Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely incredible
To me this is by far Ustaad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan's most fruitul collaboration. And its an incredible album in its own right. Michael Brook has struck exactly the right note in his soundscapes that compliment Nusrat Fateh Ali's vocals perfectly. Its not Qawaali, or ghazaal, or ambient or 'world' music. This does not fit any established genre, but it truly is the meeting...
Published on 9 Nov 2001

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars those synths again...
i dont want to slag off what real world do because they are instrumental in bringing some of the most fantastic singers/musicians from all over the world to our attention. the problem is that the second western musicians take control of production they tend to dilute the soul in the music by adding preset synths, etc. why cant they keep it simple and with no computer...
Published on 20 July 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely incredible, 9 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
To me this is by far Ustaad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan's most fruitul collaboration. And its an incredible album in its own right. Michael Brook has struck exactly the right note in his soundscapes that compliment Nusrat Fateh Ali's vocals perfectly. Its not Qawaali, or ghazaal, or ambient or 'world' music. This does not fit any established genre, but it truly is the meeting of two masterful musicians and a fusion of two musical cultures to form something wonderful in its own right. My personal favourite of the tracks is the opening 'My heart, my Life'. Its so simple, so elegant, yet so powerful in its ability to evoke an emotional response. To me its an affirmation of life itself.
Couldn't recommend this more. Its brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply brilliant, 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
Forget world music genres this is simply one of the greatest albums ever recorded. The mixture of Nusrat Ali Khans stunning vocals, and Qawwal songs with Brooks western arrangments is stunning.
Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 19 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
Difficult to find word to express how wonderful this music is. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan on his own is a genius combined with Brook he has produced what is simply some of the greatest music ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fusion/Collaboration Album but Keep it Simple = More Soul!, 19 Dec 2008
By 
Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan "Matloub" (South Yorkshire, Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
As a regular window shopper at HMV, I saw the Night song CD and read its cover information - which clearly stated that it was a sequel to Musst Mustt. A week later, I bought it. On listening to all the tracks, the last track (8) entitled: Crest was out of this world and I kept listening to it over and over. The opening lyrics 'Mera Dil - Mere Jaan' 'My Heart, My Life...' From the opening track are tremendous. Apart from these positives, I was a bit let down by tracks 2, 4, 6 & 7 (the title track)! Track 3: Lament; Track 5: Longing; & Track 8: Crest by far the best track is all interlinked to the 'Teri Binay': meaning 'Without You' and 'Shaam Payee Khar Dholana' roughly meaning: 'When Darkness Falls going home will not be easy! These lyrics reminded me of the Famous Sufi poet Mian Mohammed Baksh's poem: `Saif-Al-Maluk' based around the words/metaphor 'While there is light'. However, there are some Pothowari/Punjabi lyrics in track 6 Sweet Pain - which - if they were elaborated further then it would make this track very powerful. The other problem that does not help this Album is that it was put together in a complex way and if it had been produced in a simpler way then it would have not lost the soul in the music. As they say: KISS principle - does have its benefits!

Overall, on saying that, Nusrat's vocals were fantastic and the collaboration/fusion with Michael Brook's string component came into its 'own genre' at track 8 - when I heard the guitar strings played with Nusrat's vocals were out of this world and any pop/rock musician would be proud of!

Obviously, if you only listened to Night song and have not heard Musst Mustt - then it is a Must buy Album. If you have both of these - then it will be good to listen to Bally Sagoo & Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan collaborations via the re-mixes by Bally Sagoo `Magic touch and Ecstasy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
A wonderful compliment to Nusrat Fateh Ali khan's traditional work - there are lots of complex rhythms and both joyous and haunting melodies - I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendental, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
I can't think of any other music that reaches me quite like Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. It appeals to my soul in a way no other music can. This is a beautiful record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
Different but listenable .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
Great music to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mustt mustt buy!, 11 Oct 2003
By 
I. Ahmad "Imran Ahmad" (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
A fantastic fushion of Nusrat's vocals with the string component of Michael Brooke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great choice, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Song (Audio CD)
I bought this for my brother in law and it turned out to be the perfect present. He is a world music fan and he loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Song
Night Song by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews