Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise
Reading the blurb and the various reviews I was expecting a bloody, black comedy; which Some Guys Who Kills People is to some extent but in the end it's far more than that.

Kevin, freshly released from a mental institution, works in an ice-cream parlour whose simple life is dominated by his critical boss, overbearing mother and constant run-ins with the...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. J. Ryden

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn
I bought this based on the fantastic reviews on Amazon. Never again. If you have any thing else on your planner or anything else to watch I'd go for that. Its dull, plodding, a little weird at times and lacklustre. Its one of those films where you just wish you wouldve done something else. Its a little amusing but I found myself clockwatching for the majority of the...
Published 9 months ago by duncisared


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a view, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please ignore the silly title and badly put together DVD cover they don't really convey the type of film this is ,if anything it can be described as quite a sweet and gentle revenge comedy (apart from the over the top but necessary violence) acted out with style and wit by the ensemble cast, particularly Barry Bostwick although to be fair he does get all the best lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 25 May 2013
By 
H. C. JACOBS (Gauteng, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although lacking in the budget department, this movie has good actors and a good story. The comedy is dark and funny, with quite a few good one liners (especially from a dead pan Barry Bostwick). Thoroughly enjoyed it and will watch again in the near future. Give it a chance, you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good if not Great, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite enjoyable although in the end a little predictable film about some guy who kills people. But done very well and the lead parts are played superbly by Kevin Corrigan and Ariel Gade. More humourous than the title might suggest while at the same time able to say something meaningful about bullies, victims and how people turn out in the end. Humm that actually sounds a little high-brow or boring, which this film definitely is not! Give it a go, I think you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Average title - great film, 25 Feb 2013
If you can ignore the slightly cheesy title, you'll find this is actually one of those rare hidden gems of films. It crosses many genres. It can go from grisly serial-killer flick to touching family drama in a matter of scenes, plus it throws in a good few black comedy moments (mainly courtesy of the Sherriff's dry humour).

It's about a man who's recently been released from state psychiatric care (or simply `the loonie bin' as he keeps referring to it). He lives with his mother and gets a low-key job in an ice cream parlour. However, when he's not serving up cherries on sundaes, he's gruesomely hacking to bits a pack of high school bullies who he blames for putting him into care.

He seems quite content with this until one day, by accident, he literally bumps into his long lost daughter who, in turn, seems to take HIM under her wing and invoke a daddy-daughter reunion. Not only is the film both violent and touching, but it also manages to do something that few films can, i.e. have a child actor that you actually like. His daughter is both brash and yet endearing and the young actress is certainly going to be one to watch in the future.

If your sense of humour leans towards the `black side' you should enjoy watching the various relationships rise and fall. If you can stomach a small amount of gore and blood you will be rewarded with a funny and touching experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 24 Dec 2012
I watched this film on DVD tonight. I have to say, I really enjoyed it. The plot is intricate, so it keeps you guessing and, I have to admit, I never saw the ending coming. It held my attention and I was riveted all the way through the film. The acting is good and it has some good kill scenes. It follows a similar pattern to a slasher film, but with a difference, so don't expect a Friday The 13th or Halloween type film. Keep an open mind and you should enjoy this. I give it the full five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and blood-soaked dark comedy., 18 Dec 2012
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People (Region Free) [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Ken Boyd (Kevin Corrigan) is finally a free man after serving four years in a psychiatric hospital. He's a 35-year-old who tried to commit suicide, still lives with his mother, and works at an ice cream parlor; obviously his life isn't the most extravagant but he likes his job. In high school, a group of bullies tortured and beat Ken to a pulp; an event that still haunts Ken to this day. He fantasizes about killing the ones who mistreated him and his comic book style art is how he vents his desires. As bodies begin piling up in the town of Green Oaks, the victims all have a common connection and Ken turns out to be the prime suspect.

This is another example of how judging a book by its cover or not knowing much about a movie before hand can illustrate you being wrong, but it actually paying off. It only took me 15min to realise that I was in for a rare treat. I thought this movie was beautiful, brilliant, dark, hilarious and touching. In my experience its rare to find a movie in the horror genre that could even come close to fitting in all of these categories. The cast is just as strange as the story itself and somehow makes it work on every level. Corrigan does a great job carrying this movie and brings a simple innocence and pain to the character needed to make it work.

The supporting cast all plays important if not strange roles in this characters life and does a successful job at driving the story forward. Ariel Gade, who plays Amy his estranged daughter almost upstages everyone in the film. She was perfect for this part and one couldn't help smiling every time she came on screen. Then there is the sheriff, this guy was hilarious and play his character perfectly. Karen Black, Ken's Mother played the perfect Mother, who loved her Son very much but has no expectations of her Son and makes it known she thinks he's a low life.

Add all these colorful characters together and add some Slasher to it and you come out with one the most brilliant horror films I have ever come across. Besides the character aspect of this story, there is a slasher undertone that drives the bigger picture of this story. A great comedy horror film which I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Severed heads and sweet father daughter love - not your ordinary horror comedy, 29 Nov 2012
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People (Region Free) [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Some Guy Who Kills People offers horror and comedy but serves them garnished with laconic side characters (enjoyable Barry Bostwick as the town sheriff with an iron stomach among others) and plot that keeps you second guessing the culprit all the way through the film. Kevin Corrigan plays Ken Boyd, the bullied and troubled ice cream salesman who deals with world mostly by shutting it out. Until his sweet and sassy daughter comes along. As the bullies that tortured Ken in high school start getting killed in various ways one by one, the sheriff starts questioning whether the somewhat recently released out of mental institute Ken might be getting his revenge, but meanwhile continues his sexcapades with Ken's mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent slasher with well executed comedic elements, 28 Nov 2012
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People (Region Free) [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Some guy who kills people boasts fantastic camera work, interesting characters and clever writing that will keep you glued to your seat and guessing till the very last scene.

There is a Very interesting comedic performance by Barry Bostwik that contrasts delightfully with Kevin Corrigan's subdued and quite unnerving portrayal of loner Ken Boyd. Lucy Davis puts in a delightful performance as the unlikely love interest which adds to the quirkiness of this great little film.

All in all a very strong film which manages to temper comedy with slasher horror and keeps you intrigued right up to the very end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give this a watch, 16 July 2012
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a surprisingly good black comedy shot on a low budget that is well worth a watch
Kevin Corrigan stars as Ken Boyd, a 30 year old loser who lives with his mother. Ken has done time in an institution after attempting suicide and now works in an ice cream parlour with his friend Irv. Ken is one of life's losers who spends his time drawing comic books and doesn't have a life. Bursting into his life comes the eleven year daughter he has never known and a pushy English girl who seems to like him.
At the same time former members of his high school basket team are dying horrible deaths and all the clues are starting to point to Ken. It doesn't help that Ken's mum's boyfriend is the local sheriff.
Kevin Corrigan gives a good performance as Ken but the acclaim has to go to Ariel Gade as his daughter Amy. Not only does she look like she could be his daughter but she acts and charms everyone else off the screen. Definitely one to watch for the future. Ken's new girlfriend Stephanie is played by Lucy Davis from 'The Office'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: Some Guy Who Kills People (Region Free) [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this based on the fantastic reviews on Amazon. Never again. If you have any thing else on your planner or anything else to watch I'd go for that. Its dull, plodding, a little weird at times and lacklustre. Its one of those films where you just wish you wouldve done something else. Its a little amusing but I found myself clockwatching for the majority of the time. I'm gonna sell it for a lot lot less than I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3c21eac)

This product

Some Guy Who Kills People (Region Free) [Blu-Ray]
3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews