Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish mood light
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:33 Mins
Unlike previous versions the livingcolors iris has a fixed power lead, approx. 1.8m long, terminated in a UK power adapter. A basic Quick Start Guide is supplied, with the full manual being available on the Philips website.
Light output is given as 210 lumens which, I think, is roughly equivalent to a 25W incandescent bulb. The unit is...
Published on 22 Oct 2012 by L Williams

versus
69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the great things of the Gen 2 are gone in the Gen 3
I've a number of living colour devices and I've recently added a Gen 3 Iris lamp. The Gen 3 device feels cheaper.

The power adapter is wired in. this makes it impossible to thread the cable through a wall conduit or a hole in cabinet/desk, unlike the gen 2 in which the power adapter connected via a plug on the bottom of the device. This is a real cheap move by...
Published 23 months ago by C. Pitchford


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish mood light, 22 Oct 2012
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 2:33 Mins

Unlike previous versions the livingcolors iris has a fixed power lead, approx. 1.8m long, terminated in a UK power adapter. A basic Quick Start Guide is supplied, with the full manual being available on the Philips website.
Light output is given as 210 lumens which, I think, is roughly equivalent to a 25W incandescent bulb. The unit is supplied with a circular remote control which controls the on-off, colour, brightness and intensity (saturation); there are also 2 favourite preset buttons which can be used to set a colour, brightness and intensity.
A white light is available by reducing the intensity (saturation). There is an option for an automatic colour change and you can vary the speed of the change by rotating the colour wheel, according to Philips there are 20 steps; because there is a slow colour change it is hard to say how long the lamp stays on one colour but at the slowest it appears to be several minutes.
According to Philips you can link several livingcolor iris units to one remote control and also link remote control units together.
In the video I've tried to show some of the features. It is well made and comes with a 2 year warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the great things of the Gen 2 are gone in the Gen 3, 8 Dec 2012
By 
C. Pitchford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've a number of living colour devices and I've recently added a Gen 3 Iris lamp. The Gen 3 device feels cheaper.

The power adapter is wired in. this makes it impossible to thread the cable through a wall conduit or a hole in cabinet/desk, unlike the gen 2 in which the power adapter connected via a plug on the bottom of the device. This is a real cheap move by Phillips. I personally detest fixed power cables.. scrimping on a plug and socket is just rude!

The remote control feels cheap compared to the gen2 round control.

Gen 3 round control: 2 pre-sets only, colour is set via turning mechnical wheel to cycle though colours, cannot control lamps individually
Gen 2 round control: 3 pre-sets, colour can be set instantly by touching the selected colour, can control all or individual lamps.

The gen 2 round control will control this gen 3 lamp as well, so its not a problem if you already have a gen 2 device but its a bit of a let down if you only have gen 3 devices.. not being able to set colours individually from a single remote is a bit lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice lamp., 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot more expensive that the stand alone bulbs, but i like the extra adjustability and overall look of this lamp..Works nicely in conjunction with other bulbs like the Auraglow GU10...I have this light set to one colour (pinkish purple)in one corner of the room,and the auraglow fading through different colours in the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One cool device, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Alien937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wanted this lamp to provide backlighting behind a TV (in a dimly-lit room a backlit TV can apparently reduce eye strain), but I wasn't sure if it would work. Nowhere in Philips's tech specs did it mention how the remote operated; i.e. was it via infrared? If it was, the TV would block the remote's signal, stymieing the idea altogether. Fortunately, the remote operates using either Bluetooth or RF, so it works just fine without the lamp needing to be in a clear line of sight of it.

The remote can be a bit confusing at first. The colours are arranged in a ring around a dial. Intuitively, you'd think that turning the dial to the colour you want is all you need to do, but this results in hardly any change in colour at all. This is because it requires many 360° turns of the dial in order to cycle through the colours. The ring of colours on the remote should be viewed as an indicator of the order in which the colours change, not as an indicator of where you need to turn the dial. Once you understand this it's plain sailing, although it did confuse me at first (to the point where I thought the lamp was defective).

In operation, this is one cool device - literally. It doesn't get warm no matter how long you have it on. It's equally cool how easily you can change the colour, brightness and saturation of the light, store your favourite settings, or set it to automatically cycle through all of the available colours. The base of the device is a circle "cut out" of the lamp's semi-spherical shape, making it better suited to placement on a flat surface rather than carpet. This is hardly a deal-breaker though: if you want to place it on carpet just find something flat to place it on (a decent-sized coaster would do; the lamp's footprint really is very small).

This lamp is an excellent choice for backlighting a TV (the effect is quite stunning, even in daylight), or for providing a dash of mood-altering coloured light anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but Nicey, 22 Oct 2012
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Some while ago we obtained our first Philips Living Colour Light, the Philips LivingColors Colour Changing Mood Lamp, with Remote Control, which we have always enjoyed very much. So it was that my family and I were keen to get the latest and updated version.

This new model seems essentially the same as regards the lighting capabilities, although the light output is 210 Lumens rather than the 120 of the earlier model, and there is to my mind little to choose between them. The glass of the football sized housing is perhaps a little lighter in weight and now sports a black band around the top but the main difference lies in the handset and the level of control it offers.

That said, the poorly designed User Guide, consisting as it does of one sheet of hard to read and ambiguous pictograms, make it very hard to fathom out exactly what it does. The old machine allowed a vast number of colours to be selected as well as scrolling seamlessly between them. Again as with the old model the remote control uses radio and so does not need line of sight to the lighting unit to function. In addition new handset also offers the ability to remember and instantly jump to two saved colours and sports a new design with a more positive physical control wheel with clicking progress indication and on/off function.

This is an attractive and stylish lighting unit that will add atmosphere to any room with a powerful light output that works best when angled against a plain wall.

The Good
Striking lighting effects can be achieved
One remote can be used to control multiple linked lights
Higher light output than earlier models
RF remote control

The Bad
User guide is hard to follow
Use of the remote control is non intuitive
Expensive
Positioning the top heavy light can be difficult on certain surfaces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Clear (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I bought 2 because they're so good (one as a gift) these can really make a room. Would highly reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has now replaced my bedroom lighting..., 19 Dec 2012
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This light is one of the best lighting products I've ever used. I currently have it in my bedroom and use it as the main light. The two presets I have set are maximum brightness pure white and minimum dimness pure red. I use the red when going to sleep, and the white at all other times. Sometimes I give a quick spin of the wheel and its a nice sunny yellow if it's a bit cold, tricks my brain into thinking it's warmer than it is.

Everything works as it should, there are just a few niggles I have that stop it getting five stars. First, it takes far too many turns of the dial to change colour. Secondly, only two presets is a bit ridiculous. When not ten, just press the same button to cycle through them? The hardware is there, why limit it's use?

Note that this is a purely plastic device, not glass as I thought before I got it. I don't have a problem with that, as it looks great and is less likely to break.

Four stars, and I might buy another...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay-Good, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Clear (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
The design is nice.
It works seamlessly.
And it is dead silent! (in comparison with the 'whining' Gen 2).
My downfalls are:
1. The purple colour is almost not there. It is WEAK! For example, when you scroll to red, it is bright and dense. When you continue to blue, same thing. But when you get to purple? It becomes SOOO pale, almost as though you played with the hue/saturation making it a pastel-ish colour (mixed with white) even though you do nothing on the remote and you are just scrolling through the colours. On the Gen2, the colours are better, denser, clearer, even the purple is amazing on the Gen2, as well as all the cyan, red, etc...
2. In terms of design & size? I prefer the Gen 2 as the bowl was bigger and there was no white strip of plastic at the top, so the Gen 2 was completely transparent. On the other hand this one is completely silent and no sound what so ever. Oh the remote is NOT as cool as the Gen 2 because with this one, you need to scroll to get a colour whereas with the Gen 2 SmartLink remote, you simply touch the colour and it works, AS WELL AS scrolling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stylish light, 31 Dec 2012
Background:
There's a LivingColours Gen 1 Bloom in the house
Received Philips LivingColors Gen 3 LC Iris Black 70999/30/PU Colour Changing Mood Lamp with Remote Control for christmas this year.

So, a quick comparison with the Gen 3 Iris to the Gen 1 Bloom.

Iris is brighter than the Bloom; noticably and I would recommend the Iris unless there is a space constraint because it offers a much richer mood experience in your room.
The Gen 1 came with a better remote than the Gen 3. The Gen 1 remote was/is touch sensitive and had 3 memory slots for pre-sets as well as the option to add more lights to the remote to control; the Gen 3 remote has a wheel to turn to select colour (so not as quick or easy to select desired colour in a hurry) and only 2 pre-sets with physical buttons.

The Iris is very light; so can sit on top of a lot of things. It is bright enough to place in a room and act as a bright desk lamp; I use mine in my bedroom for now and it has replaced my old desk lamp; I have a preset where it is brightest with no colour for waking up in the morning it lights my room quite well and the remote means I can operate it from bed when my alarm goes off. The other preset I have is to mimic the old desk lamp I have so an orange-yellow colour with only slight saturation to replicate an incandescent bulb and set to about 50% brightness.

The mood lighting / colour saturated lighting of this product works well against white or light coloured walls / ceilings and not so great against dark or heavy coloured walls. But that's physics 101; a red light on a deep blue wall will make the wall just look black. Blue light on a red wall wont make the wall look purple; black again. We have a peachy-yellow coloured wall that works alright so a light coloured wall seems fine.

Power consumption is low so is energy saving. Durability : if the Gen 1 bloom is anything to go by then it will last and last and last. The Gen 1 bloom is still on it's first set of batteries for the remote.

Problems:
2 pre-sets is one too few for me but not too bad.
The remote can get interference from 2.4GHz (Common wifi and wireless phone) band if there is heavy traffic nearby; placing the light near a wifi router is a bad idea because, whilst the light will work, the remote will fail to operate the light unless you hold it very close. Not as bad on Gen 3 but noticeable since it's next to my laptop with my laptop's wifi on max and doing downloads you can get some failed clicks at 2m range; but normally pressing again it registers.
Power cable: It's not as long as I'd hoped; I think it's 1m which is long enough for some I guess.
Power adapter: It's bulky. I'm used to Apple products like an iPhone charger which is so slim that it's smaller than a regular plug; but this is like one of the old Nokia chargers and can't be used on my 4 way splitter (the all in one plug kind not the extension cable kind) as it will block the next socket along; plugging into a normal extension cable or socket should be fine, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iris? I'd be worried if my eyes changed colour like this, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Mischief (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Every now and then you see a lighting product online that has some coolness but lacks functionality, or one that lacks funkiness but embodies practicality, but rarely one that has the two together. The LivingColors Iris mood lamp from Philips may be the product that changes that for you, as it emits a light beam that you adjust to suit your preference.

The Iris is a smoked, black plastic bowl a little under 20cm in diameter, into which a series of colour LEDs has been fixed. A piece of white, frosted plastic covers the top of the bowl, while a flat indentation on the side, towards the bottom, allows it to sit with the top angled to one side. It's not a particularly awe-inspiring design but it is minimalist and will suit most living room spaces. There are no buttons or switches on the lamp, as everything is controlled from the included remote control - a round device, about the width of a coaster, which takes two AAA batteries (included.) So be careful not to lose or break the remote, as without it you're pretty much stuffed.

The remote has a rocker button on the top to turn the lamp on and off, two to turn immediately to one of your two, definable favourite colours, and a circular `colour wheel' slider to change the colour of the beam to any one of 16,000,000 (yes, that is sixteen million) colours, as well as the colour saturation and its brightness. As you can imagine, this gives you pretty much total control of the beam the lamp emits. Or, if you prefer, you can leave it on automatic mode and have it cycle through all possible colours in a continuous loop; my one gripe here is that there's no way to alter the speed at which the lamp cycles through its colours, and I do find the pre-set speed to be a bit fast for casual, home use.

The manual you get with the Iris is a fold-out pamphlet, comprised totally of pictures and no text, and I did initially find it a little confusing. Things became clear after a small amount of pressing buttons and trying different things, but a little written explanation on the lamp's functions would have been nice - Philips UK does include this on its website so have a quick look there if you're not sure that you're getting the most out of your new baby. However, a quick guide is as follows:-

Alter beam colour: spin the slider clockwise or anticlockwise until you get the colour you desire - spinning the slider more quickly cycles through the colours more rapidly.
Alter brightness: press and hold the slider at either the 12 or 6 o'clock positions.
Alter saturation: press and hold the slider at either the 3 or 9 o'clock positions.
Automatic mode: spin the slider through 360 degrees and then hit the `on' button.
Add favourite: select the beam colour, brightness and saturation you want and then hold down one of the two `favourite' buttons for 5 seconds.

Once you've grasped how the lamp works, it's pretty much as easy to use as you could wish for. The beam it emits is bright (210 lumens, according to Philips) and quite diffuse, so it covers a wide area of wall rather than projecting a narrow spot onto it; it doesn't cover a massive area, but enough to light a fair section of your room. Although being able to change the colour and brightness of the beam to suit your mood and your décor is the lamp's main raison d'être, you can always leave it on bright white mode and use it as pseudo table lamp with remotely-controllable brightness if you want. Whatever mode you choose, you will need a fairly light-coloured wall to get the best out of it; projecting the beam directly onto the ceiling is another idea, but you would need to sit the lamp in something like a plant pot to do this as otherwise it would roll over.

The Iris also includes Philips' Smartlink technology, which connects similarly-equipped lamps using a wi-fi signal and allows you to control them all using just one remote. It would have been a great party trick if the Iris was able to use this signal to sync with Philips Ambilight TVs and copy the light they emit while on standby, or to use it as an addition to the Ambilight feature when watching TV. Then again, Philips' newer TVs emit a huge range of colours all at once, which is something the Iris can't do, so what seems like a good idea in my head probably wouldn't have worked out in practice. The ability to pulse in time to music would also have been quite a funky inclusion, although perhaps a bit too much for some people.

However, rather than reviewing the Iris on what Philips didn't include, it's much better to rate it on what they did, and as a mood lamp the Iris does very well, while still retaining an element of usefulness. The LEDs should last a long time and it's bright enough to act purely as a dedicated table lamp if you so wish, although this would be wasting its talents somewhat and wouldn't be quite as practical as a dedicated table lamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews