Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
148
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2015
Lovely album. Mellow sound with quirky lyrics. A little "samey" but perfect for chill out session.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Love, love, love this album. The xx are a great band, this is their second album and is not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Got this as a stocking filler. Arrived in time for christmas and is a brilliant cd. Listen to it a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
If you loved the first album then you will love this too! A great album to chill out to, very relaxing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I am a huge fan of the XX. I love every single song in this album. The CD is of great quality too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
not as good as first album but still very good to listen to as I have just become a fan of theirs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Love love love :) ((this is waaaay old now,. sure no one will care for this review :) ))
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Big fan of The XX since the first album. All I can say is that this album is awesome. =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
A let-down compared to their debut. Such a shame as I really wanted to like this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
As soon as I heard `Angels' open the second album by The XX I was in love, by the time the record had come to a close with `Our Song' I was head over heels and instantly played it again. At the stage I'm at now I'm in danger of over playing it, the reason being that it is quite simply beautiful. Taking the template of their debut and refining it is key here and it is as much an album of space as it is sound. Lyrically it's the scribbling's from the pages of a broken hearted teenage diary written by a philosopher and musically it can only be described as hauntingly minimal. Soft beats and even softer keys are barely present among the breathed vocals, this is trip hop turned down to one and makes Massive Attack sound positively fast. Unfortunately if you didn't like their debut chances are you won't find anything here that will change your mind, apart from the experimenting like steel drums on `Reunion' it is pretty much the same thing. That said it is better and more mature like they have grown into their own sound and claimed it with confidence. My only real gripe with the record is the length, it is very short, but that said with the standard of what's on offer here it is not really a big issue and to quote the title of David Eggers book this is still `A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)