Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Freebird Continues To Fly....
Hats of to Skynyrd once again,like the previous 'God and Guns' disc this is excellent.All the usual themes are here - Defiance (Last of a Dyin Breed), Death (Ready To Fly), tales of broken America (Something To Live For/Nothing Comes Easy), Family (Good Teacher),the challenges of life (One Day At A Time/Life's Twisted). Its an album of many moods from the hope of 'Poor...
Published on 23 Aug. 2012 by Mr Blackwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great.
I heard "One day at a time" and imagined the rest of the album to be of this calibre - it wasn't. OK but not great.
Published 6 months ago by Pussinboots


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Freebird Continues To Fly...., 23 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hats of to Skynyrd once again,like the previous 'God and Guns' disc this is excellent.All the usual themes are here - Defiance (Last of a Dyin Breed), Death (Ready To Fly), tales of broken America (Something To Live For/Nothing Comes Easy), Family (Good Teacher),the challenges of life (One Day At A Time/Life's Twisted). Its an album of many moods from the hope of 'Poor Mans Dream' to the world weary 'Start Livin Life Again', the good time 'Doin It Up Right'/'Homegrown' & 'Mississippi Blood' to the downright Lecherous 'Honey Hole'..it may be about a late night bar(or a fish pond - see magazine) or it may be about something entirely different,safe to say your unlikely to hear it on your local radio station.

This is a superb disc capturing every emotion,you can envisage them sitting back on the porch,throwing back a few beers while playin' 'Start Livin Life Again',you can see the lighters in the air if and when the play 'Ready To Fly' in concert,you can nod your head in agreement with the sentiment felt in 'Something To Live For',he's singing about America but we can all share in the feeling that most countries fail there people at some point.

I initially wasnt going to give 5 stars but this disc IS a 5 star disc on its own merits,it shouldnt be compared to the 70's ,if the original members were all still here,they wouldnt be able to re-create the spark of their youth,so while this doesnt have the youthful vibrancy of the early days(and how could it),this is a modern Skynyrd for a modern age while remaining true to the original blueprint.

The playing on this disc is superb,the guitar playin excellent,nuthin fancy(pun intended) but hits the spot each time,Johnny Van Zants vocals wonderful(he's had the hardest job and risen to it beautifully),they're raucous at one moment and emotive the next,a job well done.The new boys have gelled perfectly all no doubt helped by the excellent production once more of Bob Marlette..

Now if they would just take the next step and play these tunes in concert,'Ready to Fly' was made for the stage,it would be perfect played just before 'Freebird'.

The Fan pack as usual is superb,great photos ,excellent reading,the only slight negative about this release,as mentioned by a previous reviewer,it would appear that as well as the standard CD release,there is another special edition which also has 4 bonus track,however that edition has 2 exclusive studio track not found here,we get two live tracks ,which while is good value,the studio tracks would have been of more interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope it isn't 'Last of a Dynin' Breed' !!, 10 July 2013
By 
Richard S. Sharp "Richard S" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
Oh, what a fabulous album this is. Picking up and improving further on where they left off with `God & Guns', here is the modern, more weighty, and well produced Skynyrd with a truly immaculate set of songs with great tunes and some chunky riffs that certainly put a huge smile on my face. I'm playing it to death. Absolute stand-out smash hits for me are `Mississippi Blood' and `Nothing Comes Easy'. I've learnt the words already and anyone who has the misfortune to see me driving by will see/hear me bellowing out the lyrics whilst trying to suppress the biggest grin it is possible to have. This is truly great music that is simple, uncomplicated, follows a great formula and hugely entertaining... and isn't that what it's all about? Buy the album, rent a pick-up truck with a huge V8, put on your sunglasses, slide Last of a Dyin' Breed into the CD player, hit the open road on a sunny day, and imagine you're cruising across Alabama and Mississippi on your way back to your rocking chair on the porch :-) It just doesn't get any better. This album would come to a desert island with me, period. Can we have another one like this soon please Lynyrd Skynyrd?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet !, 21 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
I'm probably in the minority who think that Skynyrd are better with Johnny Van Zant than the original line-up with his brother. Sure the earlier records had some moments of brilliance but I thought there was quite a lot of filler tracks on most of those albums.
However since the second coming with the "1991" album they have barely written a duff tune with each release being very consistent & I feel that this latest release is their best yet.
I have the special edition containing 15 tracks & it's difficult to pick a highlight as each song is of a very high quality, although I do have a soft spot for the Nickelback tinged "Homegrown".
Working with Bob Marlette has been a good move for them as he is one of the best writer/producers around these days & has helped take them to another level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Of A Dyin' Breed Lynyrd Skynyrd, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
This is the best album ever that Lynyrd Skynyrd have made. This is a must for all Skynyrd fans and others who want to listen to an excellent album from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dyin'...don't think so..., 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
I M H O ,every bit as good as god and guns,lovvit....always liked skynyrd,proven product live and studio...this is southern rock at it's finest...jinx xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their best album to date, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
Jan Olsen-Nalum (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
I first saw the band in 1975 and have been a big fan ever since, and I reckon this is their best album ever; and it leaves me wanting more. Based on the sounds of this album I am looking forward with anticipation to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Last of a dyin breed. By name and by the cruel fate of time, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
Four stars because of the quality of content,the guitar riffs and the ability of the remaining few to come up with some very new material. The production is absolutely fantastic with a real sense of space and power in the mix.
Not a bad track insight. This is nothing like the skynard of old, but a fresh powerfull cd packed full of goodies which some of the older fans may not like. Overall though, a real and very pleasant surprise and which has been played over and over. Good job that cd's don't wear out like needles onto vinyl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lynyrd Skynyrd, 21 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
Amongst all the samey greatest hits albums from the group, it's refreshing to find such a brilliant album with a difference. Lynyrd Skynyrd have often been likened to the Phoenix that rose from the ashes and, whilst we all mourn the loss of Ronnie Van Zant, his brothers Johnny and Donnie have kept the band innovating and, at the same time, keeping the identity of the group. This album contains some of the material that has kept the light burning and given us a rock band which is as epic now as it was in its early years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT CD, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
I have hardly stopped playing this CD since I bought it. As a result, I intend to catch up on some of their other CDs which I currently do not have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good old southern rock, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
Mrs. A. Merry "darkette" (oxfordshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Of A Dyin' Breed (Audio CD)
a really good mix of rock/blues/country in this album,true skynyrd style,would definately reccommend to anyone who likes american southern rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Of A Dyin' Breed
Last Of A Dyin' Breed by Lynyrd Skynyrd (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews