Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 118 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish mood light
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:33 Mins
Unlike previous versions the livingcolors iris has a fixed power lead, approx. 1.8m long, terminated in a UK power adapter. A basic Quick Start Guide is supplied, with the full manual being available on the Philips website.
Light output is given as 210 lumens which, I think, is roughly equivalent to a 25W incandescent bulb. The unit is...
Published on 22 Oct. 2012 by L Williams

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Clever Way to Help Change the Look and Feel of a Room Through Lighting
This "mood light" is a nice finishing touch to a room in your home, cheaper than changing the wall paper or applying a new colour of paint to the walls. It's basically a multi-coloured lamp which you operate with a remote control device, and which enables you to select between lots of different colour options and shades.
The product is made of robust feeling,...
Published 1 day ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 118 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish mood light, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 2:33 Mins

Unlike previous versions the livingcolors iris has a fixed power lead, approx. 1.8m long, terminated in a UK power adapter. A basic Quick Start Guide is supplied, with the full manual being available on the Philips website.
Light output is given as 210 lumens which, I think, is roughly equivalent to a 25W incandescent bulb. The unit is supplied with a circular remote control which controls the on-off, colour, brightness and intensity (saturation); there are also 2 favourite preset buttons which can be used to set a colour, brightness and intensity.
A white light is available by reducing the intensity (saturation). There is an option for an automatic colour change and you can vary the speed of the change by rotating the colour wheel, according to Philips there are 20 steps; because there is a slow colour change it is hard to say how long the lamp stays on one colour but at the slowest it appears to be several minutes.
According to Philips you can link several livingcolor iris units to one remote control and also link remote control units together.
In the video I've tried to show some of the features. It is well made and comes with a 2 year warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Clever Way to Help Change the Look and Feel of a Room Through Lighting, 29 Mar. 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Clear (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
This "mood light" is a nice finishing touch to a room in your home, cheaper than changing the wall paper or applying a new colour of paint to the walls. It's basically a multi-coloured lamp which you operate with a remote control device, and which enables you to select between lots of different colour options and shades.
The product is made of robust feeling, lightweight, hard plastics. It has a see through base whilst the head of the lamp is a fridge door creamy white. The circular shaped lamp has a diameter of approximately 7 inches (17.5 cms), and at its tallest point is just under 8 inches (18.5 cms) high. The lamp has a socket plug with a lead built into the body of the lamp (I don't know why manufacturers still insist on doing this, it's much better if the lead simply plugs in and out of the device, it gives you more options for where to position the lamp). The lead is 66 inches (165 cms) long, which is a reasonable length.
The circular shaped remote control takes two triple AAA sized batteries (which are included with the product). The remote control is made of lightweight, hard plastics and has a diameter of about 3 inches (8 cms). The remote control has an on-off button combined with a rotary control dial. If you press the top and bottom of the dial, that increases or decreases the brightness of the light. If you press the dial at 3 o'clock or 9 o'clock, that increases or decreases the saturation of the light. You turn the rotary dial clockwise to go through the different colours, the colours and shades change as you rotate the dial. You can save two favourites, which you select with two push buttons on the remote control. I think that this is far too limiting, why not have 5 or 10 or 25 different favourite colours and shades which you can save? If you've rotated the dial through dozens of turns to get to exactly the colour and shade that you want, but you've saved two favourite colours and shades already, you either have to change one of the two existing favourites, or scroll back through the colour choices to get back to that third favourite the next time that you want it. Phillips would have made this device far more flexible and enjoyable to use, if the remote control had been more like a Sky or TV remote, with space for perhaps 10 or more favourites push buttons.
Phillips confidently assert that this device can give you 16 million different colours/shades, but you get only TWO favourites to save. Go figure. Furthermore, I'm really quite dubious about the manufacturer's bold claim of 16 million colours and shades. You certainly get red, yellow, green, blue, purple and orange, and lots of different shades of those colours, but I wanted a brown or gold (purely out of idle curiosity) and I couldn't find them. 16 million colours and shades, allegedly, but no brown or gold? Hmmm. So, you get a limit of only two favourites, and some certain very common colours missing. I'm extremely doubtful that I could reach 1600 different colours (or even 160), never mind 16 million. For Philips to assert that this product has 16 million colours, would be on a par with BMW telling you that the latest Mini can break the speed of sound. It's complete hogwash and big household name manufacturers really shouldn't be allowed to get away with this sort of cynical marketing ploy.
It's a shame, because apart from those drawbacks (which are pretty significant ones), this gadget is a simple and practical way to alter the look and feel of a room through the use of light. Recommended, as a 3 star gadget, but subject to the above mentioned reservations.
The product comes with a pictorial rather than a written user guide leaflet, which frankly isn't that user friendly, I found it much easier just to "plug 'n play" with this gadget until I figured out how to use it.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some of the great things of the Gen 2 are gone in the Gen 3, 8 Dec. 2012
By 
C. Pitchford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've a number of living colour devices and I've recently added a Gen 3 Iris lamp. The Gen 3 device feels cheaper.

The power adapter is wired in. this makes it impossible to thread the cable through a wall conduit or a hole in cabinet/desk, unlike the gen 2 in which the power adapter connected via a plug on the bottom of the device. This is a real cheap move by Phillips. I personally detest fixed power cables.. scrimping on a plug and socket is just rude!

The remote control feels cheap compared to the gen2 round control.

Gen 3 round control: 2 pre-sets only, colour is set via turning mechnical wheel to cycle though colours, cannot control lamps individually
Gen 2 round control: 3 pre-sets, colour can be set instantly by touching the selected colour, can control all or individual lamps.

The gen 2 round control will control this gen 3 lamp as well, so its not a problem if you already have a gen 2 device but its a bit of a let down if you only have gen 3 devices.. not being able to set colours individually from a single remote is a bit lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One cool device, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Alien937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wanted this lamp to provide backlighting behind a TV (in a dimly-lit room a backlit TV can apparently reduce eye strain), but I wasn't sure if it would work. Nowhere in Philips's tech specs did it mention how the remote operated; i.e. was it via infrared? If it was, the TV would block the remote's signal, stymieing the idea altogether. Fortunately, the remote operates using either Bluetooth or RF, so it works just fine without the lamp needing to be in a clear line of sight of it.

The remote can be a bit confusing at first. The colours are arranged in a ring around a dial. Intuitively, you'd think that turning the dial to the colour you want is all you need to do, but this results in hardly any change in colour at all. This is because it requires many 360° turns of the dial in order to cycle through the colours. The ring of colours on the remote should be viewed as an indicator of the order in which the colours change, not as an indicator of where you need to turn the dial. Once you understand this it's plain sailing, although it did confuse me at first (to the point where I thought the lamp was defective).

In operation, this is one cool device - literally. It doesn't get warm no matter how long you have it on. It's equally cool how easily you can change the colour, brightness and saturation of the light, store your favourite settings, or set it to automatically cycle through all of the available colours. The base of the device is a circle "cut out" of the lamp's semi-spherical shape, making it better suited to placement on a flat surface rather than carpet. This is hardly a deal-breaker though: if you want to place it on carpet just find something flat to place it on (a decent-sized coaster would do; the lamp's footprint really is very small).

This lamp is an excellent choice for backlighting a TV (the effect is quite stunning, even in daylight), or for providing a dash of mood-altering coloured light anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mood Lighting., 13 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. M. Wilson "shortbreak" (London area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I spent ages searching for an ideal product that would 'backlight' my wall-mounted flat screen TV avoiding screen glare and came across this little beauty! It has an ideal footprint for the glass hi-fi table and is discreet in it's appearance so there is no glare from the lamp when it is on. A great range of colours and as stated, a prefect mood lighting unit! It did take a while to fully understand the remote control as the instructions were in diagram form! Once you get the hang of the control and how it operates, great unit. Would recommend without hesitation! Another plus is that there appears to be very little heat output unlike a standard lamp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Clear (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I was a little apprehensive to purchase this product initially as it is quite expensive however I was delightfully surprised!

The video, I believe, is a little misleading as it appears as if the light projects with an almost spotlight effect but this is not the case, it makes the whole room glow of the colour and although it boasts 210 lumen it is not too bright at its max (for show, wouldn't be comfortable for a long time) but the brightness is adjustable to suit any room/location.

The possibilities of colours is just amazing, you could literally have a different colour for every hour of your life! The option to customize the colours brightness and intensity is really nice as you can really make it your own.

The Mood light itself is made of a very high quality plastic. The lamp is intended to rest on the clear/tinted backside (flattened surface) and faces upwards. The mood light itself is visually aesthetic as it looks quite futuristic but can fit in almost all rooms; especially with the option of a darker tinted version. Once on, the back glows the colour that it is emitting which is a very nice effect as it doesn't just leave you concentrating on the light being produced onto the surfaces.

It has a long power cable so it can be fitted into places quite far from the socket.

The remote is very nice with a smooth, solid turning of the 'colour picker' wheel and integrated up-down-left-right buttons under it. As you turn the wheel you can see the colour change instantaneous which is nice. I especially like how upon clicking one of the three possible favourite colour buttons, rather than just instantly going to that colour, it blends it so it's not a robotic change to the new colour. I love the option to turn on/off the Mood light via the controller which takes out the need for an extra remote if you were planning on using a remote switch. My only down side to the remote is the clicking sound it produces when turning, although it gives a solid feel, it can become irritating as you spin the wheel round many rotations to get your suited colour but that's not enough to remove even half a star!

Delivery was swift, it came 2 working days after ordering with no damage/dents.

My conclusion:
Pros:
- So many colours it's amazing!
- Lights up the whole room in a very relaxing way
- Configurable to whatever you need
- Beautiful design
- Long power cable
- Fast and pain free delivery
- Very neat remote which functions well (batteries included!)
- Set-up is easy. plugin it in the wall, pop in your batteries and you're good to go

Cons:
- The Colour picker has a ticking sound to it
- It is quite large, not necessarily a con but if you're looking for something desk sized, this is not it
- There are no grips on the bottom as that would inflict on the design but it also leaves it prone to sliding/rolling if knocked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not just a disco light., 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Clear (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I bought 2 of these units each firing from the floor into a different corner of our 4m x 6m white front room, either side of the TV.

Warmish white is the main pre-set we tend to use and its brightness is more than enough to be 'cosy'.
What sets these apart from other mood lights is the wide diffusion of light and it is very very even in terms of brightness and colour.

Others examples tend to have an obvious bright spot like a led torch, as colours change(different combination of LED bulbs for each) the bright spot moves thus drawing attention to itself or giving the impression room is somehow moving. I have used many examples form single RGB LEDs DIY bulbs, cathode neons, UV lamps, fibre optics to the remote controlled RGB LED light strips but none can do as good a job as the Philly.

With the IRIS a nice distance from the wall and unit out of sight the enveloping and solid effect really creates ambience and changes the whole feel of a room, from clinical minimalist white to warmwhite/amber to toxic green for Halloween or subtle blue for entertaining.
They can be dimmed to a faint level(not all LEDs solutions are this dynamic), cinema style matched to candle light or used as hallway night lights.

The colour cycling effect we rarely use but it very cool how it can be slowed to barely noticeable or increased to rabid rave.
Its a shame you cant exclude certain colours from the cycling(e.g. Amsterdam Red or girly pink) and its a shame the unit cant somehow respond to music like the discounted Philips TV ambilights.

I would not recommend these units if the target wall/feature is anything but white/light coloured as the lighting effect degrades massively the darker the walls are as there's nothing to reflect off.

Power consumption is excellent, 6watts per unit at the wall(some colours slightly less) and produces almost the same output as the Philip 40watt energy saving bulbs(8watt at the wall) we having nearby. So there fairly green in operation and should last a very long time.

Why the IRIS model over the others? I believe this model is the brightest output wise compared to the other similarly priced units like the AURA but that's just based on the tech sheet stating 10 and the others 8watts or less.

Gen2 over Gen3? I think the Gen2 has a detachable power lead, the gen3 is hard wired from plug to unit. This would allow you to snake the cable out of sight more easily before connecting.
The Gen3 remote while fine lacks a bit in some respect to the Gen2, which is easier to change colour and has 3 presets rather than two and doesnt require you to spin colour wheel endlessly. I suppose it might have more precision in the Gen3 click wheel for exacting colours.
Output wise I would imagine the Gen3 is brighter but I cant confirm.

One remote can control both units however WiFi interference seems to be a problem depending on placement.

Overall very happy, the price is high but I really think its worth it over the copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant mood effects, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Get one it's ace! As long as you know how to work out the instructions on how to work the remote control as the ones it comes with are absolutely rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... box says ‘Color your world with light’ and this pretty much sums up this product, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Clear (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
The description on the box says ‘Color your world with light’ and this pretty much sums up this product.

Pros

This is a neat looking unit that comes with a remote control. It is designed to be angled upwards, towards the ceiling, so as to provide ambient lighting throughout the room. The control is sophisticated allowing changes of colour (the claim that there are 16 million colours can perhaps be taken with a pinch of salt) as well as brightness and shade. There are two buttons for storing favourites. There is also an automatic mode which cycles through all the colours but I found this too distracting.

Cons

The remote control is fiddly to use and the instructions are not easy to interpret, following the modern practice of using pictograms for the international market. However, with a bit of practice you will soon learn by trial and error.

Beware

There are three different models – the one I have with a remote control, a version containing a ‘bridge’ for use with a mobile phone app and a version without a bridge (or remote control) intended as an add-on to a bridge. Make sure you get the right model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips LivingColors Iris Colour Changing Mood Light - Clear (Integrated 1 x 10 Watts LED Bulb, Remote Control) (Kitchen & Home)
I bought 2 because they're so good (one as a gift) these can really make a room. Would highly reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews