Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go Banana's!
Disc: 1
1. Aie A Mwana
2. Really Saying Something
3. Shy Boy
4. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
5. Cruel Summer
6. Robert De Niro'S Waiting
7. Venus
8. I Heard A Rumour
9. Love In The First Degree
10. I Can'T Help It
11. I Want You Back
12. Love, Truth & Honesty
13. Nathan Jones
14. Help
15. Only...
Published 23 months ago by Jackiesmackie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
Nice to have the videos but the quality of the earlier videos are not great. Would have been nice to have had " t'aint what you do" on it.
Published 3 months ago by Mr. G. Ridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go Banana's!, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Jackiesmackie "Independently Different" (UK, Blackburn) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
Disc: 1
1. Aie A Mwana
2. Really Saying Something
3. Shy Boy
4. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
5. Cruel Summer
6. Robert De Niro'S Waiting
7. Venus
8. I Heard A Rumour
9. Love In The First Degree
10. I Can'T Help It
11. I Want You Back
12. Love, Truth & Honesty
13. Nathan Jones
14. Help
15. Only Your Love
16. Preacher Man [7" Mix]
17. Movin' On [7" Mix]
18. Every Shade Of Blue
19. Move In My Direction
20. Look On The Floor
21. Love Comes
22. Love Don'T Live Here
Disc: 2
1. Really Saying Something
2. Shy Boy (Video)
3. Cheers Then
4. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
5. Cruel Summer
6. Robert De Niro'S Waiting
7. Rough Justice
8. Hotline To Heaven
9. The Wild Life
10. Do Not Disturb
11. Venus
12. More Than Physical
13. A Trick Of The Night (Colour Version)
14. I Heard A Rumour
15. Love In The First Degree
16. I Can'T Help It
17. I Want You Back
18. Love Truth & Honesty
19. Nathan Jones
20. Help
21. Only Your Love
22. Preacher Man
23. Long Train Running
24. Tripping On Your Love
25. Movin' On
26. Last Thing On My Mind
27. More, More, More
28. Every Shade Of Blue
29. Take Me To Your Heart
30. Move In My Direction
31. Look On The Floor (Hypnotic Tango)
32. Love Comes
33. Love Don'T Live Here
34. Venus (12")
35. I Can'T Help It (12")

What a stonking set! You get a massive array of hits, vidoes and remixes. The value for money is fantastic. Disc 1 and you get hits with a couple of tracks I'd never heard before, always nice. The second disc gives you bags of videos with some of the best hits they released. Venus - iconic and sadly a good background to a few feminine hygiene product adverts. Nathan Jones - just good solid tunes you can get behind drunk or sober. Robert De Niros waiting - I never understood why they sang about Robert De Niro but I know it is a great tune.

You are getting great value here for retro tunes and videos. The singing into your hairbrush is optional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Practically every video in great quality!, 27 July 2012
By 
T. Burton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
The girls really came through on this collection! This includes nearly every Bananarama video, clean, uncut, and with no missing intros or endings. From the Fun Boy Three video up to their most recent work.

The video sources appear to be of consistently high quality with stereo audio. Nothing looks to be a VHS transfer like some other 80's artists collections seem to be. The whole collection is mastered all together so that you can skip forward or backwards through the videos without any weird transitions by the DVD player. The only exception is the two bonus extended videos are accessed through the bonus menu.

The only missing videos I'm aware of are Careless Whisper, Waterloo, and the alternate versions of I Want You Back and Trick of the Night.

Included are all the Pop Life and Please Yourself videos that never saw a proper retail release as well as the very rare Take Me To Your Heart.

Now if we can just get the same for Kim Wilde!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best from the best!, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
The mighty Bananarama are the best girl band of all time, no doubt about it. And here are a couple of dozen reasons why in this fabulous collection of their most well-known hit singles.

It's great to hear the rich harmonies right from the very beginning with Siobhan, thru Jackie, and to the hugely talented duo Sarah and Keren have continued to be since 1992. The quality of songwriting and performance never dips for a moment, and in fact it could be argued that in their most recent recordings - the brilliant massive hits that never were, 'Love Comes', and 'Love Don't Live Here' - they have produced the best material of their entire career. No mean feat when you consider the strength of the string of famous hit singles from the 80s and 90s. It's also refreshing to hear the two remaining members sing solo parts on the more recent material and demonstrate their strong and characteristic vocals.

It's often forgotten that all three original members and the two remaining members co-penned almost all of the tracks they recorded, and classics like 'Cruel Summer', 'Robert De Niro's Waiting', 'Look on the Floor', and 'Love in the First Degree' will never lose their sparkle or pop gem status. Even the handful of covers like 'Venus', 'Na Na Hey Hey' and 'Really Saying Something' are given new invigorating life and lifted to superior heights compared to the originals.

What's probably the top pull here though is the addition of a DVD of 2 hours plus of nearly every video the band ever made. This is what all the fans have wanted for many years, and it's no disappointment. The early videos show three girls very much in charge of their image and expression, often tongue in cheek with lots of nudging and giggling, and ultimately so charming. They mature as sex sirens as the 80s progress, but never lose their sense of humour or allow anyone to sell them as mere pretty packaging. But what's also fantastic about the DVD is that across 35 tracks you get to see and hear all the singles not included on the CD and realise that even when a song didn't make the top 20 it was still a bloody great track. "Cheers Then' and 'Trick of the Night' are stunning ballads, one naive, one bursting with power and confidence, while "Hotline to Heaven' and 'Rough Justice' show just how good their writing talents for more serious pop fare were even in their early days.

These women deserve so much more credit than they've ever been given, and could give any current girl group more than a run for their money in the melody and catchy hooks stakes. Let's hope this 30 year celebration is the big success it should be and reminds everyone just how brilliant it is to have Bananarama as part of the British music scene we are all so justly proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 yrs of bananarama, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
a long awaited and fab collection of the best of bananarama,have always being a huge fan of the girls,went to see them in concert in dublin in 1989 when they took their world tour here.what i love is not only do we get a great cd but also an amazing collection of their video's all on one dvd,from their classic floorfillers like venus,i heard a rumour,i want you back and love in the first degree to help,movin'on,only your love,last thing on my mind and move in my direction,along with greats such as cruel summer,robert de niro's waiting,nathan jones,rough justice,love,truth and honesty, this collection has something for everyone and no doubt this cd/dvd will be played at many parties for years to come,if-like me you grew up in the eighties this is like a soundtrack of your life(that is of course you are a bananarama fan).....enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
im a huge fan of them .went to see them in Bristol june 2014 they have still got it ! they look great and didn't disappoint. this cd is just a reminder how good they really are and still going strong unlike the other girl bands that have split up bananarama are still going for it and having fun! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
One of the BEST girl groups EVER!!! <3 <3 <3 Buy this BEST OF CD!!! Happy dance music! Kind regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 3 April 2014
By 
Mr. G. Ridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
Nice to have the videos but the quality of the earlier videos are not great. Would have been nice to have had " t'aint what you do" on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years of Bananarama, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
Videos from old time which is hard to find with acceptable quality. A complete collection of videos which is rare item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BANARAMA AT ITS BEST, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Bradley S Martell (calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30 Years of Bananarama (Audio CD)
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT COMPILATION OF BANANARAMA. I RCCOMEND THIS MORE FOR THE DVD WITH MORE VIDEOS THAN YOU CAN SHAKE A STICK AT. INCLUDED IS THE EXTENDED VERSION PROMO VIDEO FOR VENUS & I CAN'T HELP IT. THIS IS THE FIRST DVD WITH BANANARAM'S VIDEOS IN YEARS!!!!!! IF YOU LOVE THEM LIKE I DO, BUY THIS FOR THE DVD, NOT THE CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 15 Dec 2013
By 
R. Sinclair "Mr.Bob" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sorry but I bought this album many years ago when I moved into my first flat and this is what I played when I was decorating. I think it's a great lively album with that characteristic 90's feel. I think it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

30 Years of Bananarama
30 Years of Bananarama by Bananarama (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews