Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars13
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2001
To me this is by far Ustaad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan's most fruitul collaboration. And its an incredible album in its own right. Michael Brook has struck exactly the right note in his soundscapes that compliment Nusrat Fateh Ali's vocals perfectly. Its not Qawaali, or ghazaal, or ambient or 'world' music. This does not fit any established genre, but it truly is the meeting of two masterful musicians and a fusion of two musical cultures to form something wonderful in its own right. My personal favourite of the tracks is the opening 'My heart, my Life'. Its so simple, so elegant, yet so powerful in its ability to evoke an emotional response. To me its an affirmation of life itself.
Couldn't recommend this more. Its brilliant.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2000
Forget world music genres this is simply one of the greatest albums ever recorded. The mixture of Nusrat Ali Khans stunning vocals, and Qawwal songs with Brooks western arrangments is stunning.
Buy it!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2001
Difficult to find word to express how wonderful this music is. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan on his own is a genius combined with Brook he has produced what is simply some of the greatest music ever.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2008
As a regular window shopper at HMV, I saw the Night song CD and read its cover information - which clearly stated that it was a sequel to Musst Mustt. A week later, I bought it. On listening to all the tracks, the last track (8) entitled: Crest was out of this world and I kept listening to it over and over. The opening lyrics 'Mera Dil - Mere Jaan' 'My Heart, My Life...' From the opening track are tremendous. Apart from these positives, I was a bit let down by tracks 2, 4, 6 & 7 (the title track)! Track 3: Lament; Track 5: Longing; & Track 8: Crest by far the best track is all interlinked to the 'Teri Binay': meaning 'Without You' and 'Shaam Payee Khar Dholana' roughly meaning: 'When Darkness Falls going home will not be easy! These lyrics reminded me of the Famous Sufi poet Mian Mohammed Baksh's poem: `Saif-Al-Maluk' based around the words/metaphor 'While there is light'. However, there are some Pothowari/Punjabi lyrics in track 6 Sweet Pain - which - if they were elaborated further then it would make this track very powerful. The other problem that does not help this Album is that it was put together in a complex way and if it had been produced in a simpler way then it would have not lost the soul in the music. As they say: KISS principle - does have its benefits!

Overall, on saying that, Nusrat's vocals were fantastic and the collaboration/fusion with Michael Brook's string component came into its 'own genre' at track 8 - when I heard the guitar strings played with Nusrat's vocals were out of this world and any pop/rock musician would be proud of!

Obviously, if you only listened to Night song and have not heard Musst Mustt - then it is a Must buy Album. If you have both of these - then it will be good to listen to Bally Sagoo & Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan collaborations via the re-mixes by Bally Sagoo `Magic touch and Ecstasy'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
One of the two albums recorded with Michael Brook. Night Song is my favourite and one of my most listened to albums of all time. A wonderful combination of the distinctive traditional voice and music of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan with the western recording knowhow and instrumentation of Michael Brook. East and West at its best. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I can't think of any other music that reaches me quite like Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. It appeals to my soul in a way no other music can. This is a beautiful record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
A wonderful compliment to Nusrat Fateh Ali khan's traditional work - there are lots of complex rhythms and both joyous and haunting melodies - I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Different but listenable .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
Great music to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
A fantastic fushion of Nusrat's vocals with the string component of Michael Brooke.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99
£7.24
£11.67

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)