Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cosy romantic read xXx
I absolutely adore Cathy Woodman's books and I still feel she doesn't get the recognition she deserves.

Cathy has taken this book down a slightly different path this time with our main character Nikki being a GP rather than a vet which is what I think is what has brought the spark back from the first two books as I think Cathy had done all she can with vets as...
Published on 22 Nov. 2012 by realovesbooks

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Sadly I was disappointed with this latest Cathy Woodman novel. Firstly because of the misleading title and secondly - it has just been an irritating book to read. I thought at first it was just me but upon reading the reviews I am pleased to find that I am not the only reader to feel like this. There are certainly an unacceptable number of proof errors contained within...
Published on 23 Jun. 2012 by Ms. S. M. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
Ms. S. M. Williams (Broughton, North Lincs.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly I was disappointed with this latest Cathy Woodman novel. Firstly because of the misleading title and secondly - it has just been an irritating book to read. I thought at first it was just me but upon reading the reviews I am pleased to find that I am not the only reader to feel like this. There are certainly an unacceptable number of proof errors contained within the book unfortunately. I "stuck with it" because I paid the full price when the book was first published. I shall not be keeping it to re-read at a later date but my local Oxfam bookshop will benefit from my donating it to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cosy romantic read xXx, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I absolutely adore Cathy Woodman's books and I still feel she doesn't get the recognition she deserves.

Cathy has taken this book down a slightly different path this time with our main character Nikki being a GP rather than a vet which is what I think is what has brought the spark back from the first two books as I think Cathy had done all she can with vets as lead characters in Talyton st George, so having Nikki has brought a breath of fresh air to this book. Nikki is a down to earth, loveable character who loves to ride her horse Willow and takes part in horse events.

As love looks like it could be blossoming between Nikki and the handsome local vet Matt, problems begin to develop and Matt soon gives Nikki an ultimatum Him or riding, stuck between a rock and hard place what discussion will Nikki make?

We see a number of characters from the previous books return to make an appearance in this book which gave the book a cosy and familiar feeling but having said this they do not have important roles so you can easily read this book as a standalone book.

What I love about Cathy's writing is it flows so effortlessly and at an even keel enveloping you into the storyline straight from the first chapter and carries you right the way through to a perfect ending without feeling rushed and also with no low points in the book which would make you want to skim through the pages when you lose interest.

These books are great for readers who love believable romance and stories set in cosy little villages, oh and a love of animals help but is not essential!

I highly recommend this book although not one to get you in the festive mood as the topic of Christmas is only briefly touched upon, this would still make a perfect Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raining Cats and dogs xXx, 28 April 2012
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I have always been a firm fan of Cathy Woodman, when I read It's a Vets Life last year I thought we had seen the end of the vet series of books by this author but then I hear there is a new one called The Village Vet, I couldn't wait to get my hands on a copy to see what is going to happen in the idyllic village of Talyton St George.

The Village Vet focuses on a new character Tessa Wilde, when we first meet Tessa she is about to get married but after her ex Jack arrives at church pleading with Tessa not to marry Nathan she soon gets cold feet not that she would admit that it is because of Jacks outburst.

Tessa is left single and with a huge sum of debt and no home until her aunt gives her a life line and offers Tessa the opportunity to run the new local animal sanctuary but there was one thing Tessa didn't bargain on and that was how close she would be working with Jack, thing is have the two still got feelings for each other that could result in them rekindling their old romance?

Cathy Woodman creates yet another loveable down to earth character in Tessa. It took no time at all to warm to her character, unfortunately I didn't have the same thoughts about Tessa's best friend Katie from the first moment I met her I instantly had my guard up about her I took an instant dislike to her character and felt as though she was hiding something and after a few chapters I thought I knew what it was she was hiding and I was right although it was predictable I enjoyed the build up awaiting the truth to arise.

We have yet another handsome and charming vet in Jack he did have a similar feel to Alex in previous books but I also loved his character so I am not going to complain about that! The relationship both professional and personal, between Tessa and Jack is what really makes this book the constant will they won't they throughout the book makes this a real page turner. It is quite clear whilst reading this book that the author has had experience within the vet world as we meet many different animals with various ailments that all need re-homing and with the author putting detailed information into this fictional book it makes the story feel very realistic.

I love that some of the characters from the previous books make an appearance again in this book giving a familiar feel to the book.

If you love animals and are looking for a cosy country book with a gentle pace for your weekend read then The Village Vet needs to be next on your to be read list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another page turner, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading the next book in the series by Cathy Woodman. I enjoy her style of focussing each book on different members of the village so there are the 'regulars' who crop up in each book. I'm always left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to stop reading once started, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to follow, great for unwinding. Usual style of Cathy Woodman with romance. Difficult to put down once started. Life at Taylton St George is never boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cathy woodman fan, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I am a keen Cathy Woodman fan, I am afraid this book was not up to her usual standard.
I must agree with a couple of the other reviws"a little childish and patronising" and almost
could be classed as a little 'corny' at times !
Cathy's books are usually better than this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title!, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the first four books in the Talyton Vets series, I was expecting this book to be a direct continuation (given the title). However, it was about the recently opened animal sanctuary. Therefore I found the title misleading.

It was a "nice" story, but definitely not up to the same standard as the other books in the series, which I found addictive from the first page. I just plodded through this book, it wasn't boring, just not very exciting, and was very, very predictable! Halfway through this book I knew exactly how it was going to end!

It won't put me off reading the next book in the series, as they are usually very good. I hope this is a one off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 23 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable read but not as title says, although all the previous characters are mentioned, the story is not about the village vet ,would probably not bought if I had read the write ups properly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to meet new characters but miss Maz and Emma, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I've become a huge fan of Cathy Woodman's Talyton St George vet series ever since I was given a copy of Trust Me I'm A Vet as a present a couple of years ago but one of the things I've enjoyed most in the last couple of books is that we are now starting to be introduced to new characters in the village.

In Vets in Love we meet two new characters, GP Nicci, who's dream ambition is to compete in the Badminton Horse trials, and Matt, the local Equine vet. Nicci and Matt seem perfect for each other with so much in common but they each have their own baggage that creates problems for them. Matt, in particular, is haunted by an event from his past that makes him unable to support Nicci's ambition to compete so when he gives her an ultimatum, will she be able to give up her dreams to be with him?

One of the things I love about Cathy's books are that some old characters turn up like old friends so it's pleasing to see that, although in this books we're introduced to a few new characters including Nicci's mother, sister and family, a couple of oldies make brief appearances but it would be nice to see Maz and Emma make a reappearance soon.

I do have one minor niggle though, and it also applies to the previous book, and that is the titles of the books as they are not strictly accurate. In this book there is only one vet, not plural, so surely it should be Vet in Love whereas in The Village Vet,Tessa is a vetinary nurse and not a vet. But that being said the titles of the books do not detract from the enjoyment of the storyline.

I'm already looking forward to the next installment in the Talyton St George series which is due to be published next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 13 Sept. 2012
Having read and enjoyed other books by this author I couldn't resist buying this one which is number five in the Talyton St George series.

Before the story begins there is a little map of Talyton St George, this is something that I really like because it gives me a clearer picture in my mind of where everything is.

The only issue I have with books about vets is that I find it very difficult to read about hurt/injured animals, even fictional ones, so seeing as this book started off with a dog being hit by a car I kind of felt like I couldn't read on. Obviously I did carry on reading and I'm glad I did because, as always with books by this author, the personal lives of the villagers are so entertaining that I can forgive a little bit of upset and tears over the animals (I just have to keep reminding myself that they aren't real!)

Tessa's wedding day was brilliant, it was very eventful and ended with a bizarre confession from her great-aunt! I was pleased when she decided to take on the running of the animal sanctuary as I felt it would be a fresh start for her, it certainly brought about a lot of changes in her life - some good and some not so good.

I really enjoyed reading about the day-to-day running of the sanctuary, having done some volunteer work at an animal sanctuary myself I loved all the memories it brought back.

The romance side of the story was good, the tension between Tessa and Jack was so exciting to read but just when I thought I had it all figured out something happened that completely shocked me!

There was also a sinister side to the story with Tessa being secretly watched and when all is revealed she found herself in quite a scary situation.

This is another fantastic read from Cathy Woodman, creating a mixture of emotions throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vets in Love: (Talyton St George)
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews