Customer Reviews


880 Reviews
5 star:
 (607)
4 star:
 (185)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, entertaining read
Top notch witty writing makes this autobiography a pleasure to read. Rod Stewart has had such a brilliant life and his book covers everything from his early days with the Jeff Beck Group and The Faces, all of the ladies in his life, childhood exploits, hobbies and family to his music career up until now. Packed with loads of stories, many which are simply hilarious, I...
Published on 12 Oct. 2012 by Mrs L Bates

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars feel slightly let down
I got this book because I had read some really good reviews. I am slightly disappointed because of them! Do not get me wrong this is an entertaining book written in an engaging cheeky chappie style and has its moments of amusement, I just found that for me there was a little too much leggy blond stories and to few music ones. I must admit I grew tired of often samey...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. E. W. Gregory


‹ Previous | 1 2 388 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Disarmingly honest, 19 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
The Hair.The Women.The Music.

Many things have been said about Rod Stewart over the years. In a career spanning five decades I guess it is hard not to have hit the headlines once or twice. Now you can read all about Rod Stewart in his new autobiography….and it is bloody good.

Much like the way Rod Stewart can sing a good story it is now apparent that he can also write one. Granted it is a story that he is an expert in because it was he who lived it. His story starts out with his humble beginnings, born just at the end of the war and sees his development from child to teen to man. This ‘warts and all’ account of his life is told in a very honest almost conversational way. Stewart has managed to talk to you in a way that makes you want to – indeed feel compelled to – read on. He doesn’t bog you down with this achievement or that award or how many records he has sold (although there are a few references to his success) however he gives you, rather generously, a guided tour into not only his life but the life of a rock star.

In a time that appears to have musicians incestuously flitting from band to band; and rock stars taking lovers left right and centre; and drugs being bandied around willy-nilly it is hard for someone who hasn’t lived that life to even imagine this world of decadence. Stewart’s simple style of ‘tell it like it was’ makes it seem so tangible and makes you feel a part of this magical scene. The most impressive thing about this account of this world is that he has made it seem microcosmic, just the everyday normal run of the mill events. To the reader these events are often mind-blowing.

Stewart talks candidly about his infidelities, acknowledging his faults and seems truly sorry for any pain he has caused (be warned some of these stories do have a mild blue streak). He is unashamedly honest. The autobiography is littered with miniature chapters which Stewart refers to as ‘Digressions’ – these colourful interludes are used well to break up some of the harder moments in the book such as dealing with his heartbreak, the loss of family or just to generally go off on a tangent unrelated to the last chapter. They add a sweet quality and texture to the story.

What is starkly refreshing about this book is that you get the general feeling of sincerity and gratitude. Stewart gives the impression of feeling genuinely blessed with his lot in life. He shows no sign of stopping and talks of an album release for 2013 but he also doesn’t seem to be angry about the passing of time or the fact that he is getting older. He just seems genuinely content. It is this tone that runs throughout the autobiography that made it such a pleasure to read.

So let Rod Stewart tell you his story in his own unique raspy voice.

Rod – The Autobiography is available now.

* Review originally published on Different Scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From Jack the Lad to .... Captain Sensible!, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
As a lifelong, long-suffering Rod Stewart fan, and as someone whose first record he ever bought was 'Every Picture Tells a Story', my wife decided to give me this for Christmas. The first thing to say is the book isn't going to win any Nobel prizes, but it is honestly written and appears to have been told in Rod's own words, not ghost written (or at least it doesn't read that way) and Rod does show that he has quite a good turn of phrase and can write a bit better than your average rock star. The overall impression you get of his life is that he has lived most of it as a randy adolescent up to the age of about 45, hurting quite a lot of people along the way in pursuit of his own pleasure. After that he starts to take stock of his life and make amends by settling down, first with Rachel Hunter, who gave him a bit of a reality check by dumping him, and then with Penny Lancaster who finally seems to have tamed him. He's a lucky chap and he knows it! Of course the book is much more than just that and gives quite a lot of insight into how his career as a singer has developed and survived over the last 4 to 5 decades. You'd think he must be a pretty shrewd judge to have lasted so long. However, one thing that does come through time and again in the book is what a terrible judge he is of his own music, rejecting some of his best songs in favour of inferior material, and then in the end being proved wrong. I think Rolling Stone once described him as being the biggest waste of a great voice in the history of rock music. I don't think I would go that far myself. Apart from a lot of substandard material there are also quite a lot of great songs along the way, and nearly always excellent covers of other artist's songs too. You can't help feeling that practically all his life has been just about luck, and everything coming out right in the end. The book is an easy and enjoyable read, and anyone who has pretty much grown up with Rod will appreciate this. It's nice to know that Rod's career appears to be on the up again with a new album of his own songs coming out later this year. Something to look forward to again after a mixed bag of material over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit too honest..., 29 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Let me explain.

I've loved Rod since I was 10, when Maggie May first came out. I've seen him in concert a fair few times and nearly died of hypothermia on at least 2 occasions (Wembley and Newcastle Football Ground) when the unseasonal midsummer rain caused speakers to blow, Status Quo to use hot water bottle on their fingers and Rod to slip.

Although I loved the book from an entertainment perspective - I don't think it paints a picture of the warm / charming person I've seen on I don't know how many interviews over the decade.

In being brutally honest about his loves, laddish behaviour in hotels and studios and so on he could have done with someone encouraging him to let others throw in some comments about some of his good points....as I don't feel he paints himself in an entirely good light.

But 10 out of 10 for clearing up some of the rubbish that has been written about him over the years. Although, as someone who has been reading his press for decades, there wasn't much in here that was new.

But it's certainly amusing and it was interesting to read how many times he nearly chose the wrong song for the first single. Clearly the deft choices he always seemed to make, re his career, have sometimes been at the insistence of others.

And to those reviewers who focussed on the tax avoidance...are you telling me that you haven't noticed the Stones et al were doing exactly the same?

He's a national treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, well told, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Mark West (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Rod Stewart is a musical taste I've come to later in life - when I first became aware of him, in the 70s, it was through my dad singing along with "Da Ya Think I'm Sexy" and the whole disco/Hot Legs/sex symbol thing didn't really do it for me. But then I discovered his earlier work, the more soulful stuff and especially his own compositions ("Maggie May", for me, is a terrific song) and really began to appreciate him. This autobiography reveals the man behind the music, from childhood right up to 2012 and his life - for the most part - has been as much fun as you'd have expected it to be. Revealing plenty of set backs (getting started and the struggle with how his voice fit in) and plenty of excesses (interspersed freely throughout the book), this also shows a dedicated family man (regardless of how many times he's been married - three, to be precise), who loves his siblings and parents and children without measure and also remains on good terms with the mothers of said children. A later brush with cancer is sobering, leaving him to reflect on a life that is - by his own admission - rich beyond his dreams but well lived. Apart from a slightly cloying (for me) penultimate chapter on how his relationship with Penny Lancaster (his current - and one presumes - last wife) began, this is a brilliant read, amusing and touching and full of revealing asides about the music business in the 60s, 70s and 80s and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I am a big fan of Rods but not a fan of autobiographies so put off reading this for a while. I am glad I did get round to it as it is very well written and entertaining. I find this book easy to recommend as the subject matter is interesting and the storytelling very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Many a dull moment!, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Paperback)
The book is basically a game of two halves to use a football term to reflect. The first half recounts the early days of Rod's life and his progression through the music scene of the sixties. This is entertaining, interesting, enlightening, funny and a good read. The tone of the writing is self-deprecating and very charming.

However, the book starts to go downhill when the content becomes more an account of Stewart's many conquests, relationships, marriages, failure to keep it in his pants etc. etc. etc. ad infinitum, yawn, yawn. The tone becomes just too self-indulgent as he lays his various misdemeanours before us and begs forgiveness of his devoted readership. What he fails to grasp is that most people would just not care about this side of his life. I would have been more interested in what was behind the making of the music

And that's the other problem with the book. Rod is just not honest enough about how truly crap most of his music became after Atlantic Crossing. He regularly asks the reader to decide themselves if it was any good. Well it wasn't Rod and, on balance, neither is this autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Rocks!, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
I thought I knew more or less everything about Rod the God, having been a fan of his since the Seventies with The Faces. I laughed out loud usually in very public places at the funny bits of which there are many, reminisced at various concerts, places, football matches and incidents I remembered, shed a little tear remembering Ronnie Lane at Wembley when he was already very sick with MS, raised my eyebrows a few times, thinking Ooh I didn't know that. Not just a bluntly honest account of his life on both sides of the Atlantic, warts and all, music of course, women, children, friends, football, houses, cars, hobbies etc. as well as too much alcohol and cocaine but also an account of the history of soul and rock music over the last fifty years. What a great book with a lot of content and some nice photos at the end, definitely worth every penny at just over £7 Kindle or £8 hardbook. A must buy for every Rod fan 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book great value for money with loads of personal information on Rod Stewart, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
very interesting product with loads of detail. Would definitely recommend this book to any Rod Stewart fans. Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life's not a dress rehearsal................................., 1 Jan. 2013
By 
J.D. Chaplin (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book, written with a winning candour throughout.

Rod Stewart has produced an autobiography full of great annecdotes, joy, regret but most of all an unquenchable thirst for life. One can only bear witness and applaud the way he takes full advantage of all that fame and fortune brings his way. What makes this book so entertaining is his refusal to judge or comment on the behaviour of his former selves. He merely sets out the story and asks the reader to make up their mind.

I challenge any man having read this to not thereafter ask himself in many a situation 'What would Rod do?'.

What is especially touching is his love for his wife Penny and large family. This is a sunny book and if ever someone's life epitomised the benefits of not taking things too seriously or analysing things too much it is Rod's.

Frankly you come away wanting more. I hope he writes in more detail in the future, particularly on the sixties and seventies with The Faces.

He didn't get to where he is today without meaning every word if it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sex, Celtic, singing ...and model railways, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rod: The Autobiography (Paperback)
As you would expect Rod Stewart has led quite a life..and he relates a lot of it here with perhaps suprising candour, and at times with a welcome self deprecating wit. His passions, as is well known, have been and continue to be partying, music (much of which has been wonderful), football (he still plays a bit), women - lots of them and always stunning(occasionaly romance appears as well, and he seems to have settled happily now), sports cars, massive houses - and probably most suprisingly - model railways (there a couple of photos here and they are amazing)

This is an enjoyable book which I read in a couple of sittings. It is light and fun to read, though not particularly self reflective, and there is little modesty on offer here from Mr Stewart, despite the humour. I think I'll buy his new album though....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 388 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rod: The Autobiography
Rod: The Autobiography by Rod Stewart
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews