Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise
Reading the blurb and the various reviews I was expecting a bloody, black comedy; which Some Guys Who Kills People is to some extent but in the end it's far more than that.

Kevin, freshly released from a mental institution, works in an ice-cream parlour whose simple life is dominated by his critical boss, overbearing mother and constant run-ins with the...
Published on 22 Feb. 2013 by Mr. J. Ryden

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Disappointed
Just awful. I do not like to criticize films but would urge you not to spend your money here. There are so many better films.
Published on 9 Mar. 2013 by B. J. Anstey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD] (DVD)
Reading the blurb and the various reviews I was expecting a bloody, black comedy; which Some Guys Who Kills People is to some extent but in the end it's far more than that.

Kevin, freshly released from a mental institution, works in an ice-cream parlour whose simple life is dominated by his critical boss, overbearing mother and constant run-ins with the now-grown-up school bullies who made his life a misery. His only friend is Irv, colleague from work, who advises Ken to stand up for himself. Of course, once Ken's ex-tormentors begin meeting gruesome endings the Sheriff and his Deputy begin closing in.

Ultimately, it's actually a rather sad film(in the true sense of the word). Ken's life is nothing to write home about though he somehow manages to keep a brave face despite being treated like dirt by family and peers. The relationship between he and his mother, and ex-girlfriend, were the focus of the film in my opinion. Emasculated, it's hard not to feel sympathy for him as he's constantly belittled and undermined.

The blossoming friendship between he and Stephanie is heartwarming and unsurprisingly awkward (given Ken's lack of social finesse); not entirely essential to the script but a nice addition nonetheless. The Sheriff and lackey are both comedy gold with their dead-pan banter as they investigate the grisly trail of dismembered limbs.

In short, a remarkably touching comedy-drama about some simple guy who dreams of revenge and a better life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I BRING JUSTICE,, 26 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD] (DVD)
Karen Black is back as the mother of our slasher killer Kenny Boyd (Kevin Corrigan). Kenny was tormented by a group of men early in the film. After fathering a daughter Amy, now 11 (Ariel Gade) and spending time in the "looney bin" he is back in his home town working at the local ice cream parlor. Revenge is being enacted on those who tormented him, all the while his estranged daughter is attempting to establish a relationship. The town sheriff (Barry Bostwick) investigating the murders is dating Kenny's mom. A British woman named Stephanie (Lucy Davis) has designs on Kenny.

The police officers investigating the case come across as the typical Hollywood dumb cops. The sheriff says things like, " [When I find him I will] tear his skin off and make him wear his own skin."

Karen Black gets in a few good lines:

Karen: "Kenny cooked lasagne once."
Amy: "Was it good?"
Karen: "Yes."
Kenny: "Really?"
Karen: "Don't make me lie twice."

Kenny keeps himself sheltered. His daughter is forcing him out of his comfort zone. The humor is a somewhat subtle. I am tempted to watch it a second time to pick up things I may have missed. If you enjoy quirky slashers, I suggest "Chop."

Parental Guide: F-bombs, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cover does not do the film justice., 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD] (DVD)
Looking at the cover you would think this was a low budget B movie, in other words rubbish.
For the first 10 minutes you have your doubts this film will be good but then it slowly sucks you in, then when it has you it starts to unwind a very interesting and intriging tale.
The lead characters inabillity to communicate is frustrating and entertaining to the point of obsession.
If you haven't seen it it's definitely worth a look. One of my all time favourite films which keeps you guessing till the end.
Although the bird from Shaun of the Dead is starting to look a bit ropey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Off Beat Comedy with a few Murders and its fab!, 11 Dec. 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD] (DVD)
Ken Boyd (Kevin Corrigan- `The Departed')has the sort of life only a deranged masochist would be jealous of. He lives with his far from doting mother after being released from a mental institution or `looney bin' as he calls it. His best mate has managed to get him a job at an ice cream parlour where the boss takes great pleasure out of making him feel small. He finds it hard to sleep as he is continually haunted by flash backs to the guys that help put him over the edge.

Then he is sent to a private function where one of his prior tormentors is actually celebrating his birthday - Ken has to dress up as ice cream cone, which only adds to the continuing torture.

Then the tormentor turns up dead and enter Sherriff Walt Fuller played by the brilliant Barry Bostwick, he has a career going back to the seventies and played `Brad' in `The Rocky Horror Picture Show', so I will always have a massive soft spot in my heart for him, and needless to say he steals every scene he is in -fan,bloody tastic. He has a trusty sidekick who is more into puns than boring old detective work. We also have a love interest played by Lucy Davis who I also love and she plays it just the right side of English quirky. But just when you think things can't get any more mysterious his eleven year old daughter turns up and sort of gets things moving at a rate of knots. Meanwhile the body count rises. None of the above is a plot spoiler but more a scene setter to entice you to watch this brilliant little film.

Written by Ryan A. Levin who is better known for `Scrubs', this is one of those films that slipped under the radar and really does deserve a lot more attention. It is warm, funny, brilliantly over acted when it needs to be and for splat and gore fans, we even have some of that too, whilst it may not tick all the boxes of cult it does get remarkably close - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought we were doing puns..., 4 Dec. 2013
Ken Boyd is not long out of a mental hospital, and is working at an ice-cream parlour.

The people that put him in the mental hospital start turning up dead. He finds out he has a daughter while at the same time that these killings are happening in the town.

The local Sheriff is going out with Ken's mother and he starts to suspect that Ken is the killer.

All the evidence is pointing that way, and Ken's estranged daughter catches him in a compromising position. It's not looking good.....

What's striking about this film, is that it almost feels like something Terry Zwigoff could churn out in an afternoon. Its kooky, and a little leftfield, but never complicated, which is why it's endlessly watchable.

But the story is nothing original, man gets released from an asylum, and soon the people who put him there start turning up dead, the foundation for many horror movies during the eighties, except, this has a very humanistic element to it.

The inclusion of the protagonist having a daughter, and the narrative focusing on his relationships and returning to normality, rather than putting its all into the actual killings.

The lead is very endearing, and I could watch Lucy Davies read the phone book, but Bostwick steals the film with a really strange performance that grabs your attention whenever he utters a syllable.

So all in all, it'd not for all tastes, but it's very kitsch, and a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the film very different and funny in parts .. Past on to friends to watch sure they will enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 Jun. 2012
I saw this film at Abertior Film Festival last year and was blown away by it. It is an amazing correlation of horror, comedy and the human condition. It has some fantastic twists which will make you both laugh and think. The casting is spot on and I was very pleasently surprised to see in it Kevin Corrigan and Lucy Davis who are not only amazing, but amoungst my favourite horror comedy actors. I gave it 5 stars at Abertoir and I stand by that today. I heartily recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy black comedy slasher psycho father daughter dadaist love story, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is black humour and does it cleverly. It is amusing and has some great actors in here. It is many things, a comedy, a slasher, a romcom, a detective story with some wacky and witty insights that just keep coming, a father daughter story, exwife/husband story, a revenge plot, a film about mentally ill trying to make it, a mother son film. It checks all these effortlessly. I wasn't so keen a couple of things - on the actress from the British original of The Office but she sort of did OK, and one scene seemed a bit contrived with one of the actors placed somewhere that leaves questions in your mind afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Horror for Most, 17 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some Guy Who Kills People is a slasher comedy with a heart. The script is warm and witty and the film features great performances, including a near show-stealing appearance by Barry Bostwick. Definitely pick it up, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a view, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD] (DVD)
Please ignore the silly title and badly put together DVD cover they don't really convey the type of film this is ,if anything it can be described as quite a sweet and gentle revenge comedy (apart from the over the top but necessary violence) acted out with style and wit by the ensemble cast, particularly Barry Bostwick although to be fair he does get all the best lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD]
Some Guy Who Kills People [DVD] by Jack Perez (DVD - 2012)
£1.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews