours. With the same controls brightness can be varied.

With the three variables it's possible to set a colour to suit your mood with precision, whether this is from a choice of 16 million, again I remain sceptical.

The effect is certainly not room-filling and as such requires a fairly neutral wall to appreciate the full effect. I'd also not want to use this as the main light source for most activities, though can see some few possibilities; movie night, a romantic evening, listening to music, parties etc. Since receiving the light a month ago, apart from playing with it, I have found no opportunity to use it, which may be more to my busy work/family/study life; you may find more use for it, particularly with more leisure and social time.

The controls aren't particularly intuitive and the instructions are fairly cryptic, though i did finally get the hang of them. As well as the aforementioned controls, there is also the ability to set two favourite colours for future use.

On its own merits the light functions well and I won't mark it down for my lack of use, though the conical design precludes using it to light a ceiling and the slightly confusing controls do detract.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle but pretty lighting effect(s), 15 Nov 2012
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Via the remote control, (a small, white disc 8cm diameter, 2cm deep, this unit is simple to operate ...once my daughter showed me how to change the brightness! There is a dial (click-wheel) to vary the lighting colour and 2 programmable buttons to automatically select you're favoured 2 lighting effects (easy to set; select lighting colour/ brightness/ tone then press and hold for 5 seconds, job done - like selecting the stations on a car radio.

The lamp itself is lightweight; weighing 430g and small enough to conveniently fit onto a standard bookshelf. The diameter is a little under 23cm, depth is under 11cm but due to the angle of the lamp as it sits, it takes up a 16cm footprint.

As is typical with Philips' products, the unit doesn't come with an instruction booklet but simply a sheet with picture panels depicting how it operates. There are 5 panels; most are straightforward to work out but the 5th was a bit awkward to figure out (it basically operates the automatic changing of the colours).

Nonetheless, this mood light does a good job of what it's designed for... mood lighting. There's supposed to be 16M colours! But I could only see the same ones I see in a rainbow which, being the entire visible light spectrum, is enough for me! I reckon the 16M is a sales gimmick.

All in all, although it's quite pricey it's a very pleasant, cheap-to-run (8 watts) little light; it's not as bright as the 'Iris' (bigger version, 10 watts) Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Iris Black 70999/30/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp with Remote Control, which is currently on a better promotion with Amazon, but then it's also only 2/3's the size.

If buying, it would be worth considering getting 2 (or more) for the sake of balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice feature light, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
The lamp is perfect, the remote great, and the colour movement brilliant. The instruction book is a bit poor (I don't understand it overly well) and I have yet to see if there is a way to get it to filter through all of the colours automatically. I actually expected it to be a bit bigger in real life, and the 'shade' to be ceramic, however it doesn't detract from the lamp.

It doesn't give out enough glow to light a room, but is a very nice feature lamp - quite romantic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatly improved device - works just right, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Living Colors Aura is a variable coloured mood light which contains three closely mounted LEDs in red, green and blue and is controlled from a remote unit. The resulting light can be varied from almost white to full strength colour, and from a dull glow to a light bright enough to read by or to wash a living room in colour.

We have one of the original Philips mood lights. Colour variation was more limited, offering only 256 variants instead of the 16 million that the current unit provides. In practice you can only see the difference if you set the unit to automatically change colour, which means that the changes are fairly smooth. When used to set a colour, you really can't tell the difference.

What is very different is that the internal LED lights are mounted much closer together. On the old unit the spread of the lights meant that when the light was set to anything but red, green or blue, you got double shadows, and with some colours triple shadows, each in a different colour. On the new unit, you only see this if there is an object fairly close to the unit. Objects which are twice as far from the unit as from whatever they cast their shadows on or further now show clean shadows.

All this means is that the unit really does offer a smooth range of different lighting colour, intensity and saturation in a relatively compact and nice looking unit.

What hasn't really improved is the controls. Although they are now off-unit as a remote, they aren't particularly intuitive to use, and the cryptic symbolic instructions don't help a great deal. Turning the unit on and off is simple enough, and rotating the wheel to change colour, but switching from auto-rotating colour and manual colour requires you to remember an unintuitive combination of controls. One benefit of the new system, though, is that you can create two presets, which may be enough for what you actually use the device for.

We still use the original unit, and this one improves on it substantially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living the Colours at a price, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
One of the most interesting things about Philips is that, outside the world of media consumption, they have a sizeable catalogue of products that are destined to make life in your living room far simpler. The only problem with this is that most of the products never make it into high-street stores.

Their LivingColours range is just one of the many different health and lifestyle brands that are striking to look at and easy to use. Practicality is often an issue, but give Philips credit, they like to try something different.

The concept behind this particular product - the Colour Changing Mood Lamp - is that it creates atmosphere rather than assisting it. What this will mean for most users is that you're required to have open wall space in which the light emitted from the device can stretch as wide as possible, and therefore project itself onto a 'canvas'. This sounds great in theory, but the truth is that you would need at least two of these products to create anything more than a nice but subtle light. It may be considered an inherent flaw (particularly at this price), but no doubt the product is going to be used in different sized environments. For most people, this will do just fine.

For an average sized living room, the lamp does an OK job of filling one corner of the space. There is nothing spectacular a light itself, Philips have designed something that produces a genuine pastel glow, and is therefore a relaxing alternative to traditional lamps that are a bit more intense. Out of the box, you simply plug the power adapter into the socket, use the remote to switch the device on, and you're up and running. You can alter the hue of the lamp by simply turning a dial on the remote, and you have the option to save your favourite colours. It couldn't be simpler.

One area that I highly recommend placing this is device behind your TV, as it makes the screen a lot easier on the eyes in dim light. Switch it to red/yellow and you're in your own mini theatre!

Aside from it behaving as a lamp, the USP's are still difficult to justify. When placed in a room, the product clashes with almost everything you have decorated in the area since it looks more akin to a speaker cone than a 'light'. I was also disappointed that the AC cable cannot be unplugged from the device itself, so if you're wanting to put it away for a period of time, then can't just leave the power adapter near the wall. This is definitely a product that requires some discrete placement.

Some other features that have been overlooked are the lack of a brightness control, and the instability of the device itself (its 'feet' do little to prevent it rocking).

It's probably fair to say that the Colour Changing Mood Lamp, while effective in use, is a hard sell at this price. Most people will be able to cope without the thousands of colour settings available as they appeal to a very small audience, and when you consider that the lamps themselves cannot be connected to one-another for simultaneous control, it seems that Philips haven't realised the product's potential .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful uplighter, 23 Oct 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Before we begin - I'm just going to say; I'm a sucker for mood lighting. Lava lamps, coloured bulbs etc. - love 'em all. So when this little beauty turned up, I was already pretty excited but nothing could prepare me for the quality of this light.

Resembling a 6" by 9" speaker, the unit lies on the floor and uplights your walls/furniture powered by a plug as it cycles through the purportedly 16 million colours this can produce. The plug is a little on the large side, with an ergonomic but sizeable transformer at the wall-point but the cable is very thin and has a decent length of flex to it. The best part is the remote control - it's a white hemispherical-pebble with a flat face about the size of your palm. It's got a coloured dial that you can turn to whichever colour you choose and then brightness controls to tune the colouring to your preference. Best of all; batteries included!

There are also two preset buttons so you can store your favourite colour (whilst cycling through the colours you might notice a favourite and a 3-second hold of the preset button will store this combination for you) - Of course, the remote allows you to turn the light on and off. This is excellent functionality given that the unit is likely to be behind furniture or somewhere equally inconvenient (on top of bookcases etc.)

So, mine is under my bed, facing the corner of the room, it lights up with white light bright enough to read a book by but then when I hit the preset to a pinky-orangey colour, the missus knows what time it is... Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 30 May 2013
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I'm not going to lie, this light does have a few basic problems but it is definitely worth getting if you like ambient light to have in the background rather than have the glare of table lamps and ceiling lights on.

GOOD POINTS:

* Has a nice set of colours (I suspect nowhere near as many as the site claims though). The deep pinks, reds and aquamarine colours are truly vivid and very relaxing to watch.
* The brightness can be adjusted to how you'd like.
* You can alter how much white light you want in the colour (so if you'd like a paler pink or a paler blue, you can have it).
* Controlled via a remote, which is nice if you want to put it behind something like a TV where you won't be able to directly reach the unit itself.
* Has two buttons for custom settings if you have a perfect colour and don't want to lose the ten minutes it took you to find it, you can save it via the remote and go back to it later on.
* Silent, makes no noise whatsoever.
* Has a setting that allows it to change colours gradually (although it can be finicky to get this to work sometimes).

BAD POINTS:

* Quite big, it's about a foot in diameter, and isn't very easy to find space for.
* There is only ONE angle it can sit at on a table/floor and that's the angle displayed. To put it at a different angle, you will need to find something alternative to place it upon to alter the direction it points.
* No fittings and no room for fittings if you wanted to wall mount this, it's basically floor or table.
* Isn't any brighter than the mini version (which doesn't have a remote, nor as many colours).
* The colour change sequence can't be altered, and changes a little too fast for my liking rather than a slow relaxed pace it happens quite quickly.

All in all, if you like ambient light and want something to help you relax, this is definitely a good light to own. I hope that Philips take the next step and adapt this into a wireless version so that it can be used in bathrooms or outdoors for parties, etc. The wire does get a little limiting.

The only thing that really hinders it is the lack of being able to adjust the position and there being no fittings to wall mount it. But great product nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK - just don't expect Blackpool illuminations!, 23 April 2013
By 
APJ (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I've been after one of these colour changing lamps for years and the price finally came down enough to make it attractive. I read all the reviews beforehand, including the mixed comments about the strength of the light, but plummed for it anyway. The unit itself was a little smaller then expected, a conical translucent black plastic outer with bottom ridge to stop it rolling around. The remote is quite a quirky circular design, with an on/off button and a rotating ring to cycle through the many available colours. A second button allows to to select half intensity, but trust me - you won't ever use it! You can set the lamp to cycle through all the colours automatically or set it to display one.

In a completely dark room, the light works ok against a white wall. Position it about 2 feet away to get the colour projected onto the wall. If there are other lights on, then the effect is diminished. The light is not strong enough to do anything with - it's just there as an ambient light effect. I tend to have it on whilst watching a bluray in the dark - having a nice warm red tone makes the room feel warmer. I's only 8 watts when on, so cheap as chips to run.

So don't expect an intense flood of colour across the expanse of your room - the effect is more localised then that. However, it's a fun gadget that beats a lava lamp, just don't pay over the odds for one - around 50 is enough. Overall, I'm pleased that I got it and love having yet another remote control to play with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly good..., 12 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You get a nicely designed mood lamp with a wonderfully useful remote thats very tactile and fun and (eventually) easy to use. The remote is a bit of a ditherance to get the hang of, but once there its a cinch to use, and means you can set the lamp up anywhere in the room. You can even "store" two favourite settings for hot-key instant retrieval.
Just dont lose the remote as its the only way to operate it!!

The lamp itself is discrete when not in use, and in use gives a lovely bold light in a massive range of colours, and can be used for ambient lighting, fun lighting, colour-washing, reading lighting... basically its a nice bright-but-not-too-bright level (which can be dimmed or set higher) and is definitely a conversation starter.

Definitely recommend it; I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambience, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Aura Colour Changing Mood Light Black (Integrated 1 x 8 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
Picked this up for 45, very very please with it.

Pros

Good colour range

Black lamp looks smart

like the remote, good features

Cons

Not going to light up a big living room

There is NOT 16 million colours, seriously stop the BS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews