Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell, yes!
The third Alex Hunter (Arcadian) novel from Greig Beck is another rip-roaring action / sci-fi / horror thriller.

First he gave us ice, second was desert and now we have jungle.

A mysterious illness is sweeping its way through a team drilling for gas deep in the jungle, and when an elite team of Marines get attacked by an unknown assailant, it's up to...
Published on 25 Sept. 2012 by Ben Peyton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars On a par
A feeling of dejavu when starting, feel I read similar before, but still enjoyed story.onwards and upwards from here on.
Published 11 months ago by Mw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell, yes!, 25 Sept. 2012
This review is from: This Green Hell (Paperback)
The third Alex Hunter (Arcadian) novel from Greig Beck is another rip-roaring action / sci-fi / horror thriller.

First he gave us ice, second was desert and now we have jungle.

A mysterious illness is sweeping its way through a team drilling for gas deep in the jungle, and when an elite team of Marines get attacked by an unknown assailant, it's up to Arcadian to sort out the mess before it's too late.

With hints of Matthew Reilly's Temple and touches of James Rollins and Jack du Brul, Greig Beck is a name to be reckoned with in this particular genre. Oh, and the ending is certainly intriguing.

Alex Hunter is a terrific creation and I can't wait for his next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DANGER AWAITS IN THE JUNGLES OF PARAGUAY FOR ALEX HUNTER & HIS HAWCs, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Green Hell (Paperback)
'Greig Beck has created a monstrous green jungle that is its own version of Hell'

Four and a half HELLISH Stars! Another fast-paced science fiction, mystery, and military adventure novel in the Alex Hunter series. "This Green Hell" is the 3rd in the series of full novels by author Greig Beck on the adventures of Captain Alex Hunter, code name "Arcadian", the commando team leader with the unusual physical and mental capabilities. Amid a backdrop of future possible scientific breakthroughs and some mysterious disappearances, the plot of the novel concerns strange activities near a Paraguayan jungle prototype drilling operation and its base camp involving Dr Aimee Weir from "Beneath the Dark Ice "(Alex Hunter) including the mysterious disappearance of a special forces team which was sent in to investigate. Alex and the other high-tech equipped "Hotzone All-Forces Warfare Commandos" (HAWCs) are ordered to investigate. Thus begins another wild ride for the HAWCs that seems similar in places to the 2 preceding Alex Hunter novels, but it is much better and different in general and shows Beck's ability to improvise on familiar themes among the novels. Beck cleverly introduces the most unusually formidable 'bad guy' yet in the series, centuries ago. As I have stated in previous reviews, those who are reading this series for the first time may be somewhat puzzled by Alex Hunter and his extraordinary powers, but they should either 'just go with it' and enjoy the fun or read the short prequel novella "Arcadian Genesis" first to get some of the Alex Hunter/HAWC backstory. Along the way in this novel we meet: "La Oscuridad Verde", Maria and Michael Vargis, more HAWC high tech items, The 10 Protocols, clavicula occultus, another very familiar returning character, and newly-promoted Colonel Hammerson, as usual, watching everything from the skies. This is another enjoyable, 'page turner' novel about "the Arcadian" and his high tech-equipped ranger-like forces in this 'addictive military action series'. And do read the "Author's Note" at the end of the novel to get some insight into Beck's research and thought processes in putting together the pieces of this novel. Highly Recommended! Four and a half FANTASTIC Stars! (400 pages, reviewed in Kindle text and text to speech mode. Next up for review in the series, "Black Mountain".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell: Alex Hunter 3 (Kindle Edition)
absolutely great love this author only problem being there isn't enough of his books around I have read all the arcadian series I think in the wrong order but it didn't detract from my enjoyment read them youll be glad you did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars green hell, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell: Alex Hunter 3 (Kindle Edition)
Yhis is another great reag from Greig Beck I find once I get into one of his books I find it hard to put down I find them very entertaining read and always waiting for the next book nd Arcadins next assignment they are usually of a gory nature just how I like them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grabs you and pulls you in, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell (Paperback)
Excellent story, very imaginative and descriptive. Fast paced. Great characters. You feel pulled into the story as though you are there. Made my daily commute fly by. Greigs books never disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another super Arcadian adventure, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell: Alex Hunter 3 (Kindle Edition)
I have now read all the available Arcadian books and they get better and better, this is a cracker, pacy with lots of gore and a virulent disease, what more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Escape, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell: Alex Hunter 3 (Kindle Edition)
Suspend all belief and step away from the real world and this book is a fantastic ride from the first page to the last.
Loved every page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars On a par, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Mw "jenwin" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell: Alex Hunter 3 (Kindle Edition)
A feeling of dejavu when starting, feel I read similar before, but still enjoyed story.onwards and upwards from here on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell (Paperback)
If you like creature books with action this book is for you cant wait to read 4th instalment of the arcaidian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Green Hell: Alex Hunter 3 (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down. I am eager to start the new one and see what is now in store for the arcadian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Green Hell: Alex Hunter 3
£3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews