Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Managed better the lad could have gone somewhere
Okay, the title is a stir, but geez, there are some great albums here.

Devoid of the soundtrack muzac, Elvis delivered some great albums from the mid-50s into the 70s.

An album by album review is pointless, but let's just say that not even his management could ruin his complete body of work.

One listen to the boxset and you're taken from...
Published 12 months ago by Darren English

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the concept of 20 original albums
Love the concept of 20 original albums, but that is misleading, some of these cd's are not the originals but the extended versions released in the 90's. Yes ,extended equals extra tracks , but the track listing on the back covers do not match up with what is on the cd.Still a great box set, but misleading and annoying.
Published 6 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Managed better the lad could have gone somewhere, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
Okay, the title is a stir, but geez, there are some great albums here.

Devoid of the soundtrack muzac, Elvis delivered some great albums from the mid-50s into the 70s.

An album by album review is pointless, but let's just say that not even his management could ruin his complete body of work.

One listen to the boxset and you're taken from the rise of The King, to his army return, across the surprisingly consistent sixties output, then to what I consider a trip across what I consider a 'four or five concept album journey' that chronicles Elvis' marriage breakdown and eventual downfall.

In this respect, in my mind at least, it all makes sense.

At the low price that it is, you get a great return of a good looking box, a respectable booklet, and of course replica album sleeves. Oh, of course you get the music, and on many albums plenty of bonus tracks. What else could you want?

The set is so good, you don't even need to be an Elvis fan to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a deal!, 6 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. Kenneth W. Roper "Elvis and Alabama fan" (Kidlington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
I have been an Elvis fan for almost fifty years, having all of his albums on vinyl and CD but in all the years of collecting I have never seen a bargain as good as this one, twenty albums for less than £2 each. Although I have them all I intend buying this box set for the car, as unlike those in jewel cases they take up far less room.
They have included some of the greatest albums ever assembled by one artist. If you only buy one box set this year, make it this one. A superb collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, almost., 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
The "Perfect" Elvis Presley Collection would be perfect if all of his studio albums were included. Actually, they only needed roughly 10 more titles to make it complete. Why didnt they? Another volume could have covered all movie soundtracks. Still, I love the paper sleeve packaging! It's so much better than bulky jewel cases and gives that "retro" feel of the vinyl lp sleeves. These releases are fantastic for me the collector. Please Sony, complete the set with a second volume!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Box Set, 18 Aug. 2012
By 
C. J. Walker (U K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
If like me you don't own much material by Elvis ( I only have a hits compilation) then this box set is a cheap way to own a large chunk of his original albums.The albums come in minature lp sleeves and you also get a booklet with track listings a
nd a short review of each album.The set concentrates on his later releases but the main early ones are here.I would have liked to see the 68 comeback special and from memphis to vegas here but these are small gripes.A few of the albums have bonus tracks and infact some are duplicated as a whole album is the bonus tracks on another album.But all in all this is a great value box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Albums, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
Fantastic set of 20 albums.I have these originaly on Vinyl.It is great to have them now on CD.Well worth the money.Great for fans just starting out and for the collector.Nicely presented in the box.They are in paper sleeves like the original covers and is completed with a booklelt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best boxset ever!, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
A must for all Elvis fans,the albums cover a large range and theres some hidden gems on some of the not so well known albums!Superb!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STAR PLUS...WELCOME TO MY WORLD, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
WOW what a great box set, the albums that has been selected for this set is brilliant ,
the albums range from all different stages of Elvis career , from the excellent debut album from 1956
to some fine studio albums from the 60"s ( Elvis is back, pot luck ..etc.) two very important live albums
On Stage and Aloha From Hawaii and also the final studio album moody blue.
what is more pleasing is the inclusion of the often overlooked and hard to find is the fantastic
Welcome to my world album, we even have bonus tracks on a few of the albums BRILLIANT eh.
i only have one very small complaint, why did the not give us the Aloha album on gatefold ?
after all it is supposed to be that all the albums have the original artwork.
but hey i"m just being picky ....this is really a fantastic collection and one that i am very happy to
have bought and it is great value for money. WELL DONE SONY AND R.C.A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sizzling, 14 Aug. 2012
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
a great value compact disc box set with the albums in card sleeves.
this is hardly definitive but a good introduction to the king.
sampling the fantastic fifties, the sizzling sixties and the sanguine seventies.
thankfully the irritating movie soundtracks have been mainly forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
Loved it, loved it, loved it.
Bought item as a Christmas present, which was greatly recieved with a very big smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent box set at an amazing price and an ideal ..., 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
An excellent box set at an amazing price and an ideal way to inexpensively update your original vinyl collection. Not Elvis`s complete album collection sadly but hopefully Sony Music / RCA will release another box set in the future. Great looking cardboard sleeves replicating the 70`s style album covers. Even if you are a casual Elvis fan I would highly recommend buying this box set as you`ll undoubtedly discover some hidden gems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis: 20 Original Albums
Elvis: 20 Original Albums by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews